We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorna Doone Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lorna Doone Guest House
Ranked #18 of 38 Minehead B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one night visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sorry didn't feel as enthusiastic as your other reviewers. Owners were friendly enough, no complaint about that. Single room small and has everything needed, but no more than adequate, tired decor and fittings.Bed reasonably comfortable. Price fair, but full payment required in advance. Potentially dangerous small shelf next to bed with kettle on, close to collapse. Breakfast not very pleasant, tasteless cooked food, and toast only available ready "buttered" with something not very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of the South West Coast Path and had a lovely stay. We were made very comfortable and had a good (quiet) night's sleep and excellent breakfast. A lovely place to stay. We left something in the room and the owners were really kind and brought it on to our next place without us asking - amazing kindness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I with our 4 year old daughter, have just spent a week at the Lorna Doone. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived at the Guest house to the moment we left. Our little daughter was amazed by the Disney themed breakfast room and DIsney Bowl, Plate and cutlery that greeted her every morning. The Lorna Doone is only a short walk to the sea front in Minehead and equally close to local restaurants and family friendly pubs for evening meals. The bedroom was cleaned every day and was very clean with Tea and Coffee replenished every day, the bed was very comfortable and easy to sleep in and the en-suite was clean and tidy with a good easy to work shower. The breakfasts were amazing, everything you could eat from cereal and fruit to toast and the "Full Works" Full English Breakfast, which set us up for entire day and was unbelieveably tasty too!! We all can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 1 night here after a 20 hour overnight flight. The B&B was well located and we walked everywhere. The room was clean and spacious but the best feature was the very comfortable bed which we very much appreciated - we slept like logs. The breakfast was great and our hosts very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this B&B

Room Tip: Room at the back was quiet and dark at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've just spent two nights at the Lorna Doone guest house with my three year old son. Our room was lovely and spacious and clean. The breakfast was tasty and filling and a really nice touch was the childrens plates and cutlery for my son.
Sue and Warren were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The guest house is very well situated for the beach, shops and restaurants and plenty of parking right outside is handy when carrying luggage and a small child. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are heading to Minehead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at The Lorna Doone Guest House and I have only good things to stay. Warren & Sue were simply great. The room was spacious & very clean, their help navigating and finding places of interest locally was key to making the most of my time there. I will, without doubt be recommending them to my friends and family and when I'm next in Minehead I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been coming to Lorna Doone for 10 years! That should say it all but it's because Warren and Susan are warm, welcoming, laid back and cheerful. The breakfasts are wonderful, the house is beautiful and spotless. The rooms are lovely, well furnished and comfortable. The road is close enough to walk to all the amenities in Minehead: beach, shops, restaurant and Steam Railway. We have tried other places but Lorna Doone is just THE BEST!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.4 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Wellington
The Duke of Wellington
#13 of 38 in Minehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone Guest House

Property: Lorna Doone Guest House
Address: 26 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorna Doone Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Bed a Breakfast Guest House.All rooms En-suite with Showrer rooms, Remote Digital T.V., Beverage Tray with Coffee and a Choice of Teas, Hairdryer, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron and Board.Only a 4 minute walk to the Town Center and Seafrot where you will find the West Somerset Railway with its Seafront Station.Butlins Entertainment Complex is only a 10-15 walk away along the seafront and the Harbour and Lifeboat station is about the same in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lorna Doone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone Guest House Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing