We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Indian Food”
Review of Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean
Ranked #94 of 309 Restaurants in Luton
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine Indian Food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had occasion to eat here a number of time of the years. A stand out Indian restaurant in a community where Indian restaurant's/takeaways are plentiful. A large restaurant with very friendly and helpful staff. The food as always is of excellent quality and presented to high standards. Nice atmosphere, very comfortable environment. Would recommend this everytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    9
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited here with a group of people, busy little place on a Friday night.

We had heard good reviews about Indian Ocean, although being a little fussy with food I was sceptical. Nice décor although a little worn, and a blocked ladies loo!

Average food, below average service, reasonably priced...Good company!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor takeaway/delivery service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have had two bad experiences with their delivery service. Although they repeated order to me over the telephone my order was incomplete on both occasions. On ringing the restaurant to let them know I was given a lot of abuse and called a liar. They said they had checked the order was correct before delivery. Well they are either stupid or their delivery driver is dodgy because I am certainly not a liar. In future when I order a takeaway I will check all my order has been delivered before handing over any money but most definitely won't be using the Indian Ocean ever again neither will my family purely due to their poor attitude and customer service. There are plenty more nice Indian restaurants in Luton. If this is a scam that they do to all their customers they are making themselves quite a bit of extra money. Wonder if others have had the same expeience? They were adament both times it was not their mistake. Disgusting attitude.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A poor experience double booked and left waiting!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had booked a special Iftar party last year but upon our arrival the staff could not avconadate us and had overbooked trying to force us into the dilapidated and empty party room.

After some upset and arguments and when our party of 8 said we was leaving they offered a table.

Unfortunately very rude staff and the worst experience especially when we was all fasting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Banging!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

They do a banging curry! Vindaloo was proper mint and the staff are sound. Top boys, top gaffe. Proper mad for it! - Len Harris

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LenHarris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Luton, Bedfordshire
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing