We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thomas day - brilliant!”

Kirklees Light Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel along behind Hawk, Owl, Fox, Badger or Jay, our five friendly little engines here at the Kirklees Light Railway the home of Yorkshire’s Great Little Steam Trains.Climb aboard our little trains for a scenic journey along our 15” narrow-gauge rail through the beautiful South Pennine foothills to our Shelley terminus where you can enjoy the panoramic views of the surrounding area.Visit the Shelley station Tea Room for selections of seasonal refreshments. Children can play in the outdoor play area and on a summers day enjoy our large picnic area.Upon returning to Clayton West passengers can take pleasure in the many facilities available to them. The outdoor play area is ideal for children to ‘let off some steam’ whilst the adults browse our extensive shop. The Café serves hot and cold seasonal food and drink whenever the Railway is open.Many special events held throughout the year including: A Day Out with Thomas, Easter Eggspress, Olly Owls Big Weekend, Steam & Diesel Gala's, Halloween Ghost Trains and the Santa Express.We cater for groups, school visits, childrens birthdays, private functions and we also offer Driver Experience Courses.Open every weekend, school and bank holiday throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thomas day - brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just got back from one of the day out with Thomas events. Fantastic. Great fun day out, 3 year old daughter had a blast and 10 month old entertained too. I disagree with previous posts about price too, I thought it was good value, a 25 min train journey, 4 other short train rides, 3 bouncy castles, a donkey ride, face painting, certificate signed by fat controller, story time, 2 playgrounds, colouring and other activities all in for the one price. Not many places for kids that wouldn't charge for the extras on top if the train-ride cost. Totally and thoroughly recommend (and I'm not into trains, daughter not even that into Thomas but still had a blast!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KDofChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    125
    23
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mytholmroyd, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun for the family.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited KLR with my husband and 21 month old little boy who loves trains, went on the train from Clayton west which took about 25 minutes to get to Shelly we stayed about 10 mins in Shelly as there is not much to do then came back on the same train. The café at Clayton west is very nice and is reasonably priced, it was a bit disappointing that the train along train around the pond wasn't working for the general public as my little boy would have liked that, it was only available for school trips that day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family day out, plenty for the little ones!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We got a voucher for Groupon for this day out and I thought it was spot on. My little boy of 22 months loved playing in the on site park and walking round the grounds. We enjoyed a lovely train ride to clayton west but at the other end it was a little disappointing as all there was only a bouncy castle and toilets. Overall it was a lovely day out

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordanandnikki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great day out for our little man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited KLR on bank holiday Monday. Was due to visit the Thomas event the week before but didn't purchase tickets in time. Paid £14 for 2 adults and under 3 tickets (compared to £36 for a day out with Thomas). Great value day out and my son loved it. Plenty to do for a little one with play areas at both stations and bouncy castles at Shelley. Decent food in the cafe and reasonably priced, staff very friendly. My little boy loved the experience and has already asked to return!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondeangel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great fun for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Into railways - get along to the KLR. Excellent days with Thomas the Tank Engine or father Christmas, also specials for Hallowe'en. Quite a hoot and the staff/volunteers get involved with dressing up and making it fun for everyone.

A cafe for some welcome hot drinks and a small gift shop with something for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ywurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirklees Light Railway also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kirklees Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing