We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

All the outstanding reviews here are fully deserved. I stayed at the Cambridge for four nights last week and was really impressed by the comfort and cleanliness, the good value of the ample and well-prepared breakfasts and the uniformly good attitude of any of the staff I met. I will most definitely return when I visit Huddersfield again and have recommended the hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: A convenient walking distance from the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villalonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed S, Manager at Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for the honest review and the stay at our hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to see you soon.

Many thanks,

Cambridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    152
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
79
149
61
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria, uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Exceptionally clean, modern newly refurbished hotel with very good, comfortable bedrooms with all amenities required. The shower is very powerful, wide screen TV, huge and very comfortable bed, fridge, iron and board and very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed for one night and will definately return. Literally 5 minutes walk to the railway station and 9 mins to the university. Left our car in their private carpark compound whilst went shopping the next day. Good hearty breakfast with newspapers and wide screen TV . Currently working on a new bar area although there is a bar and lounge area upstairs. Staff extremely helpful, happy and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was the best and all for £55 for a double room with breakfast. WOW!!
Don't bother with any other hotel - this is the best! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed S, Owner at Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Difficult to fault staff very friendly and attentive clean and comfortable rooms highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie2185a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed S, Owner at Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for being honest, more than welcome any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel was clean, modern and had a very positive atmosphere, and the room had comfortable beds and a good shower. That said, the highlight for my colleague and myself were the staff members. They were friendly, informative and extremely helpful. I interacted with them on multiple occasions, and they always went above and beyond the call of duty. Also, breakfast is included in the price and one of the options was a delicious full English breakfast, which gave a great start to my day. Finally, its location is central - one can walk almost anywhere from its doors.

Overall, if I ever go back to Huddersfield I am going back to the Cambridge hotel, as it made my stay both personable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Luise33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed S, Owner at Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words. You are more than welcome at any time.

Many thanks

Cambridge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having stayed several times in this hotel before the refurbishments, and always found it adequate with the staff friendly and willing to make stay as comfortable as possible. NOW WOW!!!! how much they have stepped things to to a very high standard, the room was spacious comfortable well fitted, huge comfortable bed, large flat screen T.V. with freeview and speedy wifi connection. Bathroom fantastic wash basin with brilliant tap, great light fitting over the sink. Lovely powerful shower. Corridors well lite and stairwell light and airy. Lovely decor. Car park with camera's and well lite. The staff are lovely couldn't do enough for you.
Plentiful breakfast with good choice freshly cooked.
We spent a very relaxing evening feeling safe and well rested, and very welcome
We have no hesitation in staying again and we will be.

Room Tip: top floor room have skylight windows,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

From the moment we pulled into the new parking facilities, the service here was excellent. All staff were very polite and helpful. Place has had recent overhaul and everything is spot on from the public areas to the rooms.
Linens and towels were brand new and place was spotless.
Its location is ideal for a base for travelling the area or for just having a weekend away as it is less than 5mins walk to the centre of town.
Area seemed fine that hotel was located, walked around it at all times of the day and night and never felt intimidated. Cant imagine staying anywhere else for the service and pricing were spot-on.
Best of luck to them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I arrived early but was allowed to check in. Reception (Imran) very professional - treated as a customer and not a source of income. Room and bathroom fitted out to high standard. he actually took me up and showed me round and explained how things work etc.
Breakfast staff were equally friendly. Very convenient round corner from Station, past Sportmans
straight along the road and turn left .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squire58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
311 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
460 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing