We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out for the kids”

Kirklees Light Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel along behind Hawk, Owl, Fox, Badger or Jay, our five friendly little engines here at the Kirklees Light Railway the home of Yorkshire’s Great Little Steam Trains.Climb aboard our little trains for a scenic journey along our 15” narrow-gauge rail through the beautiful South Pennine foothills to our Shelley terminus where you can enjoy the panoramic views of the surrounding area.Visit the Shelley station Tea Room for selections of seasonal refreshments. Children can play in the outdoor play area and on a summers day enjoy our large picnic area.Upon returning to Clayton West passengers can take pleasure in the many facilities available to them. The outdoor play area is ideal for children to ‘let off some steam’ whilst the adults browse our extensive shop. The Café serves hot and cold seasonal food and drink whenever the Railway is open.Many special events held throughout the year including: A Day Out with Thomas, Easter Eggspress, Olly Owls Big Weekend, Steam & Diesel Gala's, Halloween Ghost Trains and the Santa Express.We cater for groups, school visits, childrens birthdays, private functions and we also offer Driver Experience Courses.Open every weekend, school and bank holiday throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great day out for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We took our brood here ranging from teenager to 5 year old, (all boys). They had a wonderful time, there was plenty to do for them, from the number quiz to the bouncy castle and the play parks. Both Clayton West and Shelley stations were superbly clean and everyone helpful. Entrance was very reasonably priced and as a family of 6 it was only £30. Our big tip is to completely ignore your sat nav, and use an old fashioned map! - once we actually found Clayton West (stupid sat nav) we found the station without much of an issue. This is a wonderful place for the kids and again was something I didnt even know about, I'd googled "steam trains yorkshire" as the little one loves Thomas. Even though we missed the Thomas day by one day, he still loved it, as the engine we went on was (according to him) Percy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eeyorebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    125
    23
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“too expensive and over rated! what a waste of money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

well i went to kirklees light railway to take my 5 year old son we had pre- booked tickets the day before as we was told they get fully booked up fast and their might not be any seats left. when we arrived their was face painting, pony rides, bouncy castle and a few Thomas trains. we had arrived at 11.20 as we had tickets for the 12 o clock train when the train finally come no body checked if we had tickets. when we got to our destination i looked around saw a bouncy castle a man trying to sing 10 green bottles and a little park what a load of rubbish and we had paid £34 for this. I felt robbed we took the next train back and left for home. how can they call it a day out with Thomas? we didn't even spend two hours their and the Thomas train went a few meters down track and come back and that was the end of the ride. overpriced and would not recommend this to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lahh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirklees L, Manager at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are really sorry that you did not feel that our Day out with Thomas event was good value for money. At Clayton West Station we had Donkey Rides, Miniature Train rides, Face painting, a Bouncy Castle, Platform Rides behind Thomas the Tank and Mavis. There were also frequent interactives led by the Fat Controller. Then there was the 3.5 mile train ride behind James/Percy/Donald to Shelley Station where we had a Children's Entertainer, Imagination Station (for colouring in, puzzles, Thomas temporary tattoos and more), two more Bouncy Castles and platform rides on Toby the Tram, followed by the 25 minute return journey back to Clayton West where children collected their certificates for participation. In addition there was a cafe, tea room, BBQ and Thomas shop. Many people have given us very positive feedback that considering this the day was excellent value and well organised. We sincerely hope that your experience will not stop you from returning to Kirklees Light Railway for future days out and events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Day Out with Thomas the Tank Engine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I visited this attraction with my adult daughter & 2 grandsons in order to see Thomas the Tank Engine & the Fat Controller. We had a fantastic day out and there were so many things included with the train ticket from Kirklees to Shelley station. All the attractions & activities were aimed at pre school children which made it a lovely toddler friendly environment. As well as the main train ride there were smaller train trips up & down the platform and a little circular train. There was also face painting, an entertainer who sang and told stories that the younger children were enthralled with and activities like giving Thomas a drink of water by pouring water into the Engine from small buckets. My two year old grandson thoroughly enjoyed our day out and I am sure he will remember it for along time to come.
1 small niggle it was cash only at the Shelley station café.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kirklees Light Railway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a fantastic Narrow Gauge Scenic Railway. Complete with tunnels and turntables, a must for all children, big and small

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KINGAC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great day out with the grandchildren”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hey - this is a great place to take the family during the school holidays. I took my 3 grandchildren (8, 7 and 3). The big, FREE car park was a welcome bonus, then we had a chat with the incumbent duck population before heading into the cafe for drinks and a welcome bite to eat. The train ride was great - long enough to be a treat, but not too long for the children to get bored. A play park at the other end is a really good idea, then it was back on the return journey. The children had another hour or so in the playground where we had started our journey, and we even had time to look round one of the lodges that are on display in the grounds. All in all, a really nice day - and it didn't break the bank!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucaswestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirklees Light Railway also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kirklees Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing