We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Friends gave us a voucher for a bargain break and we weren't disappointed. The staff were superb, the food spot-on and the building and rooms fine. Highly recommendable. Even if we'd have paid full price it would've been a good one.

Room Tip: All seemed good - the shape of the building results in all rooms looking onto gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    102
    74
    27
    20
See reviews for
90
130
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had our youngest daughters wedding here 29/12/12. I can not praise the staff enough they helped to make a wonderful day extra special. The food for the wedding breakfast was some of the best i have tasted it was served hot to every guest. Everyone commented on the level of service being so good.We stayed the night of the wedding and contrary to a previous review nobody in our party complained about being disturbed by church bells on the sunday morning.
We thanked staff on our departure and we would not hesitate to recommend The Old Golf House
to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dogwalker1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night. The family room was OK, but then we were woken at 9am by the church bell right next to our room which seemed to go on forever and left us with headaches! Don't stop here on a Saturday night if you want to have a Sunday lie-in!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallah3804
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Got married at this hotel in May2012. The staff are fantastic very friendly and couldn't do enough for all me and my family. my grandma who is 91 travelled up from the midlands and they accommodated her very well, there are several ground floor rooms situated near the reception. We stayed the night before the wedding and they had another wedding on not to mention a coach tour but all went smoothly and didn't feel too full and busy. Very quiet in the room never heard any of the disco. Every thing went with out a hitch the next day as extremely well organised. Was expecting mass produced food for the wedding breakfast but it was fantastic. Salmon encrute was full of salmon not just pastry and the desert of cheese cake was to die for much to the disappointment of my tight fitting dress. Had a fabulous day and night . Shower needed some more power though. Decided to stay for lunch the following day to catch up with some of our guest and again food fabulous. All in all would recommend this hotel for wedding venue and the restaurant is a good standard have returned several times for Lunch since. A social thanks to Andrew the events organise and to all the staff that helped out on the day. The Old Golf House will always have a dear place in my heart.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sallah3804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night, using the hotel as a base for a special meal. Between us, we stay in hotels 2-3 nights per week, and we were both surprised to be given a physical key (rather than a key card!) but this fitted with the rather dated surroundings. Our room was a good size and nicely decorated although the bathroom was poorly designed - you couldn't sit on the toilet without having to shift sideways for the loo roll holder and the toilet couldn't't be flushed easily as it was too close to the sink. There was old shampoo and shower gel marks left on the bath and the shower curtain was a bit rank, smelly and dirty, as was the bath mat. This is pretty basic stuff - how long does it take to wipe down the bath? Everything else was clean and basic though.

The bed was big and comfy, there is some noise from the close by Motorway but it's not too intrusive. But, the walls are like paper, you can hear people talking as they walk past and in the next rooms as they chat.

On checking in, the staff was helpful and friendly, check out was less good - it might have been nice to be asked if we had enjoyed our stay.

We had a drink in the bar which was fine but didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment in the food.

Because of the hotel's convenient location (for us) I would go back but it wouldn't necessarily be my first choice. There was nothing terrible about it and everything was adequate, but neither was it outstanding in any way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good food, well organised, reasonable prices... If you book early. Lovely location despite proximity of the motorway. Rooms are adequate for a weekend, but very hot. We enjoyed a great drive across beautiful Saddleworth Moor and watched the para endears flying.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor were much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

i have not stayed here for over a year and it is a fine hotel. parking is easy the same applies to finding the hotel. I stayed in a double room and there was plenty of room. of note the reception staff are great and boooking in and booking out very smoth. very good value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
2.0 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#12 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Property: The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Address: New Hey Road | Outlane, Huddersfield HD3 3YP, England (Formerly Old Golf House Corus Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Golf House Hotel, Huddersfield is elegantly designed in ageless Yorkshire stone and originally part of the prestigious Outlane Golf Club, the 17th century style hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful gardens which include a 5-hole pitch and putt green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hotel Corus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing