We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out for the kids!”

Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It is certainly worth the trip if your coming to Luton. Great fun for the Kids and You have the thriving Luton town centre a short drive away!

Thank MattUnsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are so pleased to have your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lots to see for all ages .good day out and had lovely snack there after. Good family opportunity.animals to see and farm shop to look around and reasonable prices.

Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are thrilled when our customers have a great day out at our park. It is lovely for us to be able to feedback to the staff who do such a fantastic job so thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We attended today as it was winter prices , £3 for adults £5 for kids , a very busy day with a few disappointments : pretty much the same animals all round the park ,£1.50 for a bag of rabbit food which I suspect has been scrapped out of the rabbit hutch and re- bagged n re- sold , pretty pointless attempting to feed them as they were surrounded by food . The playbarn cafe is awful ! Tables crammed together , no room for manoeuvre and over priced bland food , the animals outside had more room to move , could justify paying the winter prices . Sure as hell wouldn't want to pay summer prices !

2  Thank MissyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are disappointed with your review as it is factually incorrect. However, we are pleased to receive constructive criticism as it helps us to improve our services where we can.

We have a huge variety of animals including, sheep, pigs, goats, ponies, llamas, alpacas, lemurs, squirrel monkeys, owls, reptiles, flamingos and scarlet ibis to name but a few.

Our rabbit feed is from a quality supplier and is the same high quality feed that we sell in our farm and pet shop. It is certainly not 're-bagged n re-sold' as you suggest. Our highly qualified, experienced staff take good care of our animals and their health and well being is paramount to us.

Our heated indoor playbarn and cafe is extremely popular, especially in the winter months and can indeed become quite crowded at busy lunchtimes. However, our staff work extremely hard to keep tables cleared and serve customers in a timely fashion.

You did mention that you had a very busy day with a few disappointments, which you listed. We are glad that you had a full day and obviously enjoyed the other aspects of the farm, which you didn't mention in your review. Many thanks, however for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I recently visited Woodside & was very disappointed with what I found. Having closed the park on Mondays and Tuesdays over the winter season for maintenance the park if anything looks worse rather than any better! As an animal lover i do feel sorry for some of the animals there, particularly the monkeys & lemurs who live in poorly enriched enclosures. The monkeys were also clearly cold as they were seen just lying on the wood i presume where the heater is. The lemurs enclosure is also very old and falling apart, the ropes were broken and left swings hanging dangerously. The pigs also looked like they were living on a building site and visitors cannot really get close to them. All the paddocks were very muddy and the animals were sliding around trying to get some grass. I really feel this could be a good place with a bit of TLC however at the moment I feel Woodside need to consider their future as a childrens farm park.

4  Thank animallover27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, which we appreciate. We did indeed have a maintenance plan scheduled for the winter months and had decided upon this quite early on in 2012. We were keen and excited to move forward with our plan however we did not anticipate that we would have one of the most grueling winters in recent history. The incessant rain and repeated snowfall had an impact on every single project we had planned and as such our schedule was seriously delayed. We were devastated to still be suffering from the effects of snow drifts as late as March this year as we take pride in our park and strive to offer customers the best possible experience.

We have managed to move forward with many of our projects such a fence painting, the lemur enclosure and gardening, however in some cases we have had to prioritise health and safety matters over cosmetic repairs which are more visual to the customer.

Please be assured that our animals are cared for by our excellent team of highly qualified and experienced staff. We have a wonderful relationship with our vet who visits both ad hoc and routinely and we exceed the level of compliance required by our zoo license. During the terrible weather the grounds not only at Woodside but across the country have been saturated and waterlogged by the rainfall. This level of rain results in muddy paddocks and little grass growth. Whilst we keep the animals on the hardstand for a proportion of the time, they require exercise for their health and well being and so must be allowed onto the paddocks at intervals. While the grass growth is affected our animals are given extra food and hay to eat, and extra straw for bedding.

Thanks again for your feedback and please be assured that we are working hard to complete our maintenance schedule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Don't bother going. They don't want you in any case. Unfriendly and unwelcoming. No-one else was there!!!

4  Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are disappointed by your review and disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable visit. As you have given no details we cannot respond to your comments but if you would like to contact us at the farm directly we would be happy to discuss your concerns with you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park also viewed

 

Been to Woodside Animal Farm and Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing