We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely Hotel”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely Hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We ended up staying here for one Night , as the B&B guest house we booked was actually full when we arrived so off we were sent to the Cambridge Hotel , and we must say it was lovely , On arriving we were shown to our room by a lovely reception lady , ( we were off into Huddersfield for a 21st Birthday party ) before we went off for the night out we enjoyed a curry in the hotel which was very good :) , later we went in the bar for drinks which was also nice , then onto our lovely room which was very stylish and modern comfy nights sleep then the next morning a fab full English breakfast made I believe by the owner of the Hotel ! would recommend staying here to anyone wanting a nice hotel near the town centre ( short walk away )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    147
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
78
147
59
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I needed a late one night stop-over and this hotel proved perfect. Five minute walk from the railway station and town centre. Also close enough for me to catch a football match at the Galpharm! Very clean and tidy throughout the hotel. Accommodating and friendly staff. Breakfast very good too. I had a single cheap room on the 2nd floor which was fine for a night but if staying longer I would probably pay an extra £10 for a larger double room.

Room Tip: I had a single cheap room on the 2nd floor which was fine for a night but if staying longer I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife & myself attended a music charity event in Huddersfield & stayed at The Cambridge Hotel. The staff were absolutely fantastic, we we're allowed to check into our room early so we could get to the event on time. The staff were friendly, very helpful & nothing seemed to much for them to help us.
The room was beautiful & very clean, the bed was so comfortable & we had a lovely refreshing sleep. We would highly recommend this hotel to people who are going to Huddersfield, it is situated within walking distance of the railway station & the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scriverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking turned out well. We had never been to Huddersfield before and wanted to see the current play at the theatre. The hotel was very convenient, being a short walk into town. Polite friendly service, spotless room, nice bathroom, quiet and very warm and comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was part of a group of 23 from Ireland stayed in this hotel last weekend for the St Patrick's Weekend celebrations in Huddersfield. All 23 were highly impressed with this hotel we would give it 100 % marks right across the board, efficiency and friendliness of the owners Usman & Imran and all staff members, anything we requested we received - even a freshly home made pizza at 4 am !! Full English breakfast (equal to our irish Breakfast) On Saturday evening we all enjoyed a delicious meal with a great choice on the menus Bedrooms were nice and spacious with a lovely comfortable bed, great hairdryer is provided in all bedrooms, tea and coffee facilities excellent for us irish tea and coffee lovers. Showers were lovely and powerful, iron and ironing board provided in each room. rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. over all we would recommend this hotel for its value for money, excellent food, quiet area (hence a great nights sleep) only 5 minute walk from the town centre, spotless and clean hotel, and very efficient and friendly staff. well done to you all and we will be back!! angela from Wexford Ireland

Room Tip: very quiet area of huddersfield
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the cambridge with the girlfriend for a night,pleasently surprised,excellent room,clean,tidy,massive & comfy bed....we'll defo stay again next time we're huddersfield for the rugby....and for the price,£55, i doubt i'll ever stay anywhere nicer..

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank simonspudwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I find this hotel just a perfect venue on my regular trips to Huddersfield. The rooms are a reasonable size and are always clean and tidy. I must give the showers special mention: first class with a huge stream of hot water, great first thing in the morning.

Breakfasts are a little limited in their choice but what there is is of good quality. The staff are always very friendly. I can recommend it.

Room Tip: I personally don't like the rooms on the very top floor as they have roof lights not windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
3.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing