We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice...for Luton”
Review of The Leaside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leaside
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice...for Luton”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a recent one night stay before an earlyish flight. I was pleased to find this little hotel with easy parking and a little style...friendly helpful staff. Didnt sleep a wink though....the bedside light had a life of its own and switched off and on all night and the mattress was poor quality! The dining room is nice, almost elegant..and the breakfast was full of choice and of good quality. Just one small bath towel was provided....which was not sufficient...and a shame really because a hand towel would have been useful to dry my hair...the tv didnt work..but i dont watch it anyway. The evening bar meal was plentiful...and there was a cosy snug bar away from the football on tv.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    113
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
125
158
29
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights whilst on a course.
Our room was spacious with a small kitchenette (we didn't use) we had a patio area but not the weather to sit outside.
We had a wet room that was great bar fact it took so long for the floor to dry so if you wanted to use loo you needed to walk over wet floor. The sink however was so tiny you can't bend over it to brush teeth due to a shelf placed above, it really needs the shelf removing or a larger sink!!
Beds comfy enough, hanging space for clothes though no drawers which for 2 ladies sharing was a disadvantage.
The hotel has great decor, the bar very comfy with sofas and a lovely patio area. Food was very good. Luton city centre doesn't have many restaurants so we ate most nights in the hotel and were never disappointed, good value and tasty food.
A pleasant stay in a lovely boutique hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jules_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice stopover on the way to france, just two hours away from the tunnel,Excellent rooms(could do with blackout blinds) Sun was up at 4;30, Very nice evening meal and great patio area to chill out after, Breakfast reasonable, would use again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDarwenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Asked where the disabled access was "Oh, through the conservatory, but there is a step to negotiate " was the reply . " But my Mother is in a wheelchair " I said . " Don't worry ,Chef is a big strong man if you need help".........priceless. Will I be going back?......not a chance .......and I live in bloody Luton

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the Coach House Suite (Room 106) and we absolutely loved it. Staff were so friendly. The breakfast in the morning was great. Decor's nice. The highlight of my stay was the en-suite spa bath. It was so relaxing but I just didn't understand why the water coming out was a little dirty. However, I would stay again. It was a much needed break from reality. I recommend you do stay in the Coach House Suite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sali12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely old hotel. room spacious and clean, bed comfortable.Would prefer working radiators rather than heating the room using air con unit but no complaints. Very tasty and plentiful cooked breakfast, would definitely try to book here again when in Luton.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Franchisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Loved this charming hotel! Great value. Lovely and safe room as there is a lock to your floor and a lock to your room. The restaurant is amazing-Azure. There were so many lovely areas to hang out in- for example the cushy restaurant/lounge with WIFI or the extensive and elaborate porch/gazebo/colourful garden area. There was no need to purchase anything; it was open to guests. Cars were secured in a gated parking lot with electric entry.
The room was tasteful and had a lovely view of all the greenery.
We would definitely book here again, great value! 10 minute walk to Luton Mall if you want to shop. More importantly, this is a superb spot to go to Cambridge or Saint Albens for the day.

(Also, It cost 15 pounds by train at rush hour, and less if off-time, to get here from London, and then with the 2:1 coupons to sites including The Tower of London, it is worth taking the 35 minute train and leave London. These coupon books are available at the train stations around and in London.

Room Tip: Room 101 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippytoes245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luton hotels
0.5 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#2 of 26 in Luton
602 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leaside

Property: The Leaside
Address: 72 New Bedford Road, Luton LU3 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luton
#6 Business Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leaside 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Leaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leaside Hotel Luton
Leaside Hotel Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing