We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only an hour from home but a world away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only an hour from home but a world away”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from a superb weekend at Luton Hoo. We were on the His n Hers. Package playing golf with spa treatments and two dinners in the Wernher restaurant. The welcome was very efficient and we were quickly escorted to our lovely room in the main house. The room was not big but very elegantly furnished. Both dinners were excellent, the service was a bit OTT the first night but when they were busier on the second night it was just right. We played golf twice, the course is quite different with no bunkers but punishing rough. Thankfully the Marshall was very good at pushing people on or it would have been very slow. The spa treatments were both very good,but the spa reception is very poky and not very relaxing. The pool is very well laid out but the changing rooms are again too small and in need of a deep clean. The only downside is some of the food pricing which is a bit puzzling, £9 for an absolutely tiny ploughman's salad and £5.25 for a hot water and lemon with three petit fours. Other things we ordered seemed fairly priced taking into account the superb setting.
We really felt as relaxed as if we had been away for a week and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: The mansion room was a little hit but we left the windows open and there was a nice breeze. You do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    387
    211
    135
    77
See reviews for
313
653
23
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 1 night at this lovely hotel. This was our third visit and it will not be the last! We love it! We arrived early and headed to the Brasserie restaurant for lunch. The food was very nice and the staff were very friendly and polite. After lunch we went to check in at reception knowing that we were one hour early, but this was not a problem. Sean at reception was very helpful and checked us in in no time. We got a lovely ample room in the flower garden. Although a bit far from the main house, it was a great location for us as it is very close to the tennis court and the spa. We got a room on the second floor overlooking the gardens. I love everything about the room! The bedding, the pillows, the bathroom and I want that bed in my house!! Complimentary water is in the fridge and it will get replenished at turndown. The toiletries are Molton Brown, which I love!

We went out for dinner to the Wernher Restaurant. This is the most beautiful room I have ever had dinner in. The food was very nice and the staff were very professional and polite.

Breakfast was at the Brasserie and I was a bit disappointed it was buffet, as I think a hotel with this category should have waited brakfast. The breakfast was nice, a bit of everything.

The Spa was very busy and the women's changing room was a mess, with towels everywhere, on both days I visited. My boyfriend says this was not the case in the males changing room. On Saturday we visited the spa after 6 o'clock and it was very quiet with only 2 or 4 other people. I also went on Sunday afternoon and it was very busy with families and groups of friends.

There are loads of things to do at this hotel and it is ideal to come for a long weekend. You can get a complimentary hire bike from the spa reception and explore the grounds. Play snooker in the mansion house (ground floor) play tennis, swim or relax in their spa, visit the rock garden etc...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staid for 5 days and each single day experienced a few unpleasant moments, some were naturally hurting and humiliating
- Unwelcoming reception;
- Many if not majority of staff were rude, very unprofessional, almost arrogant, BUT there were really good members of staff too, but very few;
- The whole atmosphere was very impersonal, one does not feel guest-like, does not feel cared for or welcomed, rather neglected;
- Gardens and patios are not well cared for.


On a positive side we had a lovely room in Flower Garden Wing with patio, spacious and clean,
with good bathroom, however bathrooms require good descaling, not well cleaned around plugholes and taps. The duvet was cheap and uncomfortable, the rest of the bedding was fine.

Had meals in both main house and Brassiere. The food was OK, but staff in Brassiere was arrogant, not attentive, when we asked for water the waitress' face expression was like "Ok, I will do you a favour! "

However, I reiterate, there were a few members of staff gracing this place like assistant manager Ben Hunt and the lady overviewing the breakfast in the main house, as well as a couple of porters. Also, housekeeping staff we dealt with were all very polite and accommodating.

Room Tip: If in summer time ask for Flower Garden Wing room with patio, looking onto left hand side if approac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toff737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived to see two mini buses full of people arrive in front of us. Instantly we thought we were in for a long wait as they checked the people in! This was not the case as they were incredible organised and we were booked in within minutes of our arrival.

The gentleman who booked us in escorted us personally to our room, which was fabulous. We had booked an executive room and it really was incredibly comfortable. With sofa and chairs, satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities.

We had booked a table for dinner in advance and it was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was also very pleasant.

After breakfast we took a stroll around the lovely gardens, the rock garden well worth a visit, a real hidden gem.

I would recommend this hotel and will return with golf clubs in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you land at Luton airport at night take a taxi to the Hoo hotel (just 5 minutes) and you'll enjoy very much your first night here. If you have to catch an early morning flight from Luton airport, it's the place to end with pleasure you trip. If you are a golfer this is the resort to spend your vacation. The former manor house is nowadays a luxurious pleasant hotel with many facilities, best service and intimate ambience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1947_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Simply first class, the hotel, the food, facilities, staff and service. Just come back from a surprise 50th golfing weekend that my wife had organised for me and together joined by 10 good friends. We all thought the place was fantastic, such friendly staff and service. Rooms superb with lovely bathrooms, we were upgraded to a suite and that was huge. We have been on many weekend golfing breaks around the country, but this place has to be one of the best in terms of what I have already mentioned. Golf course was good, though the rough can be a little severe even just off the fairway. Spa very nice with swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna. They have London type taxis to ferry you around the resort. A particular note about the food and a view shared by all 12 of us is that the menu would not look out of place at a top quality restaurant, so much choice inc scallops, sea bass and steaks and beautifully cooked. We were particularly impressed with Marcus who looked after us that night, it was his 4th day in that job and will be a real asset to the place. My only real grumble is that we were all couples and prior to arrival my wife had stated double rooms were required but some of our party were allocated twin rooms. I also couldn't understand that while everything on the evening menu was included on our DB&B stay which included £28.50 steaks that you had to pay £1.50 for a choice of sauces for the steak (optional). These were only very minuscule things but did not detract anyone in our party for what was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Was invited to dinner at Luton Hoo. I didn't know much about the hotel but had high expectations. What a fabulous building in the most wonderful setting. The reception area and lounge bar are the most impressive of rooms. High ceilings with tapestry on the walls. The dining room is equally impressive but laid out in a rather strange way meaning the only a very few tables have a view through the windows. If you are eating there for a special occasion it would be worth checking where you would be sitting. The food was a great disappointment. A true corporate kitchen. Potted shrimp and crab to start not bad. Dover Sole tasteless with a soggy texture. Eaton Mess was nothing of the sort and so disappointing. Service was fine without being engaging. Wonderful building and setting but don't go for the food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luton
8.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#2 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#4 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Property: Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Address: The Mansion House, Luton LU1 3TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing