We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Thai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Sakon

Thai Sakon
Ranked #2 of 568 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Wirral, Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrific Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited last week for the first time, it was a mistake not to have gone sooner. The food was extremely tasty and well presented, the mixed starter was excellent and there is an abundance of dishes on the menu. Great venue and very good service. Definitely the best restaurant that we've ever been to in Huddersfield.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayQueen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    125
    31
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Came here to celebrate a family birthday. For a Monday the place was reasonably busy. We arrived without book in but were told a table for ten would be no problem and were told to take a seat in the waiting area. We weren't given Any menus or offered a drink which left us annoyed as we had to ask for these. We arrived at 6 and didn't leave until after 9 as the service was slow and there were long delays between the courses. However the good was excellent. Everyone in the party thoroughly enjoyed every dish. If the service had matched the food it would have been excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was on a business trip and didn't want to eat at my hotel. I love Thai food and decided after reading the reviews to visit Thai Sakon. It has a lovely feel to it, and the team are great. I feel they have the balance just right, attentive but not over the top. The food was delicious and they offered me a spice level for my starter as it can have a good kick. I left feeling looked after and very full, the portions are generous. I decided to return for my last (and second) night and the waiter recognised me from the night before. He talked me through the menu so I could try some new things and again the service and food was excellent. The restaurant is clean and well present and to top it off it is also well priced. I have never written a review before but wanted to say a big thank you for making my stay in Huddersfield a relaxing and enjoyable experience. It's not often you go into a restaurant and leave feeling sad that it isn't located in your hometown.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great service, superb food - maybe a bit too much Chilli in the Thai green curry for me but the food was extremely tasty, well presented and the best customer service - thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndas853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Managed to get a table on a Saturday night and wow what a little gem this place is .Décor lovely and modern, service very attentive but unobtrusive, and best of all, not expensive at all.
Choice of food is outstanding and quite large portions. The duck and pad Thai was to die for. Food is full of flavours and freshly cooked all served on a hot plate. Choice of wines and beers is good and again inexpensive.
Worth the hour and half drive just to eat here, will certainly be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannyairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Sakon also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Thai Sakon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing