We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent caravan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoburne Blue Anchor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had been looking for a reasonable weeks holiday at the end of the summer holidays when I found Hoburne holidays. We have stayed with Hoburne before somewhere else but had been impressed then so thought we'd give them a go again. Although quite cheap,£550 for a week, we were pleasantly surprised. Our caravan was exceptional very modern and had an en suit in our bedroom which we weren't expecting. It had lots of kitchen equipment and comfy movable chairs in the living area. Although no entertainment we didn't need it, we love walking so kept us entertained and the beach was only a stones throw. Our caravan was right next to the reception and shop and it didn't bother us at all, no noise. One thing we didn't know before we went was that you cant park by your caravan but the car parks are close by and plenty of them.

Room Tip: We had a silver (A) caravan which was lovely and reasonable. Very modern.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Hoburne Blue Anchor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose blue anchor for our family holiday this year for a couple of reasons, 1 we love the whole general area, 2 the location of the site (we all love the beach & trains so being able to see both from our van was just perfect.) All of the staff we encountered were very lovely, polite & helpful. The site is lovely & clean & also quiet which for us is perfect (even though we have children we don't like all the big fuss etc on larger holiday sites) the van we stayed in A32 was lovely & clean & also very cosy & comfy we all slept very well. We loved our holiday so much that we are already planning next years. We didn't use the pool but from what we saw it looked fab, the park was a huge hit with our children (8 years & also 19 months) the kids also loved seeing all the bunnys around the site. We found the beach to be perfect for us & when we wanted to do sandcastles we made sure we took buckets into Minehead. Great holiday site that has lots of lovely places to visit nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shellfullerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A lovely small, friendly site, perfect for families and steam train enthusiasts! The site is well maintained and has a lovely relaxed feel. My little boy LOVES watching the steam trains and it is only a 10 minute walk to the train station. The swimming pool is warm and perfect for children. The big 'mushroom' in the middle which pours out water is great fun. I agree with a previous reviewer that the showers could be improved but this is only a slight negative. The staff are friendly and welcoming. It is the perfect spot for exploring Exmoor, Dunster, Minehead, Lynton and Lynmouth. There's a fab fish and chip van that sometimes parks on the seafront which sells delicious fish and chips too! We love it here and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IloveUKholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The idea of a camping pod is very good how ever this pod was not well designed or comfortable. The sofa bed was not a sofa or a bed it was a thin plastic mattress that folded in half, one step up from sleeping on the floor. Camp beds were hard and felt like sleeping on a concrete slab. There are no storage areas apart from the fridge, nowhere to store clothes, food, cups etc. Be aware if you are with small children that the kettle is on a low shelf and there are steps in and out of pod. The beach is not ideal for children with dangerous rocks and areas of mud. Swimming pool on site was great for our grandchildren and they enjoyed the park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

1st ever touring holiday booked at the last minute and we all had a great time. Friendly and helpfull staff, clean and well maintained site. Toilet and shower block were clean at all times, would stay there again and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Willpw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Took a short break staying in the new Camping Pods. Can Highly recommend them if you enjoy camping but would like something with a bit more comfort. We usually go camping in a tent, but as we were taking our 5 year old niece with us we decided that the camping pods would be a better choice. The Pods are wooden huts with 2 electric sockets, a fridge and kettle. 2 small camping style beds and a small sofa bed. They are great shelter if it rains (which unfortunately it did on our first day) Having electricity meant that it was easy to charge phones and of course make a cup of coffee in the morning. They were nice and warm in the night and had good sound insulation. They are not situated in the best place being near the play area which did mean that there was a lot of noise from the children playing and our hut did get hit a few times by stray balls. The rest of the site was very peaceful.
The toilet block was Clean and functional, and not too far away.
The swimming pool was great (My Niece said it was the best pool in the world!). Clean and ideal for families. Great changing area with lockers. I especially liked the Jacuzzi style corner of the pool that meant that adults could sit and relax but still have full view of the whole pool to keep their eye on the children.
All staff were very friendly and always happy to help.
Lovely site and great value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank North76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely quiet site, well situated. We had a gold caravan which was very new and a good standard. Main bedroom had fitted wardrobes and an en-suite.

Two points though. The pool is pretty small, very shallow (about 3ft at the deep and) and really only for families with children. There are only 5 or 6 cubicles for changing and one shower. The site seems to have outgrown it. Blue Anchor Bay beach although very picturesque is only good for walks. I wish we'd done a bit more research as the beach is mostly mud flats and totally unsuitable for children (see the numerous warning signs). However, Minehead has a nice sandy beach and is a very short drive away. Although parking could be a problem at peak times.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orp1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review about your Hoburne Blue Anchor experience. Whilst the beach area adjacent to the park is unsuitable for swimming and beach activities, the beach a short drive away at Minehead is perfect. We do find however, that the area adjacent to the park is extremely popular with fishing enthusiasts.

We find that the swimming pool is primarily used by families and we haven't had any issues with changing facilities.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future for another Hoburne Holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
3.9 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
252 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
304 reviews
4.1 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#14 of 37 in Minehead
36 reviews
5.4 mi away
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
#1 of 2 in West Quantoxhead
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Butchers Arm
The Butchers Arm
#33 of 37 in Minehead
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Blue Anchor

Address: Blue Anchor Bay, Minehead TA24 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Minehead
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Blue Anchor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of the perfect holiday is endless days in the fresh air, by the seaside or in peaceful countryside, then join our regular holidaymakers who return to Hoburne Blue Anchor year after year. They love the fantastic location, the comfort of our Platinum, Superior and Standard caravans, the friendly atmosphere and the excellent value for money. Hoburne Blue Anchor has a heated indoor swimming pool for splashing fun throughout the season, and while there is no entertainment complex we do offer children's activities in the pool as well as archery and ranger sessions; it's the perfect place to make your own fun! Touring caravans are welcome, and for simple, hassle-free camping, why not check out our camping pods in Somerset? These chic, individual timber buildings have a double futon, two camp beds, mini fridge and kettle. It's camping - but you don't need a tent! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoburne Blue Anchor Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing