We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a gem of a restaurant!”
Review of Fausto's

Fausto's
Ranked #19 of 93 Restaurants in Minehead
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant taken over from Zest, with new management. Serving Italian and European Cusine, using local ingredients where possible. Now also serving fresh fish and seafood, and beautiful steaks from a local producer. Our specials board is updated frequently. We cater for small to medium size parties, and our restaurant is ideal for birthdays, anniversaries and other special ocassions. Our restaurant has recently been redecorated and offers a cosy feel, with friendly service and freshly prepared food.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow - what a gem of a restaurant!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We've just discovered this hidden gem of a restaurant. What lovely, tasty, fresh, perfectly cooked food, great friendly helpful service and fantastic atmosphere. The scallop, bacon and black pudding starter is truly the best starter I've ever eaten. We went on Friday and Saturday night (the restaurant was packed out both nights) and on each night one or two of our party had the fillet steak, which was locally sourced, completely melt in the mouth and perfectly cooked. The fish tasted fresh off the boat and the puddings were to die for. As for the tomato sauce base for the pasta - well, what a depth of flavour. You could just tell that it had been slowly and lovingly reduced down. Our children (age 5 and 3) ate chicken and pasta, and the chef made them both to their exact requirements. The staff went out of their way to make the children feel welcome and at home. What a fantastic place - Minehead's finest!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Sarah, I only just realised that I had not written a response to your lovely review. Please accept my apologies. Thank you so much for coming to see us, we had a great night with you all. The kids were so lovely behaved. Hopefully you will be back to Minehead in the future. We would certainly love to see you all again. It is so nice to receive such kind and great reviews, as it makes all our hard work worth while. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    89
    38
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great value”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This restaurant is a real gem. We did not book and arrived early. We were just walking through Minehead looking for somewhere to eat and decided to take a punt on Fausto's and we were really glad we did. From the time we walked in, the staff were attentive and really pleasant even though the restaurant quickly filled up - I think most were reservations. The choice of menu was extensive for a place this size and the food absolutely wonderful - good portion sizes, great flavour and taste. Biggest surprise was the bill, which was considerably less than I expected for food, drink and service of this quality. We could not recommend this restaurant highly enough - one of the best Italian meals we have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkonowalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Firstly my apologies for not replying to your amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening with us. We work hard to source great local ingredients and cook everything fresh to order. Our staff will appreciate your comments, as they also try hard to make everybody's evening as enjoyable as possible. Hopefully you visit Minehead again in the future. We would love to see you again. All the best. Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely 1st class food and service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked for our Pearl wedding anniversary and when shown to our table it was decorated with little hearts etc and a happy anniversary banner. A lovely touch. All 3 courses were excellent in particular the sea bass with perfectly cooked veg. The Tiramasu was as good as it gets. All food was excellent served by 2 very happy smiling members of staff. Can't speak highly enough and would definately return. Thank you for making our anniversary extra special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daviesgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Sorry it has taken so long to reply, for some reason I missed a few out. We are so happy that we could make this special occasion even more special for you. I will pass your lovely comments to the staff, they will appreciate them as much as Fausto and I. Best wishes for the future. Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful gem in Minehead”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited this lovely restaurant last year and were really impressed with the food,the staff and the atmosphere.This year we revisited and were not disappointed - we didn't book but were squeezed in and the lovely staff were very attentive.The slow roast belly of pork was recommended and was delightful and so reasonably priced!We will definitely visit again next year on
our annual short break - easily the best eaterie in Minehead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Manager at Fausto's, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Regina, so nice of you to come back to us on this years short break. We are so happy that we managed to squeeze you in, and that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Fausto and Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good find!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were recently in Minehead for a two night weekend break and while we had a nice evening meal at a pub on the first evening, we wanted something a little more for the next night.
While strolling in the town during the morning we spotted Fausto's along a side street. The menu displayed looked good so we booked.
We weren't disappointed :) All the courses were tasty and of good portion size and the staff were friendly and welcoming. A reasonably priced bottle of Prosecco topped it off nicely!
We would not hesitate to return if we stayed in the town again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Manager at Fausto's, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review, we are happy you found us as well for your second night out. It is always very nice for us when people appreciate our hard work and enjoy not only their meal, but the entire evening. Hope to see you again, should you return to Minehead in the future. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fausto's also viewed

 

Been to Fausto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing