We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very presentable”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Bit like a Vegas nightclub in he bar and bit like a works canteen in the restaurant but for a one night business trip good presents excellent value. Would stay here again. Not he place to enjoy a vacation but for work - great. Breakfast was pure greasy spoon but again for work what else do you want - even desirable as a Guilty pleasure to eat a great British breakfast with nobody telling you that it is not good for you. Owners and staff were very professional and tried hard. Called me mate but hey, not too much of a sin. Nicely fitted out on middle budget basis but great value for money.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank dwinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed S, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Were happy to hear you enjoyed the British breakfast - Its made by the boss! We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
DJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 561 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was a wonderful surprise! Considering how cheap the rooms were (especially compared to London prices) and how few reviews it had online I was not expecting a new, well appointed, spacious room or the great service and amenities. It looked to me as though the rooms were almost new, I could see no wear marks on the carpets or walls and the linen on the king sized bed was immaculate. The free wifi was fast and easy to connect to, the bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. I had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant where the food is plentiful and tasty, although the menu has just the fairly standard meals you would expect in a small hotel. There seemed to be no shortage of staff and I was greeted with a smile by everyone I saw. I really cannot praise this hotel enough, it was a wonderful place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have been staying here for 4 years and this year was pleased to see the extension and modernisation completed to such a high standard. The Rooms are spacious and the Bathroom provides a shower that actually flows well ( we find some dont). The room clean and warm and the restaurant offerred a good menu and our meal was really good. The staff as always most accommodating and welcoming. A Good choice.

The towels provided are adequate but for me the downside was they could be bigger.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor but lifts all worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canvey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

just stayed at the cambridge lodge 03/11/2012 this is my fourth year of staying here and i just can't fault the hotel i've stayed in a few hotels in my time but this one just gets better and better there's everything you need and more the staff can't do enough for you the food is excellent the standard of the hotel is excellent and i find it hard it's only a 3 star just keep up the good work and will see you next year that's for sure.

Room Tip: not the cheapest of hotels but it's excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianren-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I normally stay at a Premier Inn when in Huddersfield but on this occasion couldn't get in, so went for the Cambridge Hotel because it was recommended on an on line directory. What a find, a really lovely, newly developed hotel - excellent rooms and in room facilities, friendly, helpful staff and parking - also well placed for walking into the town. I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

myselfe and my wife stayed here 27 oct for 3 days hotel was very clean staff were friendly and helpfull very well maintained hotel rooms were fantastic big flat screen tv safe hairdryer iron large fridge lovely bar and breakfast room breakfast was first class would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulb1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

-A family owned spotlessly clean hotel offering excellent facillities and service.
-A friendly helpful welcome. Furnished to a very high standard. Even a full sized 'fridge in every room to use as you wish.
-Car park floodlit at night and a short walk to the town centre. Excellent breakfast at modest cost.
-Ironing board, hair dryer etc. in rooms and free use of room safe.

Room Tip: -Just ask the helpful Reception if you need and advice - it will probably be one of the family who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcarpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#5 of 14 in Huddersfield
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 14 in Huddersfield
279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#4 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: $70 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing