We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional and close to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Luton Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis London Luton Airport
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Functional and close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

1. Was the hotel close to things (e.g. transport, attractions, restaurants)?
Not close to anywhere except the airport, which was fine for us because we only wanted to stay during a stopover. No nearby shops - need to catch a bus there if you want to go.

2. Was the hotel in a safe area?
Yes.

3. Was there much noise at night?
No, very quiet. Double glazed windows so aircraft noise was minimal.

4. What was the quality and cleanliness of the hotel furniture and fittings like (e.g. bed, lock-up safe, shower)?
Very clean and modern. Comfortable bed and nice shower / bath. Not sure about a safe.

5. Do the hotel staff provide a good service (e.g. competence, attitude, availability)?
Very friendly staff always available, and willing to process you quickly at the counter.

6. What were the hotel amenities like (e.g. breakfast, restaurant, pool, bar, car parking)?
Restaurant was average (i.e. nothing special, but not that bad), with a better breakfast spread on offer.

7. Did the room come with extras (e.g. minibar, TV, internet, air-con, tea making facility)?
You can buy a package movies and internet to use from your room's TV set. Air-con present, as were tea facilities. No minibar.

8. Other / general comments:
Good, generic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPLESSIS, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Jo,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Nicolas PLESSIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    760
    418
    153
    94
See reviews for
261
722
285
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

for a "cheap one night airport hotel", I was completely astounded by the service and quality the staff showed.

Clean rooms, yes, basic, but when all you need is a clean bed and a decent shower for one night before a flight, what's the problem?

sky tv, wifi, room service, and even better cnsidering I arrived at midnight- a restaurant downstairs that serves HOT food, 24 hours a day. Rare to find in even superior hotels.

Breakfast began at 4am to allow for those with early flights -again, a rare occurance for even airport hotels- and the staff were cheerful and polite at midnight AND at 7am.

Would definitely recommend, and please have my heartfelt thanks for a very decent night's sleep!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikicirrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPLESSIS, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Kikicirrus,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.

Kind regards,
Nicolas PLESSIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at the Ibis prior to an early flight the next morning. The only thing that let the hotel down was a female receptionist with very little command of the English language. She just did not understand that we wanted directions to the off site car park and kept pointing to the hotel car park and insisting that we paid £3!
Otherwise it was a very pleasant stop over with (otherwise) very helpful and polite staff. When I ordered a pint at the bar the barman apologised but he had to change the barrel then refused to take any money because I'd had to wait.
The room, although small, was very comfortable.
I would suggest that if you have got a a lot, or heavy luggage, book a taxi to the airport. It only cost us £4.50 and was well worth it.
We'll certainly use the Ibis again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPLESSIS, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Nigwat,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the IBIS Hotel Luton Airport

I was disappointed that you felt that the standard of English amongst staff, especially those on Reception was unacceptable. Whilst we are a multi-national company that employs staff from a diverse range of backgrounds, it is a requirement that all front desk staff have a certain level of fluency in English. My Front of House Manager has reviewed the hotel recruitment policies to ensure this requirement is more closely met.

We really value your feedback.
Kind regards

Nicolas PLESSIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

The Ibis Luton is very handy to stay at if you're travelling from Luton Airport as its about 5-10 mins walk away. We stayed here when we had an early flight the following morning, and was definitely worth it to save on travelling time getting to the airport at that time in the morning. Service was very helpful, as were the staff in the restaurant and bar. Its very clean and quite modern in its decor, but the only negative I can think of would be the quality of ther bed. Is literally a really thin matress on top of some ply wood, so its quite hard to sleep on. Seeing as it was only one night it was manageable, but if I was going to stay there for any more nights than that, I'd be a bit disappointed.
All in all the hotel does its job well in serving passengers to and from Luton airport, apart from the bed everything was fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPLESSIS, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Littlelau,

I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and I will certainly pass on your comments to my team at the Restaurant and Bar. I know that they will be delighted to learn that their efforts have been appreciated and remembered.

I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,

Nicolas PLESSIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband and I staid at the Ibis Luton Airport for two nights.
My general impressions about the hotel were good; the check-in was quick and the receptionist seemed to really enjoy her job, the rooms were lovely with its cabin boat for bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florianR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPLESSIS, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review - delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicolas PLESSIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Hotel Ibis at Luton airport is close enough to the airport to be within walking distance of the main terminal (saves on taxi fares) yet quiet enough to enjoy a night's sleep completely undisturbed by any aircraft or other traffic noise. The service at reception was friendly and helpful, as was the service in the restaurant. The room was a good sized and simple yet well maintained with a comfortable bed and pod-style bathroom with a very nice shower. The menu in the restaurant was brand new and the food was good and fairly good value. Although Ibis state that you can get the best room prices through their own website, the price that we got from laterooms.com (£40 for a double room for 1 night) was less than half of the price through Ibis' own website!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsta04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPLESSIS, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

Nicolas PLESSIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Here's a general list of positives and negatives:

POSITIVES:
-nice big rooms
-orange theme
-lighting is friendly
-very close to Luton
-can't hear much traffic

NEGATIVES:
-if you have the window open, you can hear the planes which subsequently disturbs sleep, especially in the daytime
-when it's busy, the staff tend to lose their charm...
-taxis are expensive - it was £70 to take all 9 of us less than 20 miles!!!

Overall, a good stopover hotel to fly away the next day, but I was quite tired during the flight because of a lack of sleep.... though that might have been because I was really quite excited for the next day!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laulau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasPLESSIS, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The Ibis London Luton Airport.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted all your comments.

Kind regards,

Nicolas PLESSIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Luton (Airport) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Luton Town Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Luton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Luton Airport

Property: Ibis London Luton Airport
Address: Luton Airport Spittlesea Road, Luton LU2 9NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Luton Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Luton has an excellent view of the runway at London Luton Airport, which is 600 metres away. The centre of Luton is 10 minutes away. The Ibis is inviting, modern, spacious with air cooling, and has comfortable ibis sweet beds as well as power shower. Luton Airport Parkway Station is about 1 km away. Regular trains reach London St. Pancras Station in about 30 minutes. Junction 10 of the M1 motorway is within easy reach and the Shopping centre is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis London Luton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Luton Airport Hotel Luton
Ibis Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing