We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hindon Organic Farm
Ranked #25 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Booked a long weekend here in the B & B, along with our recenlty adopted very lively 10 month-old collie Sarah, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Couldn't have wished for a better place. We arrived late having been held up on the way but were greated with a friendly note on the door directing us to our room. Then were welcomed personally by Roger (and several of the dogs!) and made to feel very much at home. Everything was exactly as described on the website and the breakfast and company fantastic. To those who have given less than positive reviews, I can only say that they should perhaps read the description and reviews more carefully.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soobut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just returned from a few days in the self catering cottage. We chose here for a couple of reasons, firstly it is very dog-friendly and secondly the location. It is in a fantastic setting, very isolated yet at the same time a short distance to the beach and walks that we wanted for the dogs.

Some of the reviews here are remarkable in complaining about the track used to access the farm, complaining about a lack of keys etc etc. This is precisely why we liked it, we didn't feel the need to lock the doors at all and loved the isolation.

When we arrived Roger drove by in his Land Rover and asked if we had found everything and that was really the last we saw of him - this is not a complaint as it is exactly how it should be and we were left to get on with our holiday in peace.

On arrival there was a great basket with fruit, eggs fresh bread, butter and a cake and in the fridge bacon and sausage from their Old Spot pigs - really lovely.

Also great to see animals farmed the way they should be - the Old Spot piglets were adorable !

Only one piece of nit-picking criticism ! Internet connection would have been great - but of course that is purely personal and very minor point.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank gavinpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the self-catering cottage along with our three dogs. We loved the cottage and it was exactly as we expected and steeped in character. The fully enclosed garden was perfect to be able to relax without worrying about the dogs escaping! Penny and Roger had provided a welcome hamper which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. As mentioned in an earlier review the track was long and narrow but in my opinion is part and parcel of living in the country and didn’t pose a problem for us. It was amazing to wake up to the birds and seeing the horses in the field opposite. We loved the location as it provided easy access to the beach and to Exmoor. It was the first time we had visited this part of the country on holiday and would go again. Totally fell in love with the piglets and it was great to see a working farm. So overall really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Thanks Penny and Roger.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Perfect place for a short family break. We had a very warm welcome from Roger and Penny and within a short time we felt very at home on the farm. Being animal lovers, we loved seeing the piglets, and playing with the friendly dogs.

Breakfast was outstanding with a huge variety of organic produce to suit all our varied tastes! The rooms were very comfortable.The farmhouse is in a great location for walking and exploring the local area which is very beautiful. We would recommend the walk to Selworthy Beacon from the farm for its fantastic view!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

Thank you - you were a joy to have stay, a real farm in a glorious location with real food served with a smile - well most of the time!!! See u again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

To be honest, when we booked this farm, we didn't pay attention to the fact that it was part of the Stepping Stones and therefore, was showing no stars. We usually choose 3 stars so overall, we were disappointed.

The negative points:

- This is an old farm, 3rd generation, that needs to be renovated to be a good B&B.
- The last bit of road to the farm is actually a long and narrow single track with dense edges. Scary to meet a car coming from the other direction!
- The entrance door is never locked, the landlord told us, and if you want a key for your room, you have to ask for it.
- The front of the house, parking space and gardens are not clean as geese and chickens are free range and do their business everywhere - not easy to walk.
- In the Walnut Room where we stayed, there is no carpet, only wooden floor and skin sheep rugs. It is not as luxurious as it looks on their website.
- The bathroom is very small and dated. The shower cubicle is very small, there is not enough space to dry towels, only 1 small shelf above sink, 1 tiny cupboard on wall, 2 taps cold/hot, 1 broken toilet roll holder, 1 basket as the bin (no lid). No door from bedroom to bathroom, only a curtain.
- No TV in the room, only in the lounge (although with all Sky channels, that was good - but the lounge is a bit smelly).

The positive points:

- Good location to visit Exmoor. Close to lovely places and to Minehead which is convenient for shops and eating places - although the quality of the food was disappointing.
- Easy to park the car.
- Can see a working organic farm. Nice to see the animals.
- The breakfast and especially the meat which is from the farm, is excellent. The tea is delicious. There is a good choice and most products are organic.
- The room is very spacious and has very spacious wardrobes - although their doors don't open and close easily and some are dusty on the inside.
- The farm is dog friendly so you can bring your dog. They themselves have 7 dogs! Careful though with the wooden floor in the room which is very slippery. My dog experienced it several times!
- Can use a small fridge on landing for 1 or 2 items (I used it for my dog's food).
- Good hospitality from the landlady.
- Very quiet place.
- Leaflets to take and maps to borrow.

Overall, there were some good things about this farm but we would not go back there.

Room Tip: This is if you want to see and experience a 'real' farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lauren526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Firstly we endeavor not to offer what we cannot deliver here, it is our policy to ensure guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, as we have no desire to have guests to stay who do not appreciate what we have, our website clearly shows what we are, which is a real farm with B&B in an 18th century farmhouse with charm, comfort and 21st century style and very good food, set in a glorious quiet location with walks from the door to the coast path and heather moor. NOT a hotel.
Our farm lane is just that, and the many benefits of being up a no through, one car width, lane, that is only 2miles off the main road, in our own valley, far out way any negatives, there are not many cars using this lane but of course on the rare occasion that you meet another vehicle or indeed a horse rider, there are passing places, however please potential guests who read this take note - if you cannot reverse a car may we suggest you find alternative accommodation.

The issue around not using keys, it is not a problem. - most of our guests love this fact, if guests want them then all they have to do is ask, we live here too and sleep under the same roof . We are not a hotel nor do we want to be.

As to the totally incorrect comment that the farmhouse needs refurbishing, the outside was fully painted with the lime wash required for a period property last summer. Also an environmentally sustainable biomass boiler fitted to supply masses of hot water and heating, both at considerable expense.

When we did subscribe to the tourist board stars system we were awarded 4 stars, and that was several years ago, so the comment about not being up to 3 star standard is quite frankly ridiculous, this is a character period farmhouse dating back centuries, again as clearly stated on our web pages, not a Premier Inn.

The statements regarding the interior are equally incorrect and frankly un-true, 2 of the bedrooms have been totally re-done last year, as had the dining room and the hall and landing been painted, the sitting room certainly is not 'smelly' possibly if raining, the large open fireplace may have a little soot fall into the hearth that is all. We would not use chemical air fresheners but have scented candles should guests wish to use them.

The Walnut super king en suite was also redecorated, and the shower/bathroom is scheduled to be totally re-done his winter, also a door not just a curtain is to be fitted, there are towel rails in the bathroom and on a radiator in the bedroom, and masses of shelf space in the wardrobes.
The other 2 lovely bedrooms have original dark wooden floors which many guests say is perfect as they think more healthy than carpet, also in our opinion are ideal for guests with dogs as so much more hygienic.
We do not state TV's in the bedrooms, we have a guest sitting room - " what a very lovely room this is" Austrian guests who stayed in May remarked whilst enjoying a drink in there watching the giant TV.

Finally our Jemima Puddle Ducks and chickens, dogs, cats, and sometimes escaped spotty pigs, wonder around, which guests love to see as they drive in, " this is what we want to see in a real farm, a perfect picture" .
If guests have mud on their footwear then surely they can wipe them off on the grass or slip their shoes off on entry to the house. Never been an issue.

Finally at no time did these guest express any dissatisfaction with their accommodation, and their dog enjoyed the complementary Bonio, and they certainly enjoyed their breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at Hindon Farm for three nights and were made very welcome, as were our two dogs. Penny and Roger are very warm, friendly people and we felt like family by the time we left. We arrived at 5 and were given a tray of tea at a table in the sunny garden. I am a big animal lover and was in heaven surrounded by friendly labradors, terriers, cute hairy chihahua (sp?) and little spotty piglets which came scampering under their gate from time to time before dashing back to mum. Our dogs got on well with their dogs and the ones which didn't want to play just kept out of the way. There are happy free ranging hens, ducks and geese about and we kept our dogs on their leads around them just in case. Also two cats with attitude: They stood their ground and our terriers chose the wise course and ignored them. (Penny does sensibly ask people to towel their dogs down before they go in the house; she has spares if you need them.)
The farm is in the most lovely setting, down a serious of little lanes and surrounded by beautiful sloping fields with paths up to the Selworthy beacon. There are many tracks and footpaths into all sorts of lovely countryside. It is unusual today to stay somewhere which is so peaceful; in the evenings particularly, we were struck by the silence.
The farmhouse has very comfortable bedrooms and clean attractive bathrooms (each room has a private bathroom) and there was plenty of hot water. There are little touches such as fresh flowers in the room, essential oils in the bathroom and we had exquisite cotton pillowcases. The best thing was the view from the bedroom window. There is a large comfortable sitting room with dozens of books, magazines, and maps and an enormous TV, all available for guests' use. The house feels ancient, benign and very well loved.
Last, but definitely not least, we must mention the breakfasts...my husband said his was the best this side of the moon! All those happy animals eventually convert into fabulous breakfasts and the bacon, home made sausages and eggs were truly delicious. I am a veggie but Penny gave me three different types of veggie sausage to try along with generous helpings of eggs, tomatos, mushrooms and beans. There was also delicious home made bircher meusli, yoghurts and fresh strawberries, blueberries and figs which were from a tree in the garden. AND a loaf of organic bread on each table! We certainly needed those walks! The beach at Minehead is nearby too and Dunster is a lovely town about 15 minutes drive away with beautiful castle, shops and pubs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FossFollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

You were a joy to have stay - considerate of our ducks and roaming poultry and other dogs about with your terriers, wiped paws before entry to the house, embraced our 'not a hotel atmosphere' with our real special produce and breakfasts and loved the walks from the door without getting in your car.
It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests and their four legged friends, we also welcome constructive comments. Thank you for enjoying all we have to offer we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent a fantastic week in the self catering cottage. The cottage was quite simply the best self catering we've ever stayed in! We've never stayed anywhere so well equipped! Such a beautiful character cottage...I could happily live there forever! Our four year old thoroughly enjoyed staying on the farm, meeting the animals and even spotting a badger on the farm trail. We had a wonderful walk across to Selworthy for cream teas and found lots of interesting villages and attractions to suit all of our party (2 pensioners, 2 30 somethings and a four year old) The farm shops produce is fantastic...in fact we are having the last of our stock of chilli sausage for tea tonight! Yummy! We really felt at home here and appreciated the fact that the cottage was open and ready for us on arrival and that Penny and Roger left us to it. And the welcome pack was AMAZING!!! We feel lucky to have found such a wonderful holiday destination and hope to return, either to the cottage or to the B&B. ANd we're delighted to say that your wonderful dogs seem to have cured our daughter of her dog phobia, in fact she wanted to take Bean home with her!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

We certainly appreciate your comments and thank you, do come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
2.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Steps Farmhouse
Steps Farmhouse
#21 of 37 in Minehead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
0.0 mi away
Tudor Cottage
Tudor Cottage
#2 of 4 in Allerford
80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindon Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindon Organic Farm

Address: Hindon Farm Nr Selworthy | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 8SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Farm - Real Food - Relax.... Idyllic location on top award winning organic farm, luxury B&B 18th century farmhouse charm with 21st century style and comforts. Food Heros and Beautiful farm award winners. Choose Breakfast from - Homemade finest sausages,own bacon, fresh baked bread, eggs from our chickens, own muesli, fresh fruit & yogurt, also specials. Many farm animals, wonderful walks direct form the door to the coast path and moor, relax in our outdoor Hot Tub bubbles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hindon Organic Farm Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing