We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for one visit”

Kirklees Light Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel along behind Hawk, Owl, Fox, Badger or Jay, our five friendly little engines here at the Kirklees Light Railway the home of Yorkshire’s Great Little Steam Trains.Climb aboard our little trains for a scenic journey along our 15” narrow-gauge rail through the beautiful South Pennine foothills to our Shelley terminus where you can enjoy the panoramic views of the surrounding area.Visit the Shelley station Tea Room for selections of seasonal refreshments. Children can play in the outdoor play area and on a summers day enjoy our large picnic area.Upon returning to Clayton West passengers can take pleasure in the many facilities available to them. The outdoor play area is ideal for children to ‘let off some steam’ whilst the adults browse our extensive shop. The Café serves hot and cold seasonal food and drink whenever the Railway is open.Many special events held throughout the year including: A Day Out with Thomas, Easter Eggspress, Olly Owls Big Weekend, Steam & Diesel Gala's, Halloween Ghost Trains and the Santa Express.We cater for groups, school visits, childrens birthdays, private functions and we also offer Driver Experience Courses.Open every weekend, school and bank holiday throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ok for one visit”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

its ok for one visit but grandkids got fed up very quickly. train journey not very exciting and my grandkids wanted to go after an hour or so. bit of a sand pit and slide not much else.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    128
    23
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Day out with Thomas”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went on the off chance that day with my sons. The staff were lovely they were helpful and friendly they explained all about the steam train to my son. There was plenty to do donkey rides face painting stories colouring bouncy castles and plenty of train rides. The children got a free book and certificate and building bricks. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scousemouse55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thomas and friends!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The themed days are obviously busier and noisier but dont let that put you off. Plenty of free parking, cafe at Clayton West is cheap and has had a make over during the winter. My only complaint would beis that the cafe is understaffed. There are baby bottle/food warming facilities at both stations, but at Shelly there is nothing to do if the weather is bad!
The Thomas say is always well organised but not particularly good value for money as they are the usual trains but with character faces on. There is the fat controller however!
However, all the staff work hard and most are volunteers and are very proud of the railway. On a summers day take a picnic and enjoy! Beware in bad weather there is not much shelter.
There is also a little playground with swings etc.
A nice family day out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A disappointing day!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were really looking forward to spending the day with our boys at what was promised to be a fun-packed day. How wrong we were!!! When we arrived we discovered that the fares were no longer £22 for a family ticket but had shot up to £42 because Thomas the Tank Engine was there.

Staff very abrupt and didn't explain that a carriage and time slot had been allotted to us. Having never been before, we had no idea of the format. We were scolded for holding up the train leaving on time and when we explained that we didn't know about the time allotted, we were told to "calm down". On arrival at Shelley there was little to do other than play on a bouncy castle or draw pictures. The BBQ was exceptionally over-priced with plastic cheese and an over-cooked burger costing £3.

We took the return train back in the hope that there may be more to do at the station, but other than a donkey ride round the car park, a ridiculously priced gift shop and closed ice-cream hut we called it a day after 90 mins in total - feeling like we'd been robbed by £56!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day with Thomas and friends”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fun packed day for 3 small children
Trains great staff really good helpful and friendly
Cold day but lots too do to keep kids busy
Value for money

Helpful?
2 Thank jhyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirklees Light Railway also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kirklees Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing