We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch”
Review of Fausto's

Fausto's
Ranked #19 of 93 Restaurants in Minehead
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant taken over from Zest, with new management. Serving Italian and European Cusine, using local ingredients where possible. Now also serving fresh fish and seafood, and beautiful steaks from a local producer. Our specials board is updated frequently. We cater for small to medium size parties, and our restaurant is ideal for birthdays, anniversaries and other special ocassions. Our restaurant has recently been redecorated and offers a cosy feel, with friendly service and freshly prepared food.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had walked past this restaurant the previous day and after perusing the menu and prices then seeing the very nice looking pizzas at the table in the window we decided to go there for lunch the following day.
Could see it was popular as all tables were taken. We were offered a table out the back in a covered courtyard area, which didn't have the same ambiance of the restaurant, but we realised we hadn't booked and it was our choice to stay or not.
I ordered a pizza, it looked good, nice and crispy and not at all greasy, but unfortunately it was fairly bland tasting as the cheese used was so mild it had no taste. What would have made it a memorable pizza would have been to shake over some Tuscan herbs.
My husband had the penne pasta with bacon and mushrooms in a light cream sauce, it was just that, once again a little too bland for his taste. Just some fresh herbs needed in cooking and some green parsley or herbs sprinkled over the completed dish would have made it really nice.
I realise it's hard to please everyone,but that was our take on meals.
All in all by today's standards it was value for money and we will try Fausto again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Kiwi15, thank you so much for your comments and feedback, we do appreciate it very much. The cheese on the pizza is mozzarella and yes it is a bit bland for some peoples liking but authentic to Italian cooking. Next time just ask us to put cheddar on and we will as we have both available. We do appreciate people like herbs and extra parmesan, etc. however our prices for the lunchtime menu don't allow us to put these on as standard. But if you do come back and wish us to add a little basil or similar we would be only happy to do so. Thanks again and thank you so much for dining with us and writing a review. Hope to see you soon Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    89
    38
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very sweet restaurant on a quiet side street in Minehead. Great menu with an excellent specials board using great local ingredients. Very homely friendly atmosphere. We had the best steak I have ever had, (and I have eaten at restaurants all over the world)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hi emd5, thank you so much for your lovely comments about the food and restaurant. We really appreciate it and are grateful that you took the time to write a review. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really tasty food”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went on the off chance of getting a table and was not disappointed.
Good tasty food, smartly served. A really pleasureable experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cbreeze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Cbreeze2013, thank you for your review, your comments are much appreciated and will be passed onto all the staff. Thanks for coming to see us and we might see you again in the future. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended Italian restaurant”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This delightful bistro-style restaurant is tucked away down a side street, but is well worth seeking out. We visited on a Tuesday night and found the place bustling. The owner and her staff were friendly, warm and welcoming, and there was a nice buzzing feel to the place.

We chose the mixed antipasti starter to share, then Rachel had a baked chicken dish with ginger and I had the fish special - a delicious piece of river cobbler wrapped around smoked salmon. Both meals were accompanied with well presented and tasty vegetables, and both were absolutely delicious. The meal was accompanied by a very nice bottle of Italian wine from the short but well chosen and reasonably priced wine list. My only regret is that we were too full to sample the dessert menu!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi GreenFreddie, thank you for leaving us such a great review. We were happy that we found you a space, and that you were happy to try us after reading a not so flattering review. Thank you for all the lovely comments about not just the food, but our staff. I will pass the comments on. It was a pleasure to serve you both and we would love to see you again in the future. You never know, you might be back one day. In the meantime we wish you all the best, Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A warm and friendly welcome despite not booking in advance, we were given a table after waiting 30 minutes in the pub over the road as the place was packed! Always a good indication in a small town. Our starter was amazing, the camembert came with an assortment of proper local bread, chutneys and fruit, this was devoured and followed up with pizza and spaghetti. which we thoroughly enjoyed. Too full for a dessert unfortunately.

I have never left a restaurant before advising them to put their prices up, and doubt if I ever will again, but the value for money at Fausto's was amazing. We had an excellent time and some excellent wine and would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone searching through Minehead for a change from the tired old Fish 'n' Chip options.

Will be back again next May!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyGBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Andy, so kind of you to say that we should our prices up for what we serve, it is very much appreciated, but we are trying to make our restaurant affordable to as many people as possible. We are delighted that you had such a good time and enjoyed not just the food but also our little restaurant and service. Can't wait to see you again next May. Take care Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fausto's also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to Fausto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing