We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxing break!!”
Review of Kingsway Hotel

Kingsway Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing break!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

my husband,my son and myself stayed here for 1 night and had a wonderful warm and friendly greeting from Diane and Joe.The triple room we booked was immaculate,cosy and very well presented.Breakfast was superb,cooked to order and lovely and fresh.We love minehead and we now love the kingsway!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The owners Dianne and joe make you really feel welcome! nothing to much trouble ! we had a great five days excellent décor very clean, and comfortable good breakfasts fresh to order! close to all ameneties best guest we have stayed in for many years!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roythart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just stayed for the odd night whilst on business. I use tripadvisor religiously when I choose places and restaurants so my reasons for booking here are clear. This small hotel is excellent. The welcome from both the owners is the warmest I have ever encountered! The room, bathroom and hotel are immaculate throughout and the bed and linen were super. Eating a cooked breakfast as I write and this is the icing on the cake for me....lovingly cooked and presented, overall a great experience, will be back, hopefully for pleasure next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyrangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sitting in Australia trying to decide where to stay in Minehead was a would be problem that we overcame easily - we asked locals who we knew! So we booked into Kingsway for our ten day stay and were delighted with everything - our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The weather was cold the Kingsway was warm. The Kinsway is situated close to everything and is in a quiet locality. Our hosts were delightful, helpful and caring and the breakfasts were good!
We will be returning to Minehead in a couple of years time and will be booking into the Kingsway again. We don't often do reviews - only when we can say something nice and hence the reason for these comments. It's all good!

Chris and Gerry

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffordhshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This a really georgeous house, beautifully furnished spotlessly clean.
We arrived on a very sunny,freezing December day. Having walked around the sea front where the wind was enough to cut you in half. On arrival at Kingsway we were asked " would you like the heating on" We were amazed, it was December and so cold. If we had walked in off the street, then we could have understood it, but our room was booked and paid for a month in advanced, so there was little chance we would'nt arrive! No matter how beautiful a bedroom, and ours certainly was, being stone cold, and told it would soon warm up, is very unwelcoming.It did warm up, but when heating went off the room was too cold to sleep comfortably.
The hospitality tray in the room was very sparse, just 3 tea bags and 3 coffee sachets between two and No biscuits!
Breakfast was disappointing. No fresh fruit at all or yoghurt. Nowadays, we get fruit, even if its only tinned, in 2 star properties. Breakfast we had, was well cooked and presented, but again the dining room was very cold.
Would we return? No, Minehead is our second home, we visit twice a year, and have been too spoilt in other properties

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had a very comfortable stay at the kingsway hotel. The owners made me very welcome and happy to assist me with local information.Room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was fantastic and cooked fresh to order. I will definately stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

As a young woman travelling by myself it was a relief to see how safe this hotel was - the front door is locked and alarmed at all times, though you can also come and go as you please at any time which is great. My room was very pretty in a "country cottage" style. Very clean and homely with a nice firm mattress and a very hot shower.
If you like sleek, contemporary hotels then this place probably isn't for you, but I loved it here as it was very homely and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would defiinitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Room number 6 was particularly lovely, right at the top of the house with a corner view out from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#6 of 37 in Minehead
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel

Property: Kingsway Hotel
Address: 36 Ponsford Road, Minehead TA24 5DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing