We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely go back”
Review of Erics

Erics
Ranked #7 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have just had dinner in Eric's and it was excellent. My friends are regulars--this was my first visit. I had sea trout which was delicious perfectly cooked and tasty. The service was fine and friendly. We didn't have puddings but they did look good. Looking forward to going again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Owner at Erics, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a glowing review.

Hoping to see you again soon,

Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,109
    293
    110
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food. Best yet !”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently visited my 40th birthday with family. I had pigeon to start and fillet steak for my main, both being excellent, up there with some if the best food I've ever had. Service was great. If I had anything negative to say, it would be that the restaurant got very warm and we had to ask for the air con to be turned on, which they did immediately. Would definitely recommend and will be going back. Thank you to Eric and his team for a great night and great meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fieryjimmy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Owner at Erics, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Brilliant, thank you for such a great review.

Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

my first visit went with the family for sunday lunch food well presented tasted wonderful saff excellent. ill be back

Helpful?
Thank bazdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Owner at Erics, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

Hope to see you again soon,

Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food - pity about the service”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Went today for the first time. Part of 15. Special occasion ( mum's 70th birthday). The food was lovely but the service was quite frankly crap. Subsequently transpired that they had overbooked by 60 covers. Not sure if that's my problem but that was the maître d's excuse. So if you want to a) find a member of staff to place a drinks order, b) chase up the drinks three (yes 3 ) times, c) ask the staff to clear the table of all 'additional' glassware (to make room for the main course veg) and d) ask for cutlery for the dessert course. Erics is the venue for you. We spent over £600 today, it was a very special occasion, am not sure it was good enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jnh4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Owner at Erics, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I'm very sorry you feel that your experience was marred by poor service. We had a very busy Sunday. To clarify, the restaurant manager did not say we were overbooked, simply that we also accept walk in trade on a lunch time and that that Sunday had been particularly busy on that front. We do not overbook the restaurant in advance.

When your party left the restaurant, the manager himself asked each member of the party if they'd had a nice afternoon and each said it had been great. I only wish that you had raised these issues before leaving rather than posting them here when I am unable to compensate you in any way.

I hope that you visit the restaurant again because our service is usually top notch.

Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Quite simply the most fabulous food ever. Had pigeon breast starter and lamb for main. The flavours were amazing. Fantastic food, fantastic service, fantastic atmosphere.Worth every penny. First visit, but definitely wont be the last.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Owner at Erics, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Brilliant, thanks so much for a great review!

Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erics also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Brighouse, Huddersfield
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Erics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing