We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weddding Venue and accommdation for family and friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Weddding Venue and accommdation for family and friends”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I had simply a wonderful time having our wedding at the hotel. Family and friends also stayed over at the hotel for two nights and all confirmed what a great stay it was.

All the staff were great and very attentive to our plans and needs for the days. They all were great and we have no complaints what so ever. We would reccomend to any one the venue and the hotel.

The food and level of service were all fantastic. It was such value for money.

Room Tip: all were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Richard L

Thank you so much for your review. We are all delighted that you and your guests had a great time. We consider hosting weddings an honour and a privilege, so thank you for trusting us with yours. We do hope to see you again, especially on your wedding anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    123
    43
    14
    13
See reviews for
103
162
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from the Pennine Manor after an overnight stay on their Sleep and Dine offer - what excellent value! £89 on a saturday night for 3 course a la carte meal and bed and breakfast for two, brilliant. The hotel is in a lovely location but i would recommend going in the Spring or Summer as it is pretty remote if it snows, as it did last night! The rooms are lovely, warm and inviting as is the whole hotel and restaurant. The food is excellent, I had the Beef Wellington and I would strongly recommend it and my husbands Fillet Steak was lovely too. The hotel bar is also warm and cosy and quite reasonable too for a hotel bar. Breakfast was great,it was buffet style with cereals, toast, croissants,fruit salad and of course cooked English breakfast. What more could one ask for! We will certainly be going back again in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanvc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Susanvc24

Thank you so much for your review, the team really enjoyed reading it. We are delighted that you found your stay and our facilities cosy, we want our guests to be able to relax and have tried to create that environment. Don’t let bad weather put you off our team are well versed in coping and helping our guests to ensure it doesn’t impact their stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again, hopefully sooner than the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for only one night that turned out to be rather eventful. Arrived in the dark with the onset of rain. Overnight the rain turned to horizontal snow and in the morning we had one of the most beautiful snowy sights of the Pennine landscape. The staff worked hard on their car park to ensure that we could get away again for our onward journey that fortunately became much easier once we he had dropped down to lower levels.

This really is an excellent location on the hills above Huddersfield. The Hilltop Restaurant is so called for a reason and even without the snow cover it is clearly a good location and quickly accessible from the M62. The room was fine and the package of £55 B&B for two was very good value. We had a good meal in the restaurant plus the usual breakfast. The décor in our bedroom was a bit quirky - dark wood panelled ceiling! - but only a sign of when I guess it was furbished. All in all a great value stay and worth considering.

Room Tip: If you are tall try and get an upgrade as the standard room only has a 4ft 6in wide bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear BiggerAl

The team are delighted with your review, we get all sorts of weather and we are well prepared to help our guests no matter what. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed for only the one night had all weather conditions, waking up to3/4 inches of snow , hail
high winds ect etc ; excellent friendly service from all the staff, nice room and an excellent breakfast with superb choice.
the staff even offered to help me out the car park(which they had gritted)
but no problem drove out ok
thank you hope to return soon.

peter & isabel r

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Peter & Isabel

The Pennine team thank you for your review. Our location is high on the Pennine’s and therefore has tremendous views, but the downside can have severe weather conditions, however, we are prepared and can deal with whatever the British weather throws at us, we even have a friendly farmer who comes and helps us out when needed, but our team are ready and willing to help our guests any way they can. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and breakfast and that our team made you feel so welcome. We look forward to welcoming you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Pennine Manor on 28th Jan 2013. I booked it through a hotel booking website and paid only £45, including breakfast - i only had fruit salad for breakfast so can't comment more widely on the food, but this was an excellent fresh fruit salad with good variety! the bedroom was really nice, one of the most comfortable beds i have EVER slept in, and the shower was great. Facilities in the room were fine, fixtures and fittings really nice, this felt like a very nice hotel considering the price i paid. beautiful location and views also. Very friendly staff. I would DEFINITELY go back. very impressed! and i have very high standards! this versus a premier inn or travelodge for £75-£80, no comparison!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 151Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear 151Daisy

Thank you for your reivew, the team are overjoyed and all look forward to welcoming you again, we hope next time you can join us for dinner - Oh and you can now book direct via our website for your room and dinner reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This has got to be the finest hotel in Huddersfield. The location is amazing, it even has its own helipad! I have stayed here a few times for business, and contrary to a previous review I find the menu changes regularly. They have a number of quality menus to choose from, however I like the early bird menu as it offers fantastic value for money, you get a great choice of food which changes twice a week at an unbeatable price! Each course was cooked to perfection and the hotel clearly invests money into using quality ingredients and also quality cutlery, crockery and glassware. The staff are super - friendly, knowledgeable and show a keen interest.

There is a good selection at breakfast and this hotel doesn't compromise on quality anywhere, even down to the premium orange juice and yogurts. Sausages are to die for and after chatting to the friendly breakfast waitress I believe that the sausages, and all their meat for that fact, is sourced from their very own butchery, doesn't get fresher than that! It's great to have breakfast looking over the moors and watching the horses that are right outside the window!!

I stayed here just last week and the Manor had been hit pretty bad with snow but staff made every effort to keep the hotel accessible. It was nice to come from freezing conditions into a warm inviting bar with a roaring real flame fire and a friendly duty manager (jordan) to chat to. Him and Liam had been out gritting the car park, they obviously care about this place a lot as the snow was certainly coming down.

I have a corporate rate of £45 bb - The hotel has a traditional feel to it, and if I was to be super critical I would say that the bedrooms and corridors are due a refurb at some point but are very acceptable for the price.

Overall, the staff really make this place a home away from home. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Louise T

Thank you for your feedback, it is really rewarding for the team to receive comments like this, although we will never be complacent and always look to improve what we do. Once again, thanks and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I cannot say anything good about this hotel at all when it comes to a general view. The food is so repetative, no decent variation in choice and is just so 'much of a muchness'. If you want to eat good quality cuisine with a difference, dont bother eating here. Its lacking flair and imagination and the waiting time between courses is a joke. It should not be more than 10 minutes - we waited over half an hour for our desserts to arrive to be asked inbetween if we would like another drink ......... its obvious that its their way of hoping you will spend even more money on drinks 'whilst you wait'. At the end of the day, these desserts are pre-made so why does it take so long? I can understand if the desserts are made from fresh but not when they are delivered to the hotel pre-made. Also, numerous times we had smeared cutlery on the table - very unhygienic! The restaurant itelf is in need of refurbishment - its dowdy and uninviting which then becomes so boring when visiting a few times - you may ask why visit a place on more than one occasion if disappointed? This was to give the place a chance to offer some change in the menu's but it did not happen. There will not be a repeat visit now.

On another note, the waiting staff need more training in etiquette and vocabulary - this is all I shall say on this matter.

As for staying in the rooms, we only ever stayed once in 2004 - never again! The rooms may have changed since 2004 but I cannot comment further as I really do not know. All in all, not even in the top 50 for me! If you want mediocre, then visit, if you want better, then dont.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liellenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, it helps us make continuous improvements. With regard to the menu, our 2/3 course menu is changed at least 3 times a week and we also have an a la carte menu which has been changed twice since October when you visited us. Our desserts are all made on site, we do not buy them in.

With regard to the service times and cleanliness of the cutlery this will be brought up and action taken, since your visit we have carried out further staff training, brought some new team members in and we are confident that you would not find issue with them now.

We do hope you will visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 17 in Huddersfield
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
510 reviews
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
Address: Road/Scapegoat Hill Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing