We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful service and a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Pennine manor for B and B on 12 April. The staff were really helpful even though they had a wedding on that day. They cleaned our rooms early and so that we could check in and get ready for a special occasion we were going to. They also made sandwiches early for us in the bar so that we could get off on time.

We had a great sleep and then a lovely cooked breakfast on the Sunday morning.

The room was quiet and comfortable and plenty warm enough. I think maybe the rooms will be due for a refurb in the not too distant future, but it's clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a spectacular location, on a clear day you can see halfway across Yorkshire! Also it's very good value for money too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrytomato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear cherrytomato_11

We thank you for your recent review regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and that you found that staff very helpful and enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast on the Sunday morning. We have passed your comments on to the team who do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 502 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just been up to the Pennine Manor for Sunday lunch celebrating my mother in laws 83rd birthday, tasty food, very friendly staff, warm welcome, other dinners shared their thoughts too by saying they had a lovely lunch time, will call again for sure.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel but would hope to think that it would be a really nice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Julie G

We are very pleased to read your recent review on tripadvisor regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch for your mother-in-laws 83rd birthday celebrations and that you found the staff friendly and warm. We have passed your comments through to the team who look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just returned from our friends wedding at Pennine Manor. Absolutely stunning views and location.
We stayed the friday and saturday on the dine and sleep package. This is great value as the evening meal on friday incuded everything on the menu so we all enjoyed a four course meal with steak, and the food was to a high standard. We found the breakfast to be delicious also with a very good selection, just could of done with the cooked options to be kept a lot hotter.
All the staff were very professional but friendly, polite and really helpful. Our friends wedding went perfectly without any hiccups, and the service during the wedding breakfast was very good.
My one gripe is the quality of the room in which we stayed (14). It was very dark-made darker by the wooden cladded ceiling-and in desperate need of a face lift. The mould around the bath ceilant and grout in the bathroom was gross and when showering the screen leaked the water all over the bathroom floor and all over the bathroom door. If I had been with my husband when he checked in I would of asked to change rooms...The bed however was very comfy.
All in all we had a great stay here and would return but would definitely ask for a different room!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Vickicarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Vickicarts

We thank you for your recent review regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel and are pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay and that you would return. We are pleased to hear that you found the sleep and dine package great value and that you found all the staff very professional, friendly, polite and very helpful. Regarding your room we have planned improvements that we are in the process of scheduling in which we are confident will address the issues you have raised, however, we would have tried to accommodate a room move had we been aware of the problem. Your feedback has been passed through to the team who are very pleased and do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight here and although the location was excellent we were disappointed with the standard of our room and the poor quality of the breakfast.
Dust on the skirtings and in the corners, draughty windows, cheap pillows, and I wouldn't even use the shower. There was mould on the grout and shower head and the towels were thin. Having worked in this industry I may be more picky than others but really there's no excuse for a grubby bathroom. Breakfast was over cooked and (and we weren't down late) average. A bit of imagination wouldn't go amiss.
There was only one member of staff on to serve at breakfast she was polite, efficient and was coping well under pressure. The girl at reception was also very pleasant and welcoming. So credit where it's due!
Sadly I wouldn't return as I don't see the point in spending money on accommodation that isn't better than I can have at home.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear J M

We thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel. We have spoken with the General Manager at the Hotel and she has spoken with the team regarding your comments. Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms this has been addressed with the Head of Housekeeping and her team and some new processes have been put in place to address this, however, if you were not happy with your room we would have gladly fixed the problem or changed your room if we had been made aware of it. Regarding the food at breakfast we do feel we offer a wide selection of hot and cold foods and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the hot breakfast option.

We are sorry to hear that you feel you would not return to us in the future and we sincerely apologise that you left feeling that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for my husbands birthday on the sleep and dine offer and can honestly say it was fantastic the staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble, Mandy the manager was lovely and very welcoming , food was great the rooms were a little tired but clean and comfortable can't wait to revisit .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Rachvw

We thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Pennine manor Hotel for your husband’s birthday. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding Mandy, the Manager and all the staff friendly and the food great. We are sorry you found the rooms tired, but happy to hear that they were clean and comfortable. We value all guest feedback, positive and not so positive and we do take all of it on board to help us improve what we do

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the pennine manor hotel for 2 nights with a large group of people for a wedding. Everything was fab. The only reason i didnt give the hotel a 5 star rating is because the rooms and bathroom could do with some updating! But everything else was fab and we had a brill time at the wedding!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sherridan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Sherridan F

We thank you for your recent review regarding your 2 night stay for a wedding at the Pennine Manor Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a “fab” time and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We came up for a uni friend's wedding at the end of March. The venue is easy to find with ample parking and is clearly signposted. The wedding was lovely and we felt very welcomed by the team. Mandy the manager is lovely and I could see it meant a lot to her that the day was special. All staff were very helpful and made sure we were well looked after.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CBayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear CBayley

We are delighted to read your recent review on Tripadvisor and very pleased to hear that you were well looked after by Mandy and the Team. Your comments have been passed on to everyone at the Pennine who are delighted with the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 15 in Huddersfield
289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield West Hotel
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
645 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Huddersfield
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel

Address: Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: $66 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing