We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly recommended for eating in and catering.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton

Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton
Ranked #9 of 301 Restaurants in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly recommended for eating in and catering.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We needed to cater for 80 people, so we visited to try and were comfortably wowed by the freshness of the cuisine: this is not your ordinary curry house with heavy use of ghee! While the more traditional end of the menu will definitely satisfy the curry aficionado, the 'tapas' half is a whole new rainbow of interest to raise even the most jaded of eyebrows. A second visit with the in-laws, who are very familiar with Birmingham and Brick Lane curries, was a roaring success.

The catering side was very good value and was competently and flexibly handled, and proved very popular with the all the guests who opted for the hot plates - even the more sceptical ones.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    127
    44
    17
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING FOOD - BEST PLACE IN LUTON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

TOP FOOD - LOVELY STAFF. Honestly... if you like spicy food - eat here... you cant go wrong.. Amazing

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great food but find it expensive especially for the tapas..
Once a month treat.. Would like to go more often if prices were more reasonable

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olly456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I am a person who have eaten from most of the restaurants in Luton. Thus I can strongly recommend Papa J's, because it provide variety of dishes with variety of tastes in reasonable price with good quantity. I came to know about this restaurant because some of my friends who are regular customers, recommended this place as it provides the best food in Luton. The chef specials which I tried is very excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Been to Papa J's a few times now. We used to go to the one on Alma Street, when they first started out and we found the food much nicer back then and the prices were reasonable too. Over the years it's gone slightly down hill. Once you've tried one dish, most of them taste pretty much the same as they use the same sauce. So basically to sum it up, average food and a very expensive night if you're drinking alcohol there.

Helpful?
Thank SJ38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton also viewed

 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing