We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasent surprise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butlins Minehead Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pleasent surprise”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

First time I have been to a Butlins, and i was surprised just how much goes on at this resort.
Good size accommodation, clean and tidy. Food hot and variety for all. There is a lot do do and see, and the whole unit is geared for a family friendly holiday. Sadly the weather was against us, so walking on the beach was out. Two thirds of all entertainment is under cover, so although the weather was unkind to us Butlins, their entertainment etc was not.
I went with my daughter son in law and their little family, and I know by all the chit chat that went on in the car on the way home they all enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    1,068
    533
    251
    373
See reviews for
2,032
362
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I know things look different when you're a kid but this place has really gone down hill. Only there for a day visit, fortunately. Years ago you would pay an entrance fee and just use everything, now its entrance fee PLUS pay for use of many items. Expensive food and drink so take you own sarnies. Don't want to be snobbish but the whole place seemed to be frequented by folks from the lower end of the social scale. No won't be going there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minehead hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went for my grandsons first birthday but there was nothing for baby's to do it was all for toddlers and older the red costs were useless

The food was an insult fish and chips over £8 each and it was just a cold cremated mess and again nothing for youngsters to eat as you couldn't buy one of anything it had to be two
We went to Pizza Hut in resort and was turned away because we had a baby and they only had a couple of baby chairs
Burger King looked clean and the food looked good however a family of five would spend about £45 just to each lunch there

The silver chalet was very nice however I'm disabled and they put me in the furthest chalet away from the car park I was unable to park outside because a giant circus tent had been erected in the car park ( very short sighted of the resort to put it there as many people were disabled in this section of chalets

The fairground which I can't use myself but my daughter and son in law would have liked to was sadly only half working and the only ride my grandson could have gone on with his mum or dad was the carousel and that was of course closed all week

The staff were not very knowledgeable with concerns and I almost felt as if I were an inconvenience to them

The night time acts that we saw were as cheesy as a mouses dream but hey it Butlins

With a one year old we were looking forward to many happy smiles from seeing the famous Billy Bear and co walking about the resort just like the adverts but again fat chance we could queue up for a few hours to get a photo but as for them wandering around as they do in the adverts well what rubbish we know there names as the over priced gift shop sells the toys but seeing the actual character wandering about forget it

Minehead itself is fine if you have one foot in the grave its full of cream tea shops but not a cockle or winkle insight no fish food outlets or any seaside amusements

Next time it's off to Haven

R.I.P Butlins you died of old age long ago

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary25566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great clean and spacious apartment. Opted for the silver apartment and would definitely do that again. If was clean and well equipped with comfy beds etc. the park itself was spotless. NO litter anywhere etc. the staff were friendly both in the clubs and on the doors and in shops and restaurants etc. the 90s line ups and music were amazing! Would book it again tomorrow! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottanthonystorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Do not go there it dirty rundown and dated you get what you pay for.if i could givezero i would. Very grubby room only option not good very noisy the walls were that thin could here everhthing from neighbours and i mean everything screaming drunken behaviour. Dknt waste your money going tk this dump.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a total load of rubbish, the room was dirty, smelt,damp, bedding was stained slept in.
My husband had some rascailsim at him (and that was from a member of staff).I asked another member of staff were and who do i complain to over this, his words was " if i was you i would wait till you get home and send an email, has nothing will be done ."
The food was like pig food, it was slops, and tasted like it.I have never in my life seen any thing like this before,( i am not a snob, encase you might think i am).
There was rowdy people outside our room, peeing against our wall, drunk men, being sick out side our room.We left a day early, Will never ever go back to that s*** HOLE AGAIN.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everyonewhisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

went to my first adult weekend. IT WAS FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!! Chalet really clean smelt of cleaning products.Only had accommodation took our own food. Everyone happy and friendly will be going again FOR SURE. Only fault was drinks very expensive. Swimming pool great.Entertainment was fantastic. Most people in fancy dress. Had a really good laugh. Cant wait to go again.BEV FROM PLYMOUTH

Room Tip: Was on top floor so no noise above .Dont forget your towels. spare one for swimming.Have a few drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#22 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 20 in Minehead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Minehead Resort

Property: Butlins Minehead Resort
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing