We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book if you want a child friendly beach.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoburne Blue Anchor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't book if you want a child friendly beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely quiet site, well situated. We had a gold caravan which was very new and a good standard. Main bedroom had fitted wardrobes and an en-suite.

Two points though. The pool is pretty small, very shallow (about 3ft at the deep and) and really only for families with children. There are only 5 or 6 cubicles for changing and one shower. The site seems to have outgrown it. Blue Anchor Bay beach although very picturesque is only good for walks. I wish we'd done a bit more research as the beach is mostly mud flats and totally unsuitable for children (see the numerous warning signs). However, Minehead has a nice sandy beach and is a very short drive away. Although parking could be a problem at peak times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orp1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review about your Hoburne Blue Anchor experience. Whilst the beach area adjacent to the park is unsuitable for swimming and beach activities, the beach a short drive away at Minehead is perfect. We do find however, that the area adjacent to the park is extremely popular with fishing enthusiasts.

We find that the swimming pool is primarily used by families and we haven't had any issues with changing facilities.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future for another Hoburne Holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Been here for a week now with the inlaws and the kids. It's a nice place. Quiet and tidy. The swimming pool is nice too. We've been in every day so far.
My only complaint is that outside of your caravan, there's only one place on site that you can get a cup of coffee.
The hot drinks machine was "out of order" when we arrived one week ago and it's still out of order now. It's a small thing, but it bugs me that no one has bothered to get it fixed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, General Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We're sorry that you could not get a hot drink in the reception area. The coffee machine is now working as of the time of this post. We also have coffee available in the shop adjacent to our customer information area. WI FI is also available in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sillyhilly77
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the new Log Pods as we wanted to try out camping without being too extreme. We did have a great time.

The positives: the pods are clean and the site is very family friendly. It is quiet and relaxing. There are lots of local activities and a lovely cafe close by. The swimming pool is fantastic for kids and there is a good shop selling all the essentials.

The negatives: the pods are tiny. There were 4 of us and it really is sleeping room only. We had family with a caravan where we went to eat and this was essential really. It was sunny so we could have say on the grass but we'd have been stuck when it rained. My only other disappointment was the shower block. It wasn't always that clean and the water was luke warm with very little power - barely a dribble on the last day. I think these could be spruced up.

Overall though, a lovely friendly and safe site for all ages.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sillyhilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for submitting a review about your Hoburne Blue Anchor experience. We're glad you enjoyed the Camping Pods. In regards to their size and function, the camping pods are designed primarily for sleeping only, much like how tents are designed for sleeping (but the camping pods provide the added benefits of being warm and cosy!).

We apologise for the issues you encountered when using the shower block, your comments have been highlighted to management who will resolve the issues.

Little niggles aside, we're glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay and had a great time. There was lots to do and everyone I went with enjoyed it to.
However, there was a women lifeguard who was completely out of order! At one point there was 8 people in the pool and she didn't allow us to play with our inflatable ball which we brought from your shop. We understand it could of been dangerous if there were lots of people but there wasn't. Following that she continued to shout at people for them just having fun, like I said before I understand she needs to make sure everyone is safe but speaking to people in the way she did and shouting at them, not even giving them a warning, it completely unnecessary. I never saw her smile and she made me and my family feel extremely uncomfortable. An 8 year old nephew in my family wouldn't go near the mushroom because he was scared she would shout at him, I don't understand how thats fair when he's meant to be enjoying his swim on his summer holiday. But other then that disappointing attitude from that one lifeguard I had a brilliant time and so did the rest of my family, thank you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for bringing the issues you raised in your review to the attention of management. We apologise wholeheartedly for the behaviour of one of our team, rest assured the issue has been dealt with and the member of staff has expressed their apologies for any distress caused on their part. Thank you again for submitting a review and bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again in the future for a better Hoburne experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This caravan park is situated right on the seafront it has static caravans and also caters to tourers. It has a shower block and toilet block on site although as I stayed in a static caravan I can't comment on how clean they were.

It is a very family friendly site although it does not have a club or bar it has a large children's play area and a swimming pool which is fairly shallow - when I went there was no lifeguard in attendance though. There is a lot of wildlife around the site and they have devised a nature trail which is a perfect activity for younger children.

It is a quiet site but the caravans by the seafront are not as quiet as there is a fair amount of traffic along the road by the coast and as the beach is popular for fishing there were fishermen there day and night whenever the tide was in. Caravans at the back of the site would be better for those who want peace and quiet.

The location of Blue Anchor is perfect for exploring the surrounding areas of Minehead and medieval villages such as Dunster and Watchet or further afield Exmoor and the Somerset coastline. You will need a car though as public transport seems to be limited to the West Somerset Railway which trains were infrequent.

There is a shop on the site which sells lots of essentials as well as beach toys and postcards. The staff on site were very helpful and friendly whenever I had occasion to speak to them.

I would recommend this site to families and those who want a peaceful holiday. It is not for those looking for wild nights out in bars etc but I had a great time there and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Virtualsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review of our Hoburne Blue Anchor Holiday Park. We're glad you had a great time with us! In regards to lifeguards, we pride ourselves at Hoburne for having a dedicated lifeguard team and we make sure that there is always someone in attendance, whether they are walking around the pool or monitoring from the lifeguard chair.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in June 2013.

We found the park to be ideal for what we wanted it for - a quiet base for us to sleep and relax at after a day of exploring our local area.

There are just the right amount of facilities on site - A shop for basic supplies including drinks, milk, and snacks etc, a free wifi hotspot for checking of e-mails and researching local attractions and points of interest, and a great location right next to the sea which provides lovely sunsets and photo opportunities when the locals are fishing off the roadway.

My only reservations about the facilities are that the electronic equipment (mainly the oven/grill) seem to be overdue their P.A.T. (Portable Appliance Test). The grill for instance took an age to heat up, and would only work if all of the hotplates were turned off - which didn't make for a very good bacon and egg sandwich. There is also no heating in the static van that we stayed in, except for an electric fire in the living area which meant that the mornings were a bit chilly. And finally, the local crow and rabbit population seem to be a little out of control. The rabbits aren't much of an issue, they're cute and don't make any noise at 5am - the crows on the other hand, provided quite an annoying alarm clock at sunrise, coupled with jumping onto the roofs of the static vans and stamping across them (seemingly always above the bedroom area), so needless to say, that, coupled with the lack of heating, made for less than perfect sleeps while we were there.

Apart from the above, which are really only minor issues, we found the park very well maintained, with no litter at all, the grounds are impeccably well groomed, and the staff are helpful and polite.

I heartily recommend this site - and if we remember to bring ear plugs with us next time, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We appreciate our customer feedback and we're glad you brought the areas mentioned to our attention. We apologise for the minor niggles you encountered on your holiday. The electrical equipment we can attend to, but unfortunately we lack the omnipotence to control nature (though we wish we did, we'd make it summer all year round!).

We'd love to have you visit us again and hopefully the local wildlife will let you sleep in peace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have stayed twice at this Park and both times the Caravan was in immaculate condition. The staff were most friendly and all facilities were excellent. A good sized pool,a fun crazy golf, a good play area for the kids and close to the on site shop, West Somerset Railway and Blue Anchor Beach.
Liked it so much we are now the proud owners of a caravan on the site!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisDT607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review and thanks for becoming one of our elite Hoburne owners! We're so pleased you enjoy Blue Anchor as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
3.9 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#22 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.0 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langbury
The Langbury
#1 of 1 in Blue Anchor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Blue Anchor

Property: Hoburne Blue Anchor
Address: Blue Anchor Bay, Minehead TA24 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Minehead
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Blue Anchor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of the perfect holiday is endless days in the fresh air, by the seaside or in peaceful countryside, then join our regular holidaymakers who return to Hoburne Blue Anchor year after year. They love the fantastic location, the comfort of our Platinum, Superior and Standard caravans, the friendly atmosphere and the excellent value for money. Hoburne Blue Anchor has a heated indoor swimming pool for splashing fun throughout the season, and while there is no entertainment complex we do offer children's activities in the pool as well as archery and ranger sessions; it's the perfect place to make your own fun! Touring caravans are welcome, and for simple, hassle-free camping, why not check out our camping pods in Somerset? These chic, individual timber buildings have a double futon, two camp beds, mini fridge and kettle. It's camping - but you don't need a tent! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoburne Blue Anchor Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing