We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by a lack of communication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A pleasant place to stay. We were put in rooms as far away from the wedding receptions as was possible and, thankfully, the noise was not obtrusive.
We stayed three nights and had three different, though similar, breakfast experiences. Having requested, and had confirmed, gluten free and milk product free diets, we were greeted, at breakfast, with "we don't do that". On checking, special bread and soya milk was produced. Breakfast two - a little more organised but the person who greeted us had no inkling that things had been organised. Breakfast three - a disaster - the chef claimed that she only had one gluten free on her list and it wasn't us! Being spoken to in a very loud and abrupt manner is not pleasant.
This was reported to reception and I have waited for their response which has yet to arrive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_Slough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Dave_Slough

Thank you so much for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the confusion over breakfast and have taken steps to improve our communication systems to ensure this does not happen again. The Manager is also investigating why your concerns registered with Reception were not passed on. This is not our usual standard and on the occasions where a guest has raised concerns we always aim to contact them

We do hope you come again and can assure you that your next breakfast experience will be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here on this promotion The food was excellent at the evening dinner and also at the breakfast in the morning. There was a wedding on that evening but this did not detract from the night at all. the staff were all friendly and the service very good We had to eat in the bar lounge area but this was not a problem at all(the wedding party was in the restaurant} The room was excellent as well the beds very comfy especially the pillows! Nice touches included bottled water in the room which is not the norm and a free magazine. the bathroom was clean and the shower very good. We were amazed at the quality of the food,rooms and the hotel for the price. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Lynne T
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Our sleep dine offer is extremely popular and we are delighted that you liked it so much that you will be coming back. We look forward to welcoming you then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay (June 20-23). Having stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years I am afraid to have to report that the place has deteriorated alarmingly. We feel that as none wedding guests to have been treated as second class residents whose comfort and requirements come a very poor second to those of wedding guests. I know the hotel is three stars but I would still expect servicing the room to include making the bed and cleaning the bathroom. As far as my wife could work out the hotel's service of the room consists of changing the towels and topping up the tea and coffee supplies.

On the final day of our stay there was a wedding which we understand is a very important and lucrative side of their business. Fine but to be kept awake until 2:30am is not acceptable. We shall not be returning and my advice to anyone staying there would be to visit the Scape House restaurant just to see how a restaurant should be run. They provide excellent food at reasonable cost.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Christopher A
Thank you so much for your feedback, the standard of room clean you describe is not our usual standard, it is unclear from your feedback whether you mentioned this to reception as I’m sure they would have resolved this for you immediately. Our apologies regarding the wedding, I must say 2.30 is very late for a wedding to be finishing, I will speak to the manager and ensure that wedding guests are more aware of our other guests needs. It is disappointing that you felt like a 2nd class citizen, we endeavour to look after all our guests equally and to the best of our ability. As a previous guest you will be aware of our usual high standards and I do hope you will visit again, where I’m sure you find your experience enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at The Pennine Manor on from Wednesday to the Sunday in mid June 2013. I was in the area for a family wedding which was also being held at the Manor. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was excellent. I had a wonderful time here and will certainly return on my future visits to Huddersfield. It has amazing senery and wonderful helpful staff. The wedding we attended was also very professionally done, excellent setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milneang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Milneang
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your staff and family wedding and we really look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at The Pennine Manor on Saturday May 25th after a family wedding. The weather was fabulous, the rooms were great as was the food and the staff could not have been more helpful. Fabulous place, fabulous service. Pity that we live to near ( about 1&1/2 miles!!) to justify going to stay just for the experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Genni T
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. We have an outstanding offer, which is extremely popular; sleep dine where you can stay overnight, enjoy a 3 course meal and breakfast in the morning from £69 – many locals utilise this offer and we hope to see you soon either on the offer or for a bite to eat in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Me and my husband got married here on Saturday 25th may 2013, it was the best day of our lives and we have the staff that help us pull it off to thank, if it was for pennine manor we may not of had 1 of the best venues for our wedding, pennine manor saved the day when our first wedding venue went into administration and was closed just 3 months before we were due to get married,they were so help full and generous we couldn't of asked for anymore off them.

The hotel is in an amazing location with gorgeous views all around (it does help if it nice weather)the staff are all very friendly and cant do enough for you, they were always making sure everyone was okay, the food is absolutely gorgeous for weddings and also if you are just wanting to go out for something to eat i would recommend them hands down!

This hotel is perfect for a wedding and for family's or couple looking for a nice getaway, I promise you you will not be disappointed with what you get 10/10 all the way.

Thank you everyone at pennine manor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear aimee t
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that we were able to help out at what must have been a difficult time when your original venue went into administration. We do consider hosting a wedding as a great honour and we are thrilled you had such a memorable and enjoyable day.
We look forward to seeing you again and hope you become a regular visitor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on Sunday 26th May as an overnight stop between legs of walking the Pennine Way. The hotel was picked purely for it's locality and we did'nt expect much more from it. However, it was a bonus that the hotel was in such a nice location with fantastic views and the public areas were all very nice, you could tell some effort had gone into the interior design. We had booked and executive room which again was nicely decorated but a bit shabby around the door frames, carpet and in the bathroom. Breakfast was the usual fayre and the bacon and sausage were clearly a good few steps from the cheap end that you often get in three star hotels. The reception, bar and dining room staff were all very friendly and helpful and I think this hotel has got lots of potential and not far away from a fourth star. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had room 20 on the 1st floor overlooking the from of the hotel. I would say that when there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear DHM68
Thank you so much for your review, the location does provide for outstanding views. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay and your breakfast. All our meat, sausages and bacon come direct from our own butchery.
We do hope you come back and visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
2.0 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 14 in Huddersfield
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
572 reviews
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel

Address: Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#8 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing