We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should stick to tapas”
Review of Frog & Rhubarb

Frog & Rhubarb
Ranked #4 of 311 Restaurants in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For a warm and friendly welcome, pop in and join us for a drink at our country pub with quality dining. We have a wide selection of beers and wines from around the globe. The bar area has a light and airy feel without losing the great atmosphere and intimacy of a more traditional pub. Prop up the bar, tuck yourself away in a corner or take a seat in the courtyard garden, the choice is yours. Our dining area has large tables and comfy leather chairs with a terrific colour scheme and simple pictures. Food is served all day, every day and our constantly changing menu focuses on quality and choice. We have great range of modern dishes to tantalise your taste buds or classic pub meals for when only a good hearty meal will satisfy your hunger. We also offer a wide range of traditional and more unusual Sandwiches and amazing Burgers The Frog & Rhubarb is the ideal venue in a convenient location, catering for guests on both business and pleasure. Meetings, functions and parties can all be accommodated, professionally and in style. The Frog & Rhubarb is situated in the village of Slip End. Luton-2 miles, Dunstable-5 miles, Harpenden-4 miles, Luton Airport-3 miles, Luton Airport Parkway-2 miles, M1 J10-1 mile, A5-2 miles.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Should stick to tapas”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

i have been to this restaurant quite a few times and it has mostly been a good experience however my last visit was very disappointing-i had the diced pork with new potatoes which was very bland and the new potatoes were going rotten-they were black inside so i had to leave them; my friend ordered the sweet potato Moroccan filo pie which was so dry and bland that she had to leave it. The tapas board is a highlight however and i think the pub should focus more on this as the individual dishes are a strong point, but quite often they run out of ingredients on the menu, however the nice waitress or manager try their best to find an alternative-the restaurant area is a little bit at odds decor wise with the pub bar area but it somehow works-but if you drink here just be aware that they serve doubles as standard and you have to ask if you want a single measure of a spirit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank massproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    111
    39
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

cosy little pub, brilliant service and a good menu with just the right amount of choices. I was torn between the pork belly and the steak & ale pie with sweet suet crust, and have always had bad experiences with pork belly, so opted for the pie! Hubby ordered the pork belly and it was delicious! Good selection of classic puds and the portion sizes are on the generous side.

Overall, good value for money, lovely atmosphere and excellent food.

Kids menu looks good for the little ones and we will be going back sometime soon with the monsters!

we both rated 10/10

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dodfins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & a lovely restaurant”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have been here twice now & have really enjoyed the food each time - way above the standard of pub grub, but for a very reasonable price and a very nice restaurant environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Cattigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real Quality”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Typical village pub with no pretensions of grandeur. Clean and tidy surroundings, very pleasant and welcoming staff, serving excellent food at a very competitive price. The Sunday roast is a bargain and the quantity served will challenge most diners, try the roast pork!! Bath to Slip End for Sunday lunch is not a weekly option but Frog & Rhubarb is first point of call rather than the Premier Inn implanted pub!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harpenden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bland and blander”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

On first walking in we were impressed by the deco and lay out of the pub and it was also pretty busy for a monday. Lady who served was lovely and friendly. I was looking forward to trying one of the veggie meals as usually you don't get much choice and went for the veggie moussaka with garlic roast potatoes. It was so disapointing the filling was like a really bland curry (kind of like baby food) and the potatoes and cheese tasted of nothing, no seasoning, no richness just bland, all I can think is it must have been made with really cheap mild cheese to have absolutely no taste and it also hadn't been grilled off to make the top crispy just blatantly nuked in the microwave. The potatoes were gritty new potatoes and didn't taste roasted.
My husband had pork belly with chips (they had run out of mash) and was put off by a very large whisker (he's a chef himself so personally always burns whiskers off before serving pork belly) and after all you don't expect to get chicken with the feathers still on. The lady was lovely however and didn't charge for his pork and was very polite. Oh and the chips were lush so perhaps we would give it another chance. At the end of the day if you are going out to spend £20 to £30 on lunch you want to feel it was worth while.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katejane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog & Rhubarb also viewed

Luton, Bedfordshire
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Frog & Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing