We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No transfer from the Airport! You walk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis London Luton Airport
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“No transfer from the Airport! You walk!”
Reviewed May 29, 2007

This hotel advertises itself as being "at he airport." Well, it is NEXT the airport and they have NO courtesy van. It is actually about a 15 minute walk or you can tak a taxi. Of course, you have to pay the base price for about 1/2 a mile ride. Since, as we all know, it often rains in England, be prepared to make the trek (did I mention uphill?) in the pouring rain. If you book this hotel (as we did) because you are flying out early or have a short layover and want to be close to the airport, you won't get that here. You may as well stay in the town which is a very short cab drive. Also, for the price ($150 us) you get very little. The room is a closet , the bed uncomfortable, and the location INCREDIBLY noisy as it is RIGHT NEXT to a runway. Be advised that the only other hotel "at the airport" is the Holiday Inn Express and it is right next to this property. I do not know if they have shuttle or not but I would check. Next time (as I take this route a few times a year and it requires a layover) I will stay in Luton.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Walking there due to no shutte and being located right next to a runway.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KashifRABBANI, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every ibis around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve, and like this reach our promises.
We are really disappointed for the experience you had and the points you have mentioned will be adhered immediately to ensure it has been rectified but please accept my sincerest apologies again for the inconvenience it caused during your stay and most of all thanks for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Sincerely,

Kashif RABBANI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    787
    433
    160
    98
See reviews for
272
745
299
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2007

Had an awful experience in this hotel and would never ever set foot in an Ibis Hotel again.

Had £120 stolen out of my purse while staying here, I suspect my drink was spiked in hotel bar and because there was nobody else about suspect Ibis employee (allegedly) although I accept difficult to prove. However, I would be interested if anyone else has had a similar experience at this hotel. Please email cheeks100 at ntlworld

As well as the awful experience the place was absolutley grim. Never again!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheeks1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KashifRABBANI, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every ibis around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve, and like this reach our promises.
We are really disappointed for the experience you had and the points you have mentioned will be adhered immediately to ensure it has been rectified. Moreover, I can guarantee you that your money would never be stolen by ibis staff as we ensure the safety of guests and their belongings but please accept my sincerest apologies again for the inconvenience it caused during your stay and most of all thanks for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Sincerely,

Kashif RABBANI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luton hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

This was the cheaper of the two airport hotels and as we had to stay overnight at Luton the choice was made on that basis. it is very basic - the room contains a bed and a TV but the bed was comfortable and the shower was good. There is no hairdryer and no free transfer to the airport although the hotel will call a taxi for you. As you will probably only be here just to sleep, it does at least deliver that.

  • Liked — Shower
  • Disliked — No hairdryer
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CatherineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KashifRABBANI, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found your stay up to your expectations. Moreover, as part of a brand, we do offer now hair dryer in every single bedroom.
Once again thank you for the time spent in posting your comments and most of all for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Sincerely,

Kashif RABBANI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Hotel was fine and staff both friendly and helpful
Minor problem when we arrived when key card to door did not work but this quickly rectified.
Room was bright clean and functional.
Thanks. .

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank ArchieWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KashifRABBANI, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found your stay up to your expectations.
Once again thank you for the time spent in posting your comments and most of all for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Sincerely,

Kashif RABBANI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

I stayed here for one night and was starting to wish i hadn't booked it when I read some of the poor reviews here. However, I needn't have worried. Parked the car in the barrier controlled car park and went in to reception where i was dealt with without delay in a friendly and efficient manner. Reception was bright, clean and modern. I also spotted a couple of pcs with PAYG internet connection.

The room was bright, modern and clean with tea/coffee tray. Bed was comfortable, sheets and towels clean and the room had heating controls with 3 fan speed settings.

The passenger terminal is 10 mins walk. I timed it twice but you wouldn't want to walk that distance with heavy bags.

Its not the Ritz and doesn't pretend to be, I paid £61 for a Sunday night. It was functional, clean and I cant complain about anything.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank newrangerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KashifRABBANI, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found your stay up to your expectations.
Once again thank you for the time spent in posting your comments and most of all for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Sincerely,

Kashif RABBANI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

presumably, nobody comes here for any reason other than to use the airport . It's just about tolerable for a single night, but that's about all I can say...

The room was over-heated and shabby, and the limited food choices downstairs were unpleasant and over-priced...

We paid around £45, - not expensive, but it hardly felt like a bargain considering you don't get breakfast..

Stayed February 2004
Helpful?
3 Thank iandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KashifRABBANI, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every ibis around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve, and like this reach our promises.
We are really disappointed for the experience you had and the points you have mentioned will be adhered immediately to ensure it has been rectified but please accept my sincerest apologies again for the inconvenience it caused during your stay and most of all thanks for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Sincerely,

Kashif RABBANI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

We were recommended to stay here by our travel agent to avoid local roadworks.

I would rather drive for an extra 3 hours than set foot in this hotel again.

Dirty doesn't quite cover it. The staff were unhelpful to the point where it seemed like we were being irritating by staying in their hotel.

We were also using "Airparks" parking. This was also awful.

Luton airport would be much, much better if you could park closer and not be at the mercy of poor hotel and parking arrangements.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Guido_Flashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KashifRABBANI, General Manager at Ibis London Luton Airport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every ibis around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve, and like this reach our promises.
We are really disappointed for the experience you had and the points you have mentioned will be adhered immediately to ensure it has been rectified but please accept my sincerest apologies again for the inconvenience it caused during your stay and most of all thanks for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Sincerely,

Kashif RABBANI
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
1.5 mi away
Luton Hotel Residence
Luton Hotel Residence
#15 of 25 in Luton
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stockwood Hotel
Stockwood Hotel
#17 of 25 in Luton
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Luton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Luton Airport

Property: Ibis London Luton Airport
Address: Luton Airport Spittlesea Road, Luton LU2 9NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Luton Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Luton has an excellent view of the runway at London Luton Airport, which is 600 metres away. The centre of Luton is 10 minutes away. The Ibis is inviting, modern, spacious with air cooling, and has comfortable ibis sweet beds as well as power shower. Luton Airport Parkway Station is about 1 km away. Regular trains reach London St. Pancras Station in about 30 minutes. Junction 10 of the M1 motorway is within easy reach and the Shopping centre is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis London Luton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Luton Airport Hotel Luton
Ibis Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing