We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Meson Le Pepa

Meson Le Pepa
Ranked #43 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Coasy relaxing quality fresh food friendly staff and weekly /monthly entertainment music dance wine tasting
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After reading many excellent reviews of Meson Le Pepa, my partner and I were really looking forward to our visit here, but were very disappointed. As soon as we walked through the door the evening felt rushed - we were thrown to our table by the waitress as if she was thinking "the sooner I get them seated, the sooner we can get them out". We were asked about drinks before we had even had chance to look at the drinks menu, and were given a rushed run down of the specials, which was basically the waitress reading them off the specials board, which we could see clearly. Rushed again, we were asked if we were ready to order very quickly, at which point we asked for more time to look at the menu. We ordered starters of olives, salad, and bread with olive oil & balsamic vinegar. The olives were gorgeous, but hte bread and salad were very average. On to the mains. We had high expectatations for the paella, but it was very very bland and lacked any flavour and the calamari in it wasn't fresh. The king prawns in tomato sauce were obviously frozen ones and were very chewy. The garlic mushrooms tasted sour. The meatballs were ok, but like the paella, very bland. The battered cod was awful, The aubergine & potato dish we chose was the best, and to be fair, quite tasty in comparison to the rest of the food. Another thing we were disappointed with was that all the dishes were brought out at the same time. I've been to other tapas restaurants were they bring dishes out in stages so that the meal is spread out, and I find this works very well in creating a relaxed evening, and also stops the food going cold! Prices were ok, but won't be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nic3hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesonlapepa, General Manager at Meson Le Pepa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
thank you for taking time to review us.
we work very hard to meet our customers expectations and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience.
firstly we never rush anyone and customers are welcome to stay as long as they like
secondly all our seafood is bought from the only fish supplier in Huddersfield so where ever you dine you are eating the same quality " the only difference is the recipe"
and to be honest we never had such complaints were customer say salad and the bread are average!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    55
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem..absolutely gorgeous food and impeccable service”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Came for a birthday meal, first time ever we were all very impressed. Food is delicious and was freshly prepared and piping hot. Service was excellent and the waiter was very helpful. This restaurant is tucked away in a corner on a quiet street in huddersfield. I am looking forward to going back again, I would highly recommend this place as I and my party of eight were very impressed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The tapas at Meson Le Pepa is absolutely fantastic. Having read the previous reviews I was really looking forward to try this place and I wasn't disappointed. There were 11 of us in a group and for a small restaurant we were very well looked after. The paella is extremely good and all the tapas dishes are authentic so expect plenty of chorizo.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Saturday evening meal for two”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A Saturday evening meal for two. A wide and varied selection of tapas, a genuine Spanish waiter. A charming, unpretentious place and all the food we had was excellent - cod, Spanish omelette, paella, meatballs. Very good value at £34 for both of us including drinks.
We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGBLUE186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas in Huddersfield ”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We came here for my birthday meal and what a surprise it was we share 6 tapas dishes and all were delicious would definitely recommend and return!

Helpful?
Thank Dynamitelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Le Pepa also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Meson Le Pepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing