We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all areas”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have just stayed three nights at the Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield. The Hotel has to be the very best three-star hotel we have ever stayed in anywhere. The room was warm, comfortable, very clean and well maintained. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and the extra security of the hotel's own car park was monitored at all time by the hotel's reception. Free Wi-fi and excellent choice of breakfasts, just contributed to the whole relaxed experience. We make regular visits to Huddersfield and this will always be our first choice. We would recommend the Cambridge Hotel to anyone. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 572 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked this hotel for a Saturday night stay. We found the hotel to be in an ideal location. (5-10 minute walk from the town centre). There was plenty of free on site parking available. The rooms were rather large and very clean. The bed was huge and the full size fridge was a definite bonus. The hotel looks to have been recently refurbished or recently built. All staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. The guy that was running the reception / all nite bar was still serving when we went down for breakfast he has worked a pretty long shift. We had not booked breakfast when the room was booked but it was no trouble to go down for breakfast in the morning and pay on departure. Breakfast was £5/person and was well worth the money. Various kinds of eggs and omelettes were available when your order was placed. In summary there is nothing to fault or dislike about this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna_and_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We needed somewhere to stay that was close to the train station. We are local but had never heard of this hotel until I searched online. The room was lovely, huge bed and a really nice modern bathroom. Really great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The thing about a family run business is that everyone makes more of an effort. This hotel is a clear example of that. Courtesy, helpfulness and efficiency are the watch words here. Our room was immaculate, the hotel was clean and tidy with all the amenities we needed on hand. Free wifi, big TV, and huge fridge in our room and a large spotless bathroom with powerful shower. Breakfast was good too, with polite staff and a non hurried atmosphere. If you're staying in Huddersfield, stay here.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank travelchap100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights after a long flight from S.E.Asia and had earlier requested a quiet room where it would be possible to rest and recover during the day from 15+ hours in Economy seating. Not only did I receive an email assuring me that this would be the case but on arrival we were shown to a room thoughtfully selected at the end of a corridor with a skylight - but sufficient - window which was ideal for our need to replenish energy. A highly professional reception! The evening meals here seem to be sparcely attended (maybe people eat in their rooms) - which is a pity because the cooked to order cuisine is cheap and plentiful - try the veggie lasagne!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungeiSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Found this when looking for a reasonably priced place to stay, and was cheaper than the rest but rated highly as well. Had read fab reviews before my stay and they were spot on. Located 5-8mins from town, quiet area as I didn't hear a sound all night. They also have a restaurant and bar which is great if u want an evening meal or a drink before bedtime. Rooms are a great size as is the bathroom and they also provide a fridge (very handy), if u need anything extra the staff are only too happy to help, one in particular who was kept very busy at reception and at serving breakfast but still had a smile and a chat with all the guests, you cant beat a good service. Hadn't included breakfast but added one for my last night and was very nice indeed, great breakfast room and I like that u can see the staff cooking the breakfast. All in all, I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryKate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was really pleased with this hotel. The prices were really good, cheaper than any other typical budget hotel and twice as good. The hotel was lovely and clean the staff were very polite and friendly. The room was spacious and had a fridge, ironing board and hairdryer. The bathroom was modern and the shower was really powerful. The breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked to order, what more could you ask for!. Overall a brilliant experience and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#6 of 14 in Huddersfield
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
1.8 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 14 in Huddersfield
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#4 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: $67 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing