We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here on business for a single night in July 2013.

The hotel is well located and easy to find. Car parking is underneath the hotel and is free.

The whole hotel is clean, modern and bright. The staff are friendly and helpful, even showing me to my room which these days is unusual.

The room is nice - I guess it could be described as a couple of notches above a decent Premier Inn. Everything is present (Kettle, Ironing Board Etc.), and everything works! Decent size TV, really comfortable bed, and good quality blackout curtains. Only slight let down was the shower - I could only get warm, not hot water from it - this may have been because I was showering at a peak time.

The food - the speciality is Indian - a decent choice of authentic Indian food is offered (along with traditional food) - it was a good as anything I've had in a Indian Restaurant. Would certainly recommend eating here. Breakfast was also very good. Bar area is nice.

Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again - I wish there was one of these hotels in every town in the UK!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-small-cheese-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    145
    33
    9
    10
See reviews for
78
143
59
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel, in a twin room with a friend due to visiting people in the Huddersfield/Halifax area. The staff were friendly and welcoming, showing us to our room and carrying our bags (even though the female receptionist was smaller than me) The Wi-fi worked consistently in the room, which was a good sized room with 2 pillows on each bed, a tv that worked and more than enough storage and plug sockets. The newly fitted en suite was clean, had a shower with amazing pressure, complete with fluffy towels.
The parking was easy and plentiful. We didn't get chance to try the restaurant due to other plans but when walking through to reception, it smelled of fabulous Indian food. And to top it off, it was really reasonably priced, close to Huddersfield but also well placed for the main routes into Halifax.
I'd definitely stay here again and probably give the food a try.
If I had to offer any critique, all I can suggest is that hot chocolate and maybe Earl Grey tea as a choice on the tea-tray in the rooms would've been an added bonus but that's just us being picky.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mand1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice. The bedrooms are larger than average and everything was clean. We only had a snack in the bar but it was very good and did not break the bank. The service was also very good. Loved the decor and whoever furnished the rooms had obviously done their research on clients requirements, iron and board provided not a trouser press that nobody uses and powerful hair dryer thrown in.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 40, it only had a sky light window but that did not bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldwindsorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

friendly helpful staff, great breakfast and cosy, quiet room. Short walk from the station and the centre of Huddersfield with plenty of places to eat locally. Pleasant bar area. Breakfast/dining room has an open kitchen area where you can see the cooking going on. Nice vibe from a family run hotel where they obviously care about what they do and have very high standards. A bit of a gem.

Room Tip: attic rooms are lovely with sloping ceilings and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rushbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Cambridge Hotel on a few occasions. The reason I keep going back is the hotel is spotlessly clean, fabulous walking distance to the the city centre. It has suitable parking area and it is very reasonably priced. I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milneang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed for one night only. We were going to a rock gig in nearby Holmfirth (yes really!) but couldn't get a room anywhere close to the venue at a reasonable price so, based on Tripadvisor reviews, booked at The Cambridge. What a find! We were not disappointed.

The location, whilst convenient for the train station is, I have to admit, not inspiring as it's up a side street adjacent to some rather decrepit former factories etc.

But once inside it's another world. Decorated and maintained to a very high standard, friendly and accommodating staff, impeccably clean, and very comfortable rooms with more facilities than you would expect from a 3 star hotel.

What's not to like?

I wish the management and staff of The Cambridge Hotel every bit of success they deserve. Thank you guys!

Gareth & Carol Rowell

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Location and car parking was perfect. The room was excellent - clean, modern and in first class condition. The breakfast however was very different! Poor quality bacon and sausages which really let it down and surprised to have to make our own tea with teabags in a cup. The chef was inappropriately dressed for food preperation (in a woollen jumper). Overall a great hotel but let down by the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing