We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haven away from town”
Review of The Leaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leaside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2008

a very nice pleasant hotel,sociable staff,bedrooms always spotless when back in evening,good bar area plenty of seating especially the terrace

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobupdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 536 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2008

I was forced into a training course in luton, and was not, in truth looking forward to the experience. however, after finally finding my way into the leaside hotel i was met with consideration and a pleasant reception, the manager could not have been more helpfull, the irish lady at breakfast was a gem. The bar was pleasant and the food was great value, anyone who could see off one of their pizza's was a better man than me, all in all, a pleasant experiance and a home from home for a reluctant traveler, enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luckycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

A party of three of us stayed at the Leaside towards the end of June. We were very happy to find such a relaxed and informal environment, in contrast to the dismal concrete blocks that we have stayed in when visiting Luton in the past. The hotel is a converted mansion, retaining the character of the period. The room I stayed in was a large double with comfy bed and decor sympathetic to the building as a whole.

The food was absolutely wonderful, the bar menu food being as good as any to be had anywhere in Luton, and were very good value for money. The bar and lounge were cosy and relaxed, we were allowed to eat food there to accomodate our watching football on television. The staff were very welcoming and accomodating, the emphasis seemed to be on being informal. And the good weather allowed us to enjoy our drinks out on the large terraced gardens out front of the hotel. It was very handy for the centre of Luton.

Only quibble was that road access was slightly difficult to find, the river meaning that access is off a side road at the back of the hotel. But, in fairness, it is signposted, I have a habit of missing those, and the car park is secured by an automatic gate. I thoroughly recommend the hotel, which I wish I had known about three or four years ago, rather than having to stay in an impersonal 1970s-style monstrosity when I had to visit the town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpg3933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights, we found the rooms were very nice and clean, the food was excellent and the staff were very efficient. We would definately recommend our friends & family to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SHARON059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Luton
16
Reviewed June 28, 2006

BREADED CHICKEN FILLET- £11.95 for lunch........I dont think so!!
Main courses for lunch are priced at between £9.95 - £17.95 much too pricey for a lunch menu.
On my last visit (and probably final visit) I ordered Nicoise salad and was told that the fresh tuna could only be served "rare". It was very unpleasant and I could see no reason why it could not have been left on the grill to "sear" a bit longer (as requested).
To allow smoking in the clubroom as well as the bar is very inconsiderate for non smokers. Its unacceptable to have to eat lunch in a smoke filled room and the main restaurant is soulless at lunchtime (but not a night).
Perhaps the management at the Leaside should be preparing for when the non smoking ban comes into place in 2007.
The sugar free drinks are limited to diet Coke only.
We have used the Leaside for quite a few years now for personal and business lunches but will have to give careful consideration to going there again.

Stayed: May 2006
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 106 var fremragende
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mads H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luton
0.5 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#1 of 27 in Luton
642 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
22.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
2.3 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
0.3 mi away
Thistle Express Luton
Thistle Express Luton
#10 of 27 in Luton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leaside Hotel

Address: 72 New Bedford Road | Access via Villa Road, Luton LU3 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luton
#6 Business Hotel in Luton
Price Range: $102 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leaside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary boutique hotel set in a sensitively restored victorian villa (1878) located on the outskirts of Luton town centre only three miles from Luton Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Leaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leaside Hotel Luton
Leaside Hotel Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing