We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,328)
Filter reviews
4,375 results
Traveler rating
1,514
1,336
688
346
491
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,514
1,336
688
346
491
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver apartment premium dining red coats yacht club tots pizza hut skyline gang self catering food package food court dining package skyline pavilion swimming pool wave machine splash waterworld lazy river standard apartment
Filter
Updating list...
568 - 573 of 4,375 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2017

Just got back from what was a fantastic weekend, the bungalow was clean warm and quieter than the rooms we stayed in before. location of bungalow to complex was great not far to walk. swimming pool was really warm one day and freezing the next. The on site chip shop was not great and a very limited menu. And there range was full of food just sitting there. Ate at the diner which was ok all be it a bit pricey.

Now to the entertainment............. First night was amazing the music and clubs were great. The guy you had playing on the Saturday just before madness played well what can I say. he was rude to the crowd was off his head and drunk.turns out he was a stage hand. MADNESS were amazing.

duvets need bigger covers on and the beds we hard but a good weekend

We will be back next year....

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Thanks for the review and feedback Sue, I'll pass it on to the Entertainments and resort teams.

Good to hear you'll be back next year, look forward to seeing you.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

Second time to this event, first time was in the old chalets and the less said the better. We skipped a year as I couldn’t face them again, knowing they were building some new units. So we took the plunge and booked again for this year. I have to say I was frankly amazed at the quality of the rooms in the West Village, really well appointed, clean and modern. The staff were friendly and the take out food was OK, certainly better than before. The booze is still a rip off and for the cost of the room would get you a suite in the Dorchester - really, I’ve looked ! I think we’ll come back, maybe skip a year or two but don’t let the Butlins name bother you, it’s about how much you’re willing to spend, as always, but it really is quite a nice place to spend a couple of days.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Thanks Gary - we're really pleased you enjoyed your weekend in West Lakes Village.

Best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile


I attended shine weekend er and was impress from.staet to finish. The staff were utterly amazing. Friendly, funny, efficient on more than one occasion simone went out if their wsy to sort something for me. Great people. A true testament to the general manager. Be proud!! Inly one niggle ...The Sunday roast beef overcooked and dry. Totally grey and the guy serving did not give a damn. I was really looking forward to spuds and gravy. Apart from that. A wonderfully efficiently run operation.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank mckarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Hi there,

We’re always delighted to hear from our guests, particularly when they have clearly had a great time on their break with us. Hopefully we’ll see you again soon.

Thanks again,

Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Went with the family for a weekend break, check in was very painless and quickly moved to our room where we noticed a strong smell of paint, dumped our stuff and went for a wonder. whilst leaving the room we noticed that the front door had to be slammed to close it and and even then did not sit right within the frame with large gaps all around. We went for food in the Sun and the Moon mains arrived quite quickly but then waited for 3/4 for the desserts to arrive. We then set out to see what entertainment was available for the evening to find out the Reds was closed all weekend due to a Status Quo convention. So we were left with Center Stage where there was only 1 act on that evening plus a red coat playing a compilation cd. We found a table and got some drinks which when we got back to the table we noticed a strange taste and smell coming from both the larger's and the cider which i knew was from dirty beer lines as i have been in the trade for over thirty years finding the only decent pint was Guiness. After a rather disappointing evening we returned to our room where we found out that all the beds now have a waterproof protection on the leading to a very uncomfortable nights sleep. Rose early the next morning to go for a walk along the front trying not to wake the rest of the household by slamming the front door. After we returned we all set off for breakfast at the Sun and the Moon 2 of use having cooked breakfast 1 having beans on toast 1 having a bacon sandwich and the other just a croissant was told at the time of ordering that the last 2 would come from the kitchen and we should que at the buffet area for ours which we did after placing our teas and coffees at the table. we queued for 35 minutes with only 7 people in front of us as they ran out of every item that came with the breakfast when it did come out the food was handled by gloveless hands and no tongs, after the 35 mins we returned to our table to find the food from the kitchen had been delivered and been eaten and all of our hot drinks were now cold. We then returned back to our room to prepare for the day, my some in getting ready stood on a midget gem and injured his foot and whilst moving the bed he found a condom under it.
Saturday evening we returned to Center Stage as Reds was still off limits to us where again only one act for the evening but a different compilation cd was being played by the red coat. We then found out that Jumping Jaks the late night venue was also closed and we had to go to the pub on the pond if we wanted a later drink with Center Stage Closing and kicking out dead on 11 o'clock, so we decided to call it a night stopping of for pizza on the way home which was very nice.
Again got up early Sunday morning for a walk along the front and arranged to meet the rest at cafe soho for breakfast as did not fancy a repeat of the previous days performance at the Sun and Moon. once again ordered our hot drinks and placed our order of several bacon sandwiches, was told at the time that there was a wait for food and should stand over there. Which we did 40 minutes later our food was ready the bacon sandwiches were very good not sure they were worth the wait but good nonetheless but by now being an expert at drinking cold hot drinks this wasn't a problem.
We then spent the rest of the morning at the funfair and headed off home as we all had work the next day and both my sons had to be back at the bases.
I dont like to right a negative review as this as we have been to butlins loads of times before an had a wonderful time. I did do the courteous thing and e-mail Butlins first to the only response was basically it was my fault that i didn't report it them, the beer was fine all staff are trained and know how to clean the equipment, The food issues they wouldn't mention and as for the entertainment they quoted that they have the right to cancel anything when it is outside of there control, which i agree with but i did raise that the Status Quo weekend couldn't of been a surprise to them with over 15 bands booked to play in reds over the weekend. Not asking for much Butlins just the Information to make an informed choice of which weekend to book if you know certain venues are off limits to guests please put it on the web site so you don't arrive expecting it all to be available to you.

Room Tip: check your room straight away if any problems report to customer service.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Hi Jon

Thanks for the review, and we appreciate you being honest. The only way we can make sure we continue to meet the high standards we set for ourselves is by guests telling us when we fall short.

I'll take a copy of your review and send it to the team on the resort, so that we can be certain they are aware of what you experienced and the responses you received.

I hope it hasn't deterred you from coming back to stay with us again - hopefully we'll see you soon.

Best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

This was our second time coming to Minehead for Shiiine On, it was just as amazing the second time.

Last year we arrived for check in at around 3pm and it was incredibly busy, almost an hour to queue up and they only let the lead booker into the lobby and the security were tough on this rule and actually asking other members of your party to leave the lobby area (to be fair it really was busy).

This time round we decided to get there early and figured we could at least check in early and leave our stuff in the car until our room was ready - the entertainment started at 1pm anyway. We arrived a little earlier than expected at 12pm and queued to check in for less than 10 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised to be told our room was ready (Silver room - paperwork says can't get into room until 4pm).

Silver room is bog standard. There is a bedroom with a tv, kettle, 2 mugs, 2 glasses and 2 sachets of coffee and 2 tea bags and spoons. And then there's a bathroom with a toilet, sink and shower cubicle. There is a towel for your feet and 2 rolls of toilet paper. My tip is (if you don't wish to pay extra for towels) bring a towel to dry your hands and hand soap (and of course bring your own towels and shampoos etc and hairdryer).

There is no fridge in the room so I'd recommend bringing food that doesn't need to be refrigerated - we did bring a cool box to chill our drinks but we were there for 3 days and the ice didn't last and the Spa shop on site ran out of ice.

The bed is quite comfortable (not the best but not the worst either) and the duvet is on the small side. There is heating in the room and it really does the job.

In terms of the entertainment it was brilliant (though it's your personal taste what you enjoy) but the view of the stage is great from wherever you are, even at the back. The sound is great too. There is about a half an hour between bands and it was quite easy (if you could be bothered to wait) to get at the front.

We have stayed in Silver rooms both years and both times we were about a 10 second walk from the arena, which was good because it was so cold outside but really hot in the arena so no need to carry a coat around. I am not sure if all Silver rooms are that close or whether we were lucky.

The arcades were still on so you can play on those and the sports bar (Hotshots) has pool tables etc and played any sport that was on at your request (it has loads of tvs and has Sky Sports and BT Sport). At night there is a lot of food stands including hotdog, pizza and pancake.

The only downside is the walls are quite thin so you can hear people chat next door but you're there for a party weekend so a little noise doesn't matter!

We're definitely going again next year!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bandy_Worldabili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thanks for leaving your review, and for going into so much detail. It's great to know you enjoyed the weekend and that you're coming back next year. See you then!

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews