We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints!”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #114 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Huddersfield. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Huddersfield’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Good old Toby Carvery, always reliable, cheap and cheerful! Can be very busy at times, which is testament to its popularity, and you sometimes have to wait 30mins for a table. Helpings have always been generous, and you can help yourself to as many veggies as you want, (and go back for more..) No matter how busy they are, there's always someone to ask if you're enjoying your meal. Will certainly keep going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andream66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    192
    115
    63
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Service lacking”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Came in late and service was poor. We found out own seats and had to ask twice for drinks. Food was OK but not great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beaks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Called in here on Tuesday evening, the place was stuffed to the doors but we were seated straight away and our drinks order taken. We helped ourselves to the carvery which was wonderful, a choice of 4 joints of meat, Yorkshires and enough different veg to sink a ship. Everything was hot and fresh. Couldn't ask more from a carvery. We had a voucher which gave us the carvery and a pud for £6.50. so it would have been rude not to have the pud although we were already stuffed. No small portions on the puds either, A chocolate brownie sundae and crumble & custard went down very well. Fantastic all round

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We find that Sunday is always busy,20 to 30 minute wait for a table.The staff are always pleasant and the atmosphere is good.Usually a choice of four meats.This time I had the beef,which was just a bit dry.The Yofkshire pudding was lovely,as was the roast potatoes,unfortunately all the veg was slightly over cooked.I had profiteroles for dessert, these were really nice.The Toby is convienient for our elderly Aunt and this is why we go.Plus I don't have to cook or wash up.Its not the best but it,s certainly not the worst.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrispete766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly local pub with good traditional food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Love this place, if it's not crowded. (as I hate being sat too close to strangers)
The food is always hot and regularly refreshed on the carvery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sirsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Morley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing