We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great time but a few niggles”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butlins Minehead Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Grabs, Switzerland
Level Contributor
355 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Overall a great time but a few niggles”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My last trip to a Butlins was Bognor, 19 years ago and boy have things changed. My wife and I took our 8 year old here for a three day break between Christmas and New Year. We took standard accomodation and thats what it was, very basic but Ok for just 3 nights. The heating was out of action for two of them but we got extra duvets on the first night and an electric heater on the second. We also got a letter of apology and and 20 pounds in vouchers. We were happy with that, nice one Butlins.
We paid for upgraded food and ate in the Yacht Club and I have to say the food was excellent. Plenty of choice, good quality and expertly prepared and presented.
Entertainment was varied and realy good, we saw a panto and a show. The sports were good too, we had a crack at the archery and all enjoyed it.
Groans - There are a lot of Eastern Europeans working here and not all of them are happy in their work. Whilst we had a delightfull girl bussing tables in the Yacht Club the guy with the ginger hair on the bungee jump trampoline could sour cream at 20 paces. The bar staff were quite surly, one kept calling me 'Pal' and I had to reprimand him. To his credit he did apologise. Also you are refered to as 'Guys' quite often even if one of you is a lady. I dont like that either.
Of course one expects to be targeted for the extraction of money but even i was shocked at the dazzling ammount of opportunities to part with your cash. Machines are everywhere, extras are expensive and those opportunities to have your photo taken and then pay a fortune for the resultant snap abound.
Overall a good experience. we will try Bognor again next but upgrade accomodation and food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buellrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    1,071
    535
    251
    373
See reviews for
2,036
362
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to stay at butlins for the October half term 2012, we have been before and thought the gold accommodation would be a treat as it cost us over fifteen hundred pounds for the four of us and took all year to save for it. It was no treat believe me, the beds were so uncomfortable that we ended being up all night (with two children aged 6 and 4) and sleeping through the day, when i thought about turning over the mattress to see if that improved it at all, I was horrified to see the state of the so called gold mattress, stained and worn is an understatement. The entertainment was a real let down, especially for half term week, food was great I must admit, but there were lots of people on site with a tummy bug, luckily we avoided that. The highlight was seeing princess Anne walk throu as she was on a visit one day. We left a day early and even missed the fireworks. We were so tired we just could not stick another night in the bed. Mr butlins would be disappointed with the standards now and it certainly isn't a weeks holiday for a weeks pay anymore. It's a shame as the kids were really looking forward to it. Nevermind we are off to Deer Park in Cornwall soon, nothing can be as bad as butlins, can it??

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minehead hotels

Cardiff United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked 2 chalets, a family of 8. Have been to Minehead for several years now, especially this break. How disappointed were we this year! Paid alot of money, saved all year to take our 5 children. We were so excited. On arrival we were given our accomodation packs and were able to go to chalets. It was 3.30 and premier guests acc were ready from 3. 1 chalet was clean, the other had dirty mugs, toilet, floor, etc. Had not been cleaned. Accomodation services appologised and sent someone to clean, someone who had a go at us saying it shouldnt be ready until 4. Which was wrong as we were premier guests. Aloyt of foreign unpleasant staff around.
When we tried to get into centre stage we were not allowed as we did not have green paper bands on our wrists which were inour accomodation pack. My hubby was told they were for the kids, not that we had to wear them to get in to places. Security were rude, would not accept challet key card and downright horrible. A woman guard even pushed my elderly Mother (who had my 2 year old in a pushchair with her) out of the Centre stage entrance because she did not have her green paper band. So we complained to the information point who were useless and then to the main reception. They said sorry but insisted it was a green band break and we had to wear them, which was news to us!
The following day someone left a note saying to ring them and when we did, it was just to check we were ok now. Yes we were but that is only because we got on with our holiday for the sake of our children. In alt the years we have gone to Butlins we have never experienced such miserable moany unpleasant staff.
Accomodation was run down from last year. Both chalets had dents everywhere and soiled/stained bedding. Windows very thin and we could hear everyone coming home from pubs shouting around 12 and then clubs at 3ish.
Butlins used to be full of things that were free when I was little. Loved the fact they had a bit of the monorail on display, shame there is nothing free like that now. Theres money machines everywhere, plenty of activities but they all cost so much money. The fair is fab for kids and the pool, although there was a bit for the little ones all shut off. Only a little slide for them, years ago there was a big water splash slide area for them. Pool is run down now.
The entertainment was ok, although very similar shows to last year and year before on this break.
Dont know whats happened but everything just seemed all run down this year. Even the food court wasnt very good. Couldnt get premium dining as it was full. There was hardly any salad, meals were bland and very watery. A huge difference to previous years.
There has been new additions and money spent on Minehead, but its all been on things like restaraunts, all things that cost money. Bring back the old Butlins when I say. Free cable cars, mono rail, table tennis, snooker tables, etc. Its like you pay loads for your holiday, then you still have to pay loads when you get there, especially with the extortionate prices of everything.
Will go again, because the kids love it so much. But will think twice about booking silver and food court again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alandrich28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

2011 news year at minehead butlins 4 adults staying in gold apartment and enterainment all i can say is wow,great.excellent could not fault it.

So we decided to go again for new year 2012 and take more family with us looking forward to it all year .
Staff and booking in excellent. rooms excellent warm

went to quayside resturant for meals.great choice with food selection
but food not hot .one night i think new years eve night resturant were closing at say 6.30pm i had the last serving of pork and a lady came from another resturant asking for some pork which they did'nt have. we noticed the food was being taken away at 6.00pm so anyone arriving after that would be able to have dinner.

Last year coke was free fom machines with water etc.no coke this year unless you paid for it.
New years eve on the way out we all had a bottle of fizzy wine not this year.

30th december joined a long line of people queued for i hour to get into reds for Tom Jones tribute must say he was excellent every one singin dancin. longtime in between acts.

New years eve went to dinner at 4.00pm
notice a long queue for centre stage a lady told us she been queuing there since 3 o'clock doors would not open untill 5.30pm .
when we had dinner returned to rooms as queue even longer to centre stage and reds
we had drinks and left rooms at 9.00pm went to centre stage no seats untill some left at 11.00 which we grabbed .air conditioning came on by us in blasts we all came back with colds and score thoats for that. and a 2 year old girl had gone missing( what a shambles) Saw new year in went back to room. we paid nearly £900.00 for 6 adults two gold apartments

refund needed
not going in 2013 no way

Room Tip: gold room by car park plantion 201 and 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

On the whole, I loved butlins for the entertainment which the children LOVED and I can not fault. Room was basic but nothing less than I expected, perfectly passable. The problems started when we ate breakfast on our first morning in the food court. We were first in there and the sausages were a bit pink so we left them, but my six yr old had already eaten one. Later that day he became violently ill, and I have never seen anything like it. It was so bad we had to put a nappy on him. We called guest services to see if we could get a doc out and we were told to stay in our rooms. We didn't (my son needed fluids to stay hydrated) so hubby snuck out to the shop. A man came in the middle of the night and 'inspected' my son and tried to persuade us he had a stomach bug even though we knew it was food poisoning. They brought us clean sheets for his bed but left us with the stinking dirty sheets, and told us under no circumstances were we to leave and that they would check on us in the morning and that If he hasn't been sick again we could stay. With a one yr old as well there was no way we could stay locked up in the chalet for the next two days so the next day we said he was fine and were allowed to stay. It angers me that we nearly got thrown out, we're given very little help when we were in such a mess, and that they tried to gloss over the fact they had given him food poisoning. Basically if we pressed the point about how ill he was we would have been kicked out so i feel like we were backed into a corner to keep it quiet. There were other people who had been taken ill at the same time and it seems from the reviews this is not a one off, how they haven't been shut down by EHO I don't know.

I loved the park and would go back but self catering - never eating in the food court again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carlafranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our arrival on site started well. We were a party of 4 adults. Here for a new years break. The check in staff were very helpful and friendly. However the car park was heavily potholed and in pitch darkness. There were no staff around(16;30) to offer any assistance. A child had wandered of in the dark and his family were becoming distraught until we spotted him- in the headlights of an approaching car- I reported the car park lighting issue to a member of staff that we stumbled across, who told us that the lights were not her responsibility!
We had an upgrade to silver which was a nice surprise. standard quite good. Entertainment was good for adults. Bar prices were high so most adults had a drink prior to entering any venues. I never understand the pricing policies as if they were only drop a little, more people would make purchases! We had a great time but I would hesitate to take kids there. Butlins no longer offers the one price covers all that Billy Butlin was so proud of. You even have to pay for crazy golf. Have a look through the guide, *extra charges apply, is the most used phrase. Overall good for adults, don't take the kids unless you have a very healthy bank account1

Room Tip: Upper apartments have less noise. The silver standard is quite acceptable but not necessarily worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianG619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

where do i start disscusting value for money me and my partner and baby stayed here and couldnt sleep one bit the noise was terrible! trolleys going past all night long people shouting walls as this as paper, fire doors without closers on, ant powder on floor! with our baby trying to eat it!
the whole place felt run down staff were very rude.
we lost about £600 pounds of our very hard earned cash wich could of gone on our baby! single glazed windows running with condensation.
we could even hear the convasation of our two neighbours clear as if we were in there rooms.all equipment run down and old

Room Tip: none all rooms bad dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#21 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 20 in Minehead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Minehead Resort

Property: Butlins Minehead Resort
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing