We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Such a shame. Exceptionally slow service (despite being pretty empty), when the food eventually came it was cold, the veg overcooked in the microwave, disorganised staff and the lady who purported to be the owner exceptionally rude. Never seen anything like it before. Very dissapointing experience. Plenty of fantastic alternatives. Would never go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Peter187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 108 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a night's stay as we were going to a wedding at the Saddleworth Hotel, about 2 miles away and approx £100 more for double B&B. So pleased we did. Bev arranged an early check in so we could do so before the wedding and gave us a key in case we came back late.
The room was spotless, well appointed, beautifully decorated and with views over the moor.
We came back from the wedding earlier than expected and in time to enjoy a beer in the bar before turning in to a bed that was so comfortable that we overslept in the morning.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory - more stunning views and lovely quality full English with all the trimmings and coffee top ups.
We will certainly be back and will recommend Simon and Bev's hospitality to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinningT0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have passed the Carriage House many times over the years on our way to Manchester Airport, Uppermill and Oldham, and recently called in for the first time for Saturday lunch. We sat in the conservatory and enjoyed the superb views of the moors. The owners were helpful and friendly. The menu was varied, with an international flavour and the bar had a good variety of wines and beers. The freshly cooked meals were excellent. Will add the Carriage House to our list of favourites around Huddersfield.

Room Tip: A great refreshment point for walks over Marsden Moor and the surrrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SanukUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting family and taking in the breathtaking scenery. Great location for walking, The room we had was larger than expected and great value for money. Very comfortable bed, spotlessly clean room and bathroom. We ate in the conservatory with great views over the moors and in the restaurant as well.The food served was excellent and the filling breakfast set us up for the day. Hopefully we will visit the area again for a short break and this is where we will definitely stay. Thanks to Bev and Simon and all the friendly staff for making our break so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greekisles4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends and couldn't fault it! We had a very spacious room with a really comfortable bed & had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked and served by the very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sccarig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A short drive from home is this very good laid back restaurant we settle down with a view over the moor and usually have a bottle of Busbag and a selection of starters very tasty and very reasonable they also do a very good steak the staff are friendly and excellent

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was at a wedding celebration at nearby Marsden. The Carriage House is a lovely, welcoming and homely B&B. The room was spacious, clean and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional and filling. Served in the conservatory, it was great having such an astounding view. I highly recommend a stay at The Carriage House!

Room Tip: Room 2! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scribbled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
7.8 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
4.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
608 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Huddersfield
582 reviews
8.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Edge Accommodation
The Edge Accommodation
#5 of 20 in Huddersfield
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn

Address: Manchester Road | Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: $101 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carriage House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing