We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Lovely views but Dangerous approach "”
Review of Rose & Crown

Rose & Crown
Ranked #57 of 574 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“" Lovely views but Dangerous approach "”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We go out once a fortnight with 3 other couples & try different places to eat & we had planned to visit the Rose & Crown. After reading the latest review some of the group decided against going so we went to a different venue. However, my husband & I still wanted to visit the Rose & Crown so we went alone the day after. The pub is at the top of a very steep hill & access is gained via a very narrow single track road. By the time we had reached the top my husband was quite shaken after what seemed like a never ending roller coaster ride that is full of blind bends. In our opinion you need to be a very experienced & confident driver to attempt driving up this road.On reaching the pub the views it has to be said are lovely & go on for miles. The pub looks like it could have been 2/3 cottages at sometime that has been knocked through & made into a pub. The staff are very friendly & there is a good choice of food on the menu. The pub wasn't busy & I have to say I must agree with other reviewers that the waiting time for food is quite long. We have dined in numerous other pubs where the food is cooked fresh & not had a waiting time as long as this. The food itself was average & in comparison to other places we have been its quite expensive & not worth driving up a mountain for. Unfortunately not for us & that will be our 1st & last visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctupling1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownhd, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review and trying the rose and crown. Unfortunately we cannot change the location of where the pub is built and nor would we want to, our biggest criticism of being an isolated venue is also our biggest compliment and I am sorry it's not to your liking. All our food is cooked from fresh and our average waiting time is 30mins regardless of how busy we are. We always assess our waiting times but this also depends on which dish is ordered most of the time and we don't have enough information in your review to respond to this, Fish and chips can take a matter of minutes, fish pie is 30mins from fresh and circumstances vary from day to day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    67
    20
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mexborough
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dont bother!!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

after reading other reviews we were really looking forward to trying this pub. after driving up the impossible roads to reach the pub at the top of a steep hill we were greeted by a pleasant friendly barman who showed us to our table a waitress came and took our order quite quickly ... so far so good. the pub wasn't really very busy but it was 40 mins later before we got our food which looked really nice . looks was the only thing nice about it the chips were home made as stated but were more like roast potatoes and the steak burger was raw in the middle ... total disappointment not worth the drive for terrible food ...AVOID

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank unhappyMexborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownhd, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
A few points...

- We were not quiet that day we we're serving a wedding sit-down meal in a different area of our venue.

- Regardless of this, these burgers take a minimum of 30 minutes to grill. We keep track of every table waiting time & you actually waited 35 minutes from ordering your food on this occasion. The waiting time is from ordering not from arriving at the pub!

- Our head chef has never served a raw burger in 15 years experience. Your burger was checked to be cooked through and in addition to this it was probed & was at the correct temperature before it was sent, we have this on record. You never sent it back or mentioned at the time which quite frankly is amazing considering you claim your burger was RAW !!

- I don't want to patronise anyone further by explaining the difference between chips & roast potatoes.

You clearly hold some sort of grudge against our establishment for whatever reason, and we'd be quite pleased if you do AVOID us in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love the food, the view and the staff are second to none”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a scrummy meal yesterday at the Rose N Crown, so well looked after, Steve is a fabulous host, thank again for reserving my favourite table, you are a star......And the food is tremendous, I had Tempura Prawns and Mark had Brie to start, followed by the most delicious Salmon in Prawns and Mussels sauce (checkout the photo) and Mark Abbott had Pie, Chips and Mushy Peas, and as if we weren't full enough we managed Chocolate and Cherry Cheesecake for dessert (see photo too), I highly recommend the Rose n Crown, beautiful food, fabulous views and a great team who really look after you,we will be back soon xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise44_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownhd, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“More than just a view”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I'd made a note to check this place out on a nice day, as its website promised great views. It didn't disappoint.

Even on a Friday lunchtime, we were among just perhaps a dozen customers, all of whom were dining; and most of whom were enjoying beautiful weather and views across the Upper Colne valley from the substantial terrace.

Although the location is superb, it probably also explains why it was not so busy. It's situated well above the village of Slaithwaite at Cop Hill. Car parking is on two levels. Access from Slaithwaite is good, but the alternative single track climb from Marsden isn't for nervous drivers.

Food and beer were very good. From a choice of four on handpump, I went for the house beer from Goose Eye brewery. Hardly had time to take a sip before the barmaid suggested I replace it as the barrel drained - good service. Replacement from York brewery in excellent shape.

The menu offers a large choice with game and seafood claimed as specialities, but we ate simply. As it was Friday (!), I had fish and chips which was excellent; lovely light batter, handcut chips and proper mushy peas. Daughter polished off her creamy garlic mushrooms, but the macaroni cheese defeated her.

You want places like this to flourish. Deserves to do well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaddleworthSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownhd, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always on point!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We regularly have a walk up to the Rose - whether it be for lunch or an evening meal. We always thoroughly enjoy every plate of food served. The atmosphere is great and the staff always go out of their way to make us feel very welcome. We are attending a 21st birthday on Saturday and we are very much looking forward to it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BARTREV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownhd, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing