We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March on down to the Frog!”
Review of Frog & Rhubarb

Frog & Rhubarb
Ranked #5 of 313 Restaurants in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For a warm and friendly welcome, pop in and join us for a drink at our country pub with quality dining. We have a wide selection of beers and wines from around the globe. The bar area has a light and airy feel without losing the great atmosphere and intimacy of a more traditional pub. Prop up the bar, tuck yourself away in a corner or take a seat in the courtyard garden, the choice is yours. Our dining area has large tables and comfy leather chairs with a terrific colour scheme and simple pictures. Food is served all day, every day and our constantly changing menu focuses on quality and choice. We have great range of modern dishes to tantalise your taste buds or classic pub meals for when only a good hearty meal will satisfy your hunger. We also offer a wide range of traditional and more unusual Sandwiches and amazing Burgers The Frog & Rhubarb is the ideal venue in a convenient location, catering for guests on both business and pleasure. Meetings, functions and parties can all be accommodated, professionally and in style. The Frog & Rhubarb is situated in the village of Slip End. Luton-2 miles, Dunstable-5 miles, Harpenden-4 miles, Luton Airport-3 miles, Luton Airport Parkway-2 miles, M1 J10-1 mile, A5-2 miles.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“March on down to the Frog!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love the Frog and Rhubarb, the food is always very good and the new tapas menu is a very welcome addition. Lager is kept well, their is always a decent guest ale available and the wine list is reasonably extensive. The staff are always very helpful.

We occassionally go on a Thursday night when in the bar area the darts team play, they are all a delight and great fun to have a bit of banter with after a good meal and a glass of wine or two, they also happen to be extremely good dart players.

I'm fortunate that I don't live far away from the Frog & Rhubarb but even if I didn't I'd make the trip

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMC_Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    111
    40
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't drive past, this is a gem.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

You wouldn't give this gastro pub a second glance - it looks like someone's house from the outside. But if you're wise enough to pull over and pop in you'll find a warm welcome, an imaginative menu and delicious food. The tapas is first class, the guest beer and recommended wine hit the spot too. I shall be returning to work my way through the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Well presented and VFM”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We called in here as we were waiting for a meeting to start and had an hour to spare. Although it was early evening, we were made to feel very welcome and the chef was actually sitting at the bar so it was nice to meet him too!
As it was a Monday, they offer 2 courses for £10 which is good value for money and there was just enough to satisfy the appetite. The food was well presented and as we had a spicy pasta dish, they easily accommodated our need for a little extra spice. Also, they didn't skimp on quantity of the main ingredients like chicken and the chorizo which some restaurants would so altogether a very please visit and we will go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleALuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had the mixed tapas, the presentation was great as it was served on a wooden board and it tasted as good as it looked. Good value for money and we will be visiting again soon to try the other Tapas dishes on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pub-Grub”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely village pub with plenty of parking, you can sit outside if you want but we sat inside and I have to mention the chairs were lovely and comfy - I hate sitting on hard chairs in restaurants !! Staff were very freindly and couldnt be more helpful - my freind has a food alergy and they were really helpful. Food was lovely, everything was fresh - none of your frozen rubbish - great quality and generous portions. Will definately be going here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmiffyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog & Rhubarb also viewed

Luton, Bedfordshire
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Frog & Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing