We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former static van owners.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoburne Blue Anchor
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Former static van owners.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We owned a static van here but had to let it go,but if the opportunity arose we would certainly come back.The site is beautifully laid out&maintained by very helpful staff nothing was too much touble for them.It is a pleasant oasis,dont come here if you want club life as you will be disappointed.This was one of the reasons we bought here as we didn't want the club or money draining amusement arcade that some of the larger sites have.We tried local pubs The Smugglers&The Blue Anchor and The driftwood Cafe which were ok,but in the main we self catered.The countryside around here is lovely so if you want a relaxing holiday this is for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangymutt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the kind review of our Blue Anchor Holiday Park. We're glad you love the area (we do too!) and we hope that perhaps you'll be an owner again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    42
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
78
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had booked through the Sun promotion a 4 night stay in May of this year 2014 at the Hobourne Blue Anchor Bay park as a change from our usual holiday park which is Holiday Resort Unity in Brean Somerset for the sole reason Hobourne Blue Anchor Bay advertise very plainly that Pets Welcome at the bottom of their home page on their website ( SEE ATTACHED PHOTOGRAPH ) only to find when the conformation came through they have stated that pets / dogs are not allowed. I have emailed the site direct and got a reply from them saying that we can take our pet but they want a further £169.90 plus the £15 for our pet. This is nothing but a scam as other holiday parks that we have been on through the Sun promotion have welcomed our pet by the way we have a small Yorkshire Terrier not a Great Dane. Why do people book the Sun holidays ?? for one sole reason to have a reasonable priced holiday and not to be ripped off. I know full well that it states in clause 10 of the terms and conditions of the Sun Holiday promotion that the holiday parks do not accept dogs but those that do charge a small fee which we have always been more than eager to pay. So all I can say is those of you who take your pet with you who book a holiday through the Sun SYAY WELL CLEAR OF HOBOURNE HOLIDAY PARKS as we would have re booked Holiday Resort Unity if we knew we were going to be scammed in this way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sandra N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello,

We informed you via email that the Sun Holiday T&Cs clearly state that pets are not allowed on Sun Holidays. We are not in the business of 'scamming' customers. These are not our rules but the Suns: http://www.sunholidaysfaqs.co.uk/faqs/21/321

Article 10 states: Pets are NOT permitted for bookings at any of the parks in this offer. If your park and specific holiday home is able to accept pets this will be shown on your confirmation and payment for pets should be made direct to your holiday park.

The confirmation you received did not state that our Blue Anchor park allows pets, though we do allow pets through holidays that are not booked through the Sun promotion and that is why we advertise our park being pet friendly on our website.

We have contacted TripAdvisor to remove this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed at this site many times, and have had many good holidays here.
The site is ideal for families having a good playing area (away from the caravans), mini nature trail, pitch and putt a good safe (life guard) heated indoor swimming pool (not very deep, shallow a few cm to about 1.2m, enough to swim in).
The site is well laid out and tidy, and facilities are adequate/good, toilet blocks clean.
tarmac drives and some shingle hard standings.
Some parts of the site are prone to flooding 6-9 inches in persistant medium to heavy rain.
The sea is a stones through from the campsite (just cross the road running beside the campsite onto the wide pavement and sea wall, it is that close, at high tide sea fishermen cast out from the wide pavement). You cannot directly climb down the sea wall to the beach, the beach is reached about 200m walk from the campsite enterance.
There is the local steam railway that regularly passes across one end of the camp site during the day, the train station is about 250m from the camp site entrance (well worth a day out or more).
There are 2 pubs in the immediate area, we have only tried the closest for a meal which was good and reasonable.
The campsite is also a good base for sight seeing and day trips, recommend Dunster village and castle about 4 miles away, further a field Minehead (train), Porlock, Exmoor villages.

Room Tip: Some pitches prone to flooding in heavy rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopherpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Blue Anchor for a 4 night short half term break and we got what we expected . Good quality and clean caravan , didnt use pool as didnt get time as out during the day and it closed just after 6pm . Basically a field with lines of caravans but ideally situated for visiting Exmoor and the steam railway runs right past , no club which we didnt want as had enough of the likes of Bradley Bear and bingo in the past at other holiday parks , overall an enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked a weekend at Hoburne Blue Anchor through the Sun £9.50 holidays deal, in an attempt to have a family holiday during a time of severe financial strain. We'd never stayed in a static caravan before, and never booked a Sun holiday before, so we had very little idea of what to expect (and having read some horror stories our expectations were not particularly high). With that in mind - it totally, utterly exceeded any expectations we might have had!

We arrived late on a wet Friday evening and were immediately given keys and a welcome pack by the duty warden, who was very friendly and polite, and to our pleasant suprise we opened the door to find a spotlessly clean, spacious, well equipped and comfy caravan (we upgraded to a silver grade caravan, it was well worth it).

The children (5 and 2) ran around with glee while we made their beds (which were clean and comfy), and we eventually coaxed them to sleep. Sitting down to have a cup of tea (with the complimentary tea bags and whitener) before bed, we surveyed our home for the weekend. It was wonderful - better than some holiday cottages we've stayed in before - with enough living space for the children to play, enough cooking space and equipment to cook real meals, and enough hot water for luxurious showers.

The following morning we woke to discover that we could see the steam train line from our living room window (a source of regular excitement for the children), as well as plenty of evidence of resident bunnies in the grounds. The grass was well kept, the site was peaceful, and we had all slept well.

After a trip to Minehead beach, fish and chips for lunch, and a trip on the steam train, we returned to site to try out the indoor pool. Considering the pool is part of a holiday park we were again pleasantly suprised how clean it all was, but witnessing staff sluicing down the changing area and mopping the floors it became apparent that they worked hard to keep it that way. The pool was warm enough, with a very shallow area perfect for our 2 year old as well as a deeper area which was great for our 5 year old who has recently learnt to swim - he could touch the bottom in most of the pool so had enough confidence to really throw himself into his swimming... and throw himself into the pool, as did his little sister, repeatedly, with glee.

With a lovely walk around the grounds of Dunster castle nearby (with more views of the steam trains), collecting sweet chestnuts and playing in the woods, as well as more beachside walks and a trip to the lovely Driftwood Cafe down the road, we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in Somerset. We were extremely lucky with the weather (mild and only a few showers), but even luckier with our choice of caravan site.

Thank you to all the staff at Hoburne Blue Anchor, you made us feel welcome, provided us with wonderful clean facilities, and made our family weekend away one to remember (and hopefully repeat).

Room Tip: We upgraded to silver and the caravan was perfect for our needs, clean and spacious, and close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner & I stayed here last week. We weren't really on the site much but when we were it was lovely, Pool was nice we had it to ourselves most the time, probably the time of year. Fantastic location straight opposite the beach. Our caravan home was bronze as we had a dog friendly unit... wow! lovely & clean couldn't of asked for better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henny16h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we had a lovely break at blue anchor
we took our touring caravan the site is lovely and the shower block very clean.
look for the rabbits at night they are lovely.
would highly recommend this is our third visit this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
3.9 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#22 of 37 in Minehead
26 reviews
5.4 mi away
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
#1 of 2 in West Quantoxhead
79 reviews
3.6 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 37 in Minehead
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Blue Anchor

Property: Hoburne Blue Anchor
Address: Blue Anchor Bay, Minehead TA24 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Minehead
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Blue Anchor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of the perfect holiday is endless days in the fresh air, by the seaside or in peaceful countryside, then join our regular holidaymakers who return to Hoburne Blue Anchor year after year. They love the fantastic location, the comfort of our Platinum, Superior and Standard caravans, the friendly atmosphere and the excellent value for money. Hoburne Blue Anchor has a heated indoor swimming pool for splashing fun throughout the season, and while there is no entertainment complex we do offer children's activities in the pool as well as archery and ranger sessions; it's the perfect place to make your own fun! Touring caravans are welcome, and for simple, hassle-free camping, why not check out our camping pods in Somerset? These chic, individual timber buildings have a double futon, two camp beds, mini fridge and kettle. It's camping - but you don't need a tent! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoburne Blue Anchor Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing