We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Yorkshire Hotel - Not disabled friendly though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a one night stay and it was ok. We booked a room on the ground floor due to my wife using a wheelchair. To be totally honest the hotel is not at all suitable for a wheelchair user and they do not assist you with opening doors etc. The ground floor rooms are not adapted and they do not have any adapted rooms.

The food was pretty good and was of good value but I would not be in a rush to return to the hotel as they really do not welcome disabled guests with open arms.

The room was very cosy, extremely compact with an old bathroom suite and a tiny 14" lcd tv. The bed was comfy and it was nice to see water, biscuits and coffee provided. It was clean but did not really suit us.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Helipad. You will get an outstanding view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMC663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear JMC663

We are disspointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do welcome guests with disabilities, all our staff are trained to welcome and assist all guests, if on this occasion we let you down we sincerely apologise.

We have provided feedback to the team at Pennine Manor and I am confident that your experience will not be repeated in the future.

We do hope you will visit us again, I assure you all guests are welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 471 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I had simply a wonderful time having our wedding at the hotel. Family and friends also stayed over at the hotel for two nights and all confirmed what a great stay it was.

All the staff were great and very attentive to our plans and needs for the days. They all were great and we have no complaints what so ever. We would reccomend to any one the venue and the hotel.

The food and level of service were all fantastic. It was such value for money.

Room Tip: all were great
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Richard L

Thank you so much for your review. We are all delighted that you and your guests had a great time. We consider hosting weddings an honour and a privilege, so thank you for trusting us with yours. We do hope to see you again, especially on your wedding anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from the Pennine Manor after an overnight stay on their Sleep and Dine offer - what excellent value! £89 on a saturday night for 3 course a la carte meal and bed and breakfast for two, brilliant. The hotel is in a lovely location but i would recommend going in the Spring or Summer as it is pretty remote if it snows, as it did last night! The rooms are lovely, warm and inviting as is the whole hotel and restaurant. The food is excellent, I had the Beef Wellington and I would strongly recommend it and my husbands Fillet Steak was lovely too. The hotel bar is also warm and cosy and quite reasonable too for a hotel bar. Breakfast was great,it was buffet style with cereals, toast, croissants,fruit salad and of course cooked English breakfast. What more could one ask for! We will certainly be going back again in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susanvc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Susanvc24

Thank you so much for your review, the team really enjoyed reading it. We are delighted that you found your stay and our facilities cosy, we want our guests to be able to relax and have tried to create that environment. Don’t let bad weather put you off our team are well versed in coping and helping our guests to ensure it doesn’t impact their stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again, hopefully sooner than the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for only one night that turned out to be rather eventful. Arrived in the dark with the onset of rain. Overnight the rain turned to horizontal snow and in the morning we had one of the most beautiful snowy sights of the Pennine landscape. The staff worked hard on their car park to ensure that we could get away again for our onward journey that fortunately became much easier once we he had dropped down to lower levels.

This really is an excellent location on the hills above Huddersfield. The Hilltop Restaurant is so called for a reason and even without the snow cover it is clearly a good location and quickly accessible from the M62. The room was fine and the package of £55 B&B for two was very good value. We had a good meal in the restaurant plus the usual breakfast. The décor in our bedroom was a bit quirky - dark wood panelled ceiling! - but only a sign of when I guess it was furbished. All in all a great value stay and worth considering.

Room Tip: If you are tall try and get an upgrade as the standard room only has a 4ft 6in wide bed
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear BiggerAl

The team are delighted with your review, we get all sorts of weather and we are well prepared to help our guests no matter what. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed for only the one night had all weather conditions, waking up to3/4 inches of snow , hail
high winds ect etc ; excellent friendly service from all the staff, nice room and an excellent breakfast with superb choice.
the staff even offered to help me out the car park(which they had gritted)
but no problem drove out ok
thank you hope to return soon.

peter & isabel r

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Peter & Isabel

The Pennine team thank you for your review. Our location is high on the Pennine’s and therefore has tremendous views, but the downside can have severe weather conditions, however, we are prepared and can deal with whatever the British weather throws at us, we even have a friendly farmer who comes and helps us out when needed, but our team are ready and willing to help our guests any way they can. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and breakfast and that our team made you feel so welcome. We look forward to welcoming you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Pennine Manor on 28th Jan 2013. I booked it through a hotel booking website and paid only £45, including breakfast - i only had fruit salad for breakfast so can't comment more widely on the food, but this was an excellent fresh fruit salad with good variety! the bedroom was really nice, one of the most comfortable beds i have EVER slept in, and the shower was great. Facilities in the room were fine, fixtures and fittings really nice, this felt like a very nice hotel considering the price i paid. beautiful location and views also. Very friendly staff. I would DEFINITELY go back. very impressed! and i have very high standards! this versus a premier inn or travelodge for £75-£80, no comparison!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 151Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear 151Daisy

Thank you for your reivew, the team are overjoyed and all look forward to welcoming you again, we hope next time you can join us for dinner - Oh and you can now book direct via our website for your room and dinner reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This has got to be the finest hotel in Huddersfield. The location is amazing, it even has its own helipad! I have stayed here a few times for business, and contrary to a previous review I find the menu changes regularly. They have a number of quality menus to choose from, however I like the early bird menu as it offers fantastic value for money, you get a great choice of food which changes twice a week at an unbeatable price! Each course was cooked to perfection and the hotel clearly invests money into using quality ingredients and also quality cutlery, crockery and glassware. The staff are super - friendly, knowledgeable and show a keen interest.

There is a good selection at breakfast and this hotel doesn't compromise on quality anywhere, even down to the premium orange juice and yogurts. Sausages are to die for and after chatting to the friendly breakfast waitress I believe that the sausages, and all their meat for that fact, is sourced from their very own butchery, doesn't get fresher than that! It's great to have breakfast looking over the moors and watching the horses that are right outside the window!!

I stayed here just last week and the Manor had been hit pretty bad with snow but staff made every effort to keep the hotel accessible. It was nice to come from freezing conditions into a warm inviting bar with a roaring real flame fire and a friendly duty manager (jordan) to chat to. Him and Liam had been out gritting the car park, they obviously care about this place a lot as the snow was certainly coming down.

I have a corporate rate of £45 bb - The hotel has a traditional feel to it, and if I was to be super critical I would say that the bedrooms and corridors are due a refurb at some point but are very acceptable for the price.

Overall, the staff really make this place a home away from home. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Louise T

Thank you for your feedback, it is really rewarding for the team to receive comments like this, although we will never be complacent and always look to improve what we do. Once again, thanks and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
275 reviews
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel

Address: Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: $68 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing