We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost - the worst place I have evey stayed!”
Review of King William Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King William Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Tiny, filthy bedroom - had to put our bags under the bed to give us some space & they came out covered in thick dust. You couldn't even open the bathroom door as the bed was in the way! The bathroom itself was even smaller.... & it was smelly!

Paper thin walls - we could hear our neighbours snoring!

The staff in the ajoining pub were friendly but there were no staff on site after the pub had shut.....just a long list of phone numbers you could try in an emergency....left us feeling isolated & unsafe!

The pub grub was reasonable but I am afraid this is still the worst place I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morryboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 147 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 4, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Read the other reviews and ignored them, but shouldn't have.

The rooms themselves were ok, cheap furniture, cheap tv, cheap decor. The bathrooms were tiny - and I mean tiny. There were two soap dispensers which both were empty, but it was late at night and the staff had finished. The breakfast was some rolls and croissants in plastic bags, with an option of corn flakes.

There was little to no soundproofing, and people walking around could be heard clearly, and loudly.

On a positive note, the pub underneath was ok. The food was excellent, plentiful and would rival many restaurants I have visited. The staff were attentive and helpful.

But do yourself a favour - pay another £20 and go somewhere decent. But pop into the King William for your food on the way.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sapengro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We thought we would save some money by staying overnight cheaply prior to an early morning flight out of Luton. I'm afraid this hotel is not a good option even at the price: I've seen better rooms at hostels. Unforgivably, the toilet hadn't been flushed after an earlier visit before we were shown to our room: as a result the room stank. The beds had cheap mattresses with a single sheet on top. The room was not clean. We hardly slept. The hosts were not unfriendly -they just don't seem to have a clue how to run a bed and breakfast business.

Do yourself a favour:spend an extra 20 quid and get something half decent.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank 153greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

On it's website it looks lovely, but that's deception.

It's a pub with a few rooms.

The rooms are tiny. I'm only 5'4" and when i sat on toilet, my knees touched the door. The shower was horrible. The sink smelt really bad. The mirror was 6' in the air, so no chance of me seeing myself.

The mattress - i could feel every spring. only 2 pillows for 2 of us and they were as thin as sheets. i got hardly any sleep.

"Country views" it says on website - well, we could see a few leaves on trees from our skylight window.

the tv was above wardrobe so could only watch it if laid on bed.

the breakfast was a roll and croisant and cereal (but with UHT milk as no fridge - yuck) left in your room.

my partners flight was arriving at midnight. we checked that we could check in at 1am and they said fine. i actually decided to check in at 11 before picking him up (it is only 10mins from luton) and i'm glad i did as when i got back from picking him up, no-one was there.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank scuba-joli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

I stayed one night and was very disappointed.

The room was very basic and dated, there were no toiletries, not even a bar of soap and the so called continental breakfast turned out to be a couple of buns in a plastic bag. There was no heating in the room...radiator did not work. The wind whistle through the window and with the room being above the bar made it almost impossible to get to sleep before 11:30. I had to get up very early next day for a flight and was exhausted.

The Bar was thick with smoke so I didn’t use it. The previous comment about contractors was pretty close to the mark. So if you are expecting any level of luxury, dont pay the £45, do yourself a favour and pay an extra £20 pounds for a Holiday Inn or something similar. Especially if your not a contractor!

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank otmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

We wanted somewhere to stay before our early flight from Luton the following day.

We were not impressed with our rooms at all, bar and food good.

To be fair it was more suited to contactors, etc more than seasoned travellers, wish we had paid more and got something better.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank geenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luton hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
1.9 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 27 in Luton
536 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thistle Express Luton
Thistle Express Luton
#10 of 27 in Luton
51 reviews
3 mi away
Stockwood Hotel
Stockwood Hotel
#19 of 27 in Luton
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Hotel

Address: Mangrove Green | Cockernhoe, Luton LU2 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Price Range: $64 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your King William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing