We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pub shared with local people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Ship Aground

Old Ship Aground
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic Harbour side Pub Inn & Hotel. A landmark building with its history of hospitality going back over 100 years. Our atmospheric restaurant and pub food experience will be very much 'River Cottage' style with Seafood, Fresh Fish, Local Farm Produce, Seasonal ingredients, Carvery, Kids Menu Not forgetting Celiac gluten free, dairy free there is lots of choice. If we cannot grow it or raise it on our farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own baked breads you won't go hungry. Alfresco eating with beautiful scenic views. Great Beers & Wines. Cosy in winter with a real fire. Completely refurbished during the summer of 2013
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pub shared with local people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Popped in for lunch and drinks.
Spacious pub with cosy corners to enjoy a quiet drink.
Harbour view which was stunning at sunset.
Well done to the owners and staff as atmosphere and service were spot on.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We work hard to provide good service and its very rewarding when customers take the time to let us know so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    128
    35
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Along with friends I visited the Old Ship Aground. The welcome was very good, inside, albeit a tad dated, was clean and welcoming. Staff very friendly and helpful. The menu was very varied and with some interesting and unusual items: Rabbit Faggots! All of the other menu items showed a difference from the usual `pub food`. Each of us had a different course, I can safely say that the steak and kidney pudding was truly delicious served with carrots, cauliflower, red cabbage and new potatoes. other mains were fish pie and game hot pot, both dishes were cleaned by my friends and the remarks were "delicious and scrumptious". Well done to the Old Ship Aground. Will be back certainly. Oh the view over the harbour is very pleasing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brutontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and it will be great to welcome you back again. We have a number of changes to the decor on the agenda so hopefully some of these may have happened before your return so you can see that we are continually improving. We will be ensuring that the pub retains its historic charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in MInehead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The atmosphere was terrific, the staff friendly and helpful. The menu was varied and well cooked. You must try the home made profiteroles, they are to die for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianneCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you for such a great review and sharing it...we too keep eating the profiteroles! Hope to welcome you back again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“34th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

A very vibrant pub and although the pub was heaving (mostly with pirates very amusing)our meal arrived promptly hot and tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
The pirates surprised us as well! But thats the great thing about the harbour you never know whos going to land next! Thanks for choosing us for your anniversary meal and glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This jem of a pub on the harbour has a fantastic menu and the service is exceptional. We ate there two nights out of a three night stay in Minehead and we would not hesitate to recommend it. It was recommended to us by our B&B (Beverleigh) and they were spot on!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RON222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a great review of your visits to us. We agree the harbour location fantastic and so pleased that you enjoyed the meals and service you had with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ship Aground also viewed

 

Been to Old Ship Aground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing