We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, pity about the service”
Review of Butlin's Minehead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Firstly had to go and re-request the cot bed we had requested when booking. What we got was a rickety cotbed with an ill fitting base as the mattress - just as well the little one was tired out from the days adventures. General cleanliness of the resort was poor - would hate to see/smell it at peak season!!! With the exception to the firehouse restaurant, the service in the other bars and restaurants was rubbish.
The activities for kids where great and the evening entertainment was good, but the general service and overflowing bins and smell of stale pee (mainly @ centre stage) would put me off going back

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi Louise C

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review: it really helps us to know what our guests think.

We're pleased you enjoyed the activities and entertainment, but naturally we are disappointed to read the other elements of your review. We will share these with the resort as it seems we fell below the standards we set ourselves.

We hope you'll come back so that we can delight you.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,133 - 2,139 of 3,692 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 9th-13th June, had a fantastic time with my fiancé and 3 year old. Gold apartment was lovely, everything we needed. Bathroom and kitchen spotless, beds made every day. Site is very clean and tidy and nicely landscaped. Daughter loved both the little stars fairground and the big outdoor fairground, all free and hardly a queue. Shows were great - the character shows, Billy Bear bedtime stories, Puppet Shows and tots disco (all in Skyline Pavilion) were just right for a three year old. We never went into Centre Stage as the stuff in the skyline was geared for the little ones so we saw things in there. Pool was brilliant, daughter loved lazy river. We opted for the cheaper dining option and the Quayside restaurant looked newly refurbished and there was a great choice of food, all of it tasty. Staff were great, from the welcoming chap at the front gate on the Monday to the lady in Gold reception who took the time to ring and see if the fair was open for us on our last morning when we were checking out. There's so much to do, we'll definitely be back (my daughter cried leaving so we've promised her a return trip!).
Tip: You're allowed on site from midday so take advantage of that! We drove straight in at 12, no queues, parked, picked up keys and were in the fairground by 12.15 :-)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Nellb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi Nellb77

We are so pleased to read you had a fantastic time at our Minehead resort.

There are so many kind comments that the resort team will love reading.

We hope we can welcome all of you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I took this adventure with my Granddaughter as a treat before 'big school' We got to check in to see Mike the Knight. She was awestruck and this continued until we left! She met her hero Scooby Doo and had her picture with him. There was something for her to do throughout. The entertainment during the day was excellent although by the end of the week the evening was for the over 5's.
The redcoats were always friendly with a ready smile to answer any question you may have. The rides were brilliant, something for everyone. We did miss a penny press though. The restaurants were plentiful and not too badly priced depending on what you like. The pasta pots were ample for us.

The site is very clean and tidy. Our Silver room was comfortable. Plenty of hanging space with hangers provided. It was clean and tidy. We didn't see any of the famous ants! There was a Kettle with mugs and glasses. We got cereal and kept the milk in the sink. Happy toddler!

The beach is just across the road and the town around the corner. Wetherspoons is at the top if you fancy the walk.

On the whole we had a brilliant stay, everything was finished for the under 5's quite early so in bed by 8.30/9 pm.

Excellent, keep up the good work Butlins

Room Tip: Plan what you want to see each day and work around it. The pool was great for older kids, better in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marg-Westcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi marg-Westcott

Thank you for leaving such a kind review - the team at our Minehead resort will be delighted to read your comments.

We'll definitely keep up the good work, and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have just returned from the 90's reloaded weekend and enjoyed every minute of it. We stayed in a two bedroomed gold apartment and I would highly recommend them. It had everything we needed, spacious, clean and we even had a balcony to be nosy at all the goings on. The entertainment was fab and the bars not too pricey, my only criticism is that they could do with better air conditioning in the Centre Stage & Jumping Jacks bars. It got very hot especially with the recent nice weather we have had. Lots of nice places to eat there and the Spar shop has everything you need. We all loved the security guards as they were so friendly and helpful even when we were staggering home at 6am. Cant understand the people that moan about the noise and antics that go on. It's an adults only weekend and if you look into it before you go you would realise its not a place to go to experience a relaxing holiday. If you like partying, drinking and generally acting irresponsible for a change then you will love it here. But, if you want to be in bed by 10pm and expect to sleep all the way through, not see any naughty things and be t-total then forget it > Saga holidays may be a better option. We have booked up to go again in December and have got some more Butlins virgins to come with us. We cant bloody wait!!! :) x x x

Room Tip: I have only down graded the sleep quality because we were out all night but slept well during the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi euroseal

We are delighted to read you had such a good time on your Live Music Weekend at our Minehead resort.

The resort safety team will love to read your comments: they try hard to be helpful and cheerful at all hours of the day!

So pleased to read you will be back in December: we hope your first-timers enjoy it as much as you.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a lovely family break. Plenty of things for the kids to do that dont cost anything. Cleanliness in chalet was below reasonable standards so that was disapointing, but the park, its staff and the facilities have been brill. Location is fab right by the beach. Minehead centre a short walk if you dont want to pay the expensive shop/pub prices on site.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buglybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi buglybean

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased to hear you and your family had a lovely time with us in Minehead.

We will, of course, pass your comments regarding your accommodation to the resort team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Loved every minute of it fantastic shows and entertainment only problem was the very very basic utensils in the kitchen we had to use a knife to open cans as the can opener was broken and only had the handle to the pealer and had to use a knife to somehow grate cheese beds are uncomfortable but other than that was good

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi Kristina P

Thank you for leaving a review - we think our shows are fantastic too but it's even better when a guest tells us!

We'll let resort know about the utensil situation you encountered.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at butlins to watch the cash converters players championship
It was a brilliant weekend, we booked silver with food at the standard food court, the food was plenty full and really good,
As we booked a silver room it was basic but adequate, and because we booked silver our tickets for the darts were in the stands around the side of the arena, which meant we were a fair way from the stage but with the big screens we saw all the action
The bar angels at the venue were excellent and kept us in beer for the weekend, one drawback was the toilets which really had a hammering over the weekend, they could do with more for a venue of this size also the carpets in the bars were quite bad found myself sticking to the floors a lot
Overall it was a good weekend with lots of entertainment and we are going again this year

Room Tip: When we booked for this year we booked a gold room This gives you a food upgrade to the slightly po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Robo_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi Phil_Robo_1960

We're glad to hear you had a good time at the Players Championship darts at our Minehead resort.

Of course, we'll pass your comments regarding the toilets and carpet to the team on resort.

Hope we see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
652 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#6 of 21 in Minehead
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: $79 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort
Butlin's Minehead Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing