We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton
Ranked #8 of 313 Restaurants in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is something very different and out of the ordinary, as Indian restaurants go, the food is second to none, the atmosphere is very relaxed, service is efficient. Just remember to book as it is very popular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lardarse44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    131
    45
    20
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I can't understand why this place has such good reviews!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Only been once and will never go again! The food was terrible - the worst Indian food I have ever tasted! We went in a large group - service was ridiculously slow and when the food came it was basically all the same. I think they had one pot of sauce and tried to pass it off as everything on the menu. It was truly disgusting!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kemnedy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant service and Superb food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visited last night after reading on this website it was no . 1 in Luton. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and asked for a table without a reservation . we arrived at 7.45 and were seated and had our food by 8. We had the king platter which was divine . Overall a fabulous experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bokkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What did I order???!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food was mediocre and the staff could barely understand basic English and when we asked the manager a question regarding a dietary requirement he was rude in his response. We came here following the many positive reviews on the restaurant and were incredibly disappointed.

When we got the bill there were an extra three drinks added to the bill. The manager had the cheek to try and charge us for two drinks that the waiter spilt all over our table. Such a ridiculous experience. Will not be eating or recommending this place ever. This place just try and find different ways to scam extra money out of you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladygaius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second time here, I vowed to return after the the excellent meal I had the first time.

This visit I had the Aloo Gobi Adraki and my colleague the Paneer Kofta Curry. Both were superb and were good sized portions. Service was good and friendly. The overall price including drinks was reasonable and was no more than I have paid at much lesser restaurants elsewhere in Luton.

Papa J's is an exceptional Indian restaurant and I will, without doubt, be visiting for a third time in the near future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton also viewed

 
Luton, Bedfordshire
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing