We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Stayed here for a family birthday. The hotel looks fantastic at night and I had high expectations when I arrived. Unfortunately I had to change room 3 times (due to no water or something). The menu looked nice but took forever to come and the environment was a bit stuffy. Dont laugh too loud or dare to have fun.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesbrownuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,724)
There are newer reviews for Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,684 - 1,690 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2008

The Luton Hoo is, as its name would suggest very close to Luton airport and 'planes can be seen clearly from all around although the noise is surprisingly not an issue.
Fortunately, it is situated in 1000 acres of grounds (including golf course) providing great walks. The landscaped gardens are lovely although there is definitely room to use the land further, (perhaps horse stables and an outdoor pool )
The main mansion house is stunning with spectacularly restored grand public rooms. We stayed in a junior suite (room 31) in the main house which was lovely and spacious with a huge bathroom. The rooms are spotless and traditionally furnished and our bathroom was functional rather than luxurious(no seperate walk-in shower for example) and decorated in Edwardian style complete with brass taps, towel rails etc. There was a large LCD TV in the bedroom and this was the only nod to modernity, so don't expect some cowley manor, babington house boutique chic - this is as stately as its gets. The Molton Brown toiletries are always welcome though.
The mansion houses the main restaurant and lounge with the spa block housing the brasserie and bar. The food generally very good and the breakfast buffet especially so with great fresh fruit and berries, pastries, ful English etc.
The Spa is a walk from the main mansion but a great touch is the electric buggies that the staff shuttle the guests to and fro in.
Generally the staff is excellent but there is a general 'lack of ownership' and pride in certain areas. For example, when we asked the spa receptionist why the jacuzzi was no hotter than the pool, she explained politely that they were aware of the problem but that the boilers needed upgrading and this was something that would be done soon. All when and good until she gave us a lecture on how she would have re-configured the whole spa area and how the designers missed a trick here and there. This would simply not happen at a brand like Four Seasons where we have stayed before and shows maybe a lack of training in this area.

The Spa is however very well designed and based in the original stable block complete with wooden beams. There is a fantastic indoor pool adjacent to a large hydropool. The heat treatments inlude not only the usual steam and sauna but also a great Saunarium.

We were unfortunately woken up at midnight by a deafening fire alarm and had to assemble in the main reception for nearly half an hour. I am not blaming anyone for this, probably a teething problem but frustrating nonetheless on what should be a relaxing stay.
All in all, this hotel has the potential to be world-class and if it can avoid catering too much the corporate brigade, is a great destination.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank timajacksoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

The renovation of the hotel is fantastic and in keeping with the venue. The staff were friendly, the food was amazing and the bedrooms were very well equiped and a good size. The grounds are stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieEb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Ev_G44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez le bâtiment principal
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ASTAREL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Stine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank filone78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luton
8.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St. Albans
2,258 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,779 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 26 in Luton
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Address: The Mansion House, Luton LU1 3TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luton
Price Range: $251 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing