We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple and effective”
Review of Stockwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stockwood Hotel
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stockwood Hotel.. Thankyou for my families stay at the weekend you were very helpful in helping me through a tough weekend where we had been badly treated in another hotel.
The price is cheap for what you get.
Free wifi, Free parking, Free breakfast and someone nice to talk to. People who i've seen complaining!! think about the price of what you are paying and what service and facilities you receive in other places..
The room was clean, sheets were clean, bathroom cleaned everyday.
I've booked in for a further few days as of next week before we get a place to stay nearby and they even helped me with this!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place is on the lower end of the price range and the rooms are very basic, beds not that comfortable, bathroom has no heating so was freezing cold but the shower was hot and good, breakfast is included but just cereals, toast and a few croissants. The place generally seemed clean if in need of a revamp, definite small of cigarette smoke around most parts inside.
Very limited onsite parking you have to park on street or use the pay and display next door.
They charge £1 for any card payments, or £2.50 for Amex... they don't state this anywhere on the website or booking sites, so bit of a surprise to have to pay that too.
If you want a bed for the night and don't want to pay much and don't expect much then it's ideal, I think calling themselves a 'hotel' is more aspiration than representative fact.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Room was comfortable once the radiators were on. Clean and basic. Lacking in personal touches but more than suitable for a short stay.
Manageress was welcoming and helpful with someone available on reception each time I visited.
Breakfast well stocked and maintained.
Shame Wifi is only available at an extra cost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel the night before a morning flight from the airport. The room was comfortable and that is what you get. There is a bar of sorts but that is a limited number of bottles in reception with 2 chairs and a table. The continental breakfast is in the cost which is acceptable.
The Mangeress/receptionist is helpful. The radiator in our room was only tepid and it being a cold February evening, was not enough to be comfortable. On mentioning this, she produced an electric radiator which provided sufficient heat. The central heating radiator did eventually come on and we were told that this was on a secondary system and that was the reason why

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LeicesterDavidT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Couple spent one night here double room with ensuite was very happy with our stay and room. Nice hot showers and only a walk away from shops. Room was large, with nice bed, good breakfast and friendly staff. Only complaint was that the WiFi was very slow

Room Tip: The double rooms are very nice and large with a desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Rooms and toilet/showers were very clean but hotel missed a personal touch or homely feel. Couldn't sleep due to the traffic speeding up and down London road through the night even though our room wasn't directly facing it and with window closed. Only one key given for a room. Place is only really popular with workers on longer term. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Not one facing London Road or even Stockwood Crescent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location, about 20 minutes walk from the airport, but we get room in the basement! But for that price was OK for spending just one night. If you want to spend honeymoon there - dont go there. Good for backpackers.

Room Tip: If you get the cheapest room - be sure that it wil be in the basement - be careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PawelOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luton hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Budget Luton Airport
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#16 of 27 in Luton
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luton Hotel Residence
Luton Hotel Residence
#19 of 27 in Luton
97 reviews
2 mi away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#21 of 27 in Luton
435 reviews
3 mi away
King William Hotel
King William Hotel
#12 of 27 in Luton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockwood Hotel

Address: 41-43 Stockwood Crescent, Luton LU1 3SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Price Range: $53 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stockwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stockwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockwood Hotel Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing