We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional carvery”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #115 of 576 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Huddersfield. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Huddersfield’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good traditional carvery”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions as it is handy for family get togethers when we are in the area.
It can be a bit of a hassle because we cannot book and there are usually ten or more of us. You are able to wait in the bar area until a table becomes free, but we have eldery relatives with mobility problems so it can be a task moving them around.
The food is always delicious and there is a great choice and plenty of it. Leave room for dessert they are every bit as good and generous as the main course.
We have never been there in a quiet time but the staff cope admirably and are still able to smile and share a laugh.
Will be back again on our next visit, we always enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coopsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    195
    118
    67
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Busy and Popular”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Attended unannounced as a group of 7 at 7.15pm on a monday night. The place was very busy, word of value for money clearly known by local residents. The staff were friendly and accommodating, explaining the procedure. Carvery was extremely busy and there is the opportunity to pay £1.50 for a larger plate (Alana Partridge would be horrified!). Choose from 4 meats Beef, pork, gammon or turkey - any combination of the 4. Yorkshire puddings perfect, choice of vegetables and roast or mash potatoes. Usual sauces, stuffing, different meat gravies. If coke/diet coke purchased the drinks are bottomless. Sweets were great but only some of us hungry (greedy) ones could make room. They were lovely too.

Great place to go for couples, families or groups for great food and service at excellent prices. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breeze33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Carvery”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited Saturday evening on impulse as passing by and place en route to Halifax for dinner. The place was absolutely packed but still managed to get seated within 15mins so turnover fairly sharp. Visited with 5 and 3 year old. Carvery consists of 4 meats turkey, pork, beef and gammon. Meat fresh, lots of vegetables and potatoes and usual gravy, bread sauce etc. Everyone enjoyed their food and the desserts were ok too. Waiting staff really earn their money as it was super busy but they still managed to bring drinks, check if anything else was needed and generally seems well run. Would visit again particularly as ample parking attached.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great location, good parking and great value for money”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I met a colleague for a busness meeting but having had a look at the carvery I will definitely be back to try it.

The service was great, the staff were great and more than happy to bring our drinks to the table which was great.

Easy to find and great parking. I will be back soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise44_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good carvery”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

this toby carvery is well above average in service and food,
good size carpark,and i found the price of drinks good and
not like some pubs that charge £10 for 2 drinks that we
never go back to.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEALINE-ANTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Morley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing