We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inglenook fire”
Review of Kitnors Tea Room

Kitnors Tea Room
Ranked #3 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inglenook fire”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Cream tea in front of an inglenook fire is one way of beating the April chill! Strongly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank m0ggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, pleased that you enjoyed a warm by our fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    28
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Picturesque and quintessentially English tea room”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were strolling back from a hike and just happened to see this charming place. A fresh apple cake was coming out of the oven. The hosts were fabulous and answered all our questions - including a visit to the side shed to show my husband all about how thatching is done. We were delighted with our visit. I have to imagine how lovely the gardens are in warm weather.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCTraveler27312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and we enjoyed talking about the history and structure of the house. Hope you can return one sunny day and enjoy the garden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful setting, great hosts and gluten free cakes”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Worth finding this tea room. Garden is a picture, robins share any crumbs left on table, not many cakes too scrummy. Hosts are very welcoming and best gluten free chocolate cake ever!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, glad you enjoyed the chocolate cake! We are trying to train the Blackbirds too, as the Robins get quite fat in the summer. Hope to see you at Kitnors again very soon. Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Always good but now even better”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Kitnors food always was good and the service efficient but in the past somehow we always felt it slightly lacked a really warm, friendly atmosphere? The new(ish) owners, Cameron and Angie, have changed all that and now, as well as having great food on offer, there's a really friendly welcome too. The food is just as good, if not better, and Angie and Cameron are pleasant and chatty when they bring it to your table. Don't be afraid to ask for one piece of cake and two forks - there's no need to stand on ceremony here. The setting is lovely, the parking is easy and you're welcome whether you've been walking (dogs on leads are welcome, too) or are just visiting by car to see a beautiful village.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YottieWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We like people to feel at home here, relax and enjoy the house and garden. We love the line up of wellies, boots and wet clothes in the hall on wet days, people drying by the fire and feeling that they can! Hope to see you at Kitnors again soon, hopefully we are due a nice warm summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Everyone Welcome”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A lovely tea room and tea garden in an old thatched cottage you can sit under shelter even in wet weather and be surrounded by birds and flowers in a quiet secluded garden. And you are assured of a warm friendly welcome.
The coffee is excellent and plenty of it and the huge range of homemade cakes delicious & mouthwatering. Not for the calorie conscious but they are so light that despite the huge slices they can't hold many calories. A wide range of teas are available as well. Where possible things are locally sourced like the jam & ice cream both of which I can vouch for!
There is a range of food for people with dietry problems. A good range of lunches too.
Dogs are welcome in the garden, wheelchair accessible though to the tea room would need help. There is a large car park opposite and on the level with the tea garden.
It is open full time till half term and weekends until December. Then opening for weekends in March. Of course if the weather is good this could change. The walking locally is beautiful, some on the level by the river or to the sea or for the fit, up the hill for the beautiful views of the coast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Toopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your favourable and informative review. I would like to add that the cakes also contain a selection of your 5 a day, carrots, orange, lemon, cherries, dried fruit etc how can they possibly be bad for you?!!***!!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitnors Tea Room also viewed

 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Kitnors Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing