We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop off before airport”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #27 of 309 Restaurants in Luton
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All the staff welcome you to The White Horse Tea Green!! A friendly country dining experience nestled on the Hertfordshire border. We offer traditional and modern home cooked food served in a warm, friendly atmosphere. Our aim is to give you a relaxing, pleasurable dining experience and one which will make you want to return time and time again. We look forward to seeing you soon. Serving food ALL DAY from midday until 9.30pm (9pm on Sunday).In addition to this we hold many special occasions and events in our luxury marquee from weddings, anniversaries, christenings, birthday celebrations and funerals receptions. Each occasion is designed exclusively for you. The marquee seats 120 people, is fully lined and has stunning wooden flooring and is heated. It also has its own sound system that you can connect your iPod or MP3 player and for additional seating the marquee connects to the restaurant and can be hired exclusively depending on your exact requirement.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop off before airport”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited The White Horse before going to Luton Airport. Really gem of a pub, great food. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minny-winny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    57
    20
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Jolley wedding”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to be invited to a wedding here. It's a lovely little pub on the outskirts of Luton. The room/marquee was beautifully arranged - it was to hard to tell you were actually outside at all. The food was delicious too. The staff were friendly, although we were charged different amounts for drinks every time we went up to the bar (only by a few pennies!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Thursday night steak night review”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I wasn’t going to bother booking a table for two for a meal on a Thursday night but it is actually essential as the place was heaving.

We arrived on time at 7:30 and after a 3 minute wait we ordered drinks at the bar and was shown a table that had to be cleaned first.

We already knew what we were going to order so by 8:10 we were eating our sirloin steaks and very nice they were to. On the steak night menu there is a choice of 8oz rump, 8oz sirloin, 8oz swordfish or 8oz gammon. The price includes a pint of beer or a soft drink for £11 per person. The normal menu is also available on Thursday’s.

All in all it was a pleasant experience but I have dropped one star as I did request over the phone a table at the lower bar level but there were none available when we arrived. There was nothing wrong with the upper level but that isn’t the point. Also a couple of more chips would not have gone a miss but really I am just trying to justify the 4 stars when maybe I should have given it 5 stars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Give it a go”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Its been a while since I went to The White Horse, however the food at lunchtime was great and the staff were friendly. The atmosphere was warm and the prices were reasonable. I haven't been in the evening so I can only comment on my lunchtime experience of the pub.

Helpful?
Thank miriat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty home cooked grub”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great pub for a Sunday afternoon roast or a midweek meal out. Food is all home cooked and cooked to order.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlag27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Luton, Bedfordshire
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing