We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium dining really worth it.....”
Review of Butlin's Minehead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Having been before we kind of knew what to expect. We've never been disppointed by our Butlin's stays in the past and in fact consider this just a glitch (hopefully).

Butlins accommodation can be a bit 'dated' - it may have a lick of paint but you may still have dings in the wall, scuff marks etc. so don't be too disappointed. The 'posh' (gold/deluxe) are a huge jump from the others!

We've only ever used standard and silver (there is not much difference between the two, but as a large family we have to go silver as don't fit in one unit) as it isn't like you're there to sit in your bungalow/apartment/room.

As ever the Redcoats, entertainment, activities etc are fab.

Unfortunately on this visit we arrived to filthy accommodation (that was reported, but became a bit of a convaluted nightmare - don't worry, letter drafted and due to be posted!) and spent 3 days in a row in and out of guest services. On arrival :
1)There was food under our TV
2) Toys and food wrappers under 'the sofa
3) Dirty crockery and glasses (not enough for 7 people either - nor even chairs!!)
4) Drinks lids, sweets and sweet wrappers under the beds
5) Cobwebs everywhere
6) Dirty shower 'walls' and soap still in shower 'dish'
7) Dirty windows
8) I could go on, but feel you've got the idea!

Another example is that they don't "make" the bunk beds - just leave a folded sheet on them, which meant I had to make beds. Housekeeping said this is normal.

So all in all...usually a great break.

The dining option as a premium is excellent - the only downside is the timing. eg 830-10am brekkie meant trying to be at the leisure hub to sign up for sports activities - I'd have to leave the dining room to queue.

Food 4-7pm is a bit of a nightmare as there are still lots of ongoing activities and sometimes wanting to watch later shows but still having to eat early is a bit of a pain.

However if you're after a family break that's fun filled, book cheaper accommodation (don't know if you can do premium dining in standard s/c apartments).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank not2_4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,463 - 3,469 of 3,726 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

I have never been on a holiday like this before. I always thought holidays like this were very poor from what I have read. How wrong I was. I went with my wife, daughter, son in law and their 2 year old boy. I am 65, wife late 50's, daughter and son in law late 20's - so we were a mixed bunch as far as ages go.
The price for all of us was very reasonable considering all entertainment was included.
We had a great time. We rented a bungalow which was comfortable and provided all the basics. Whilst we ate out most days there was no need to. There is a lage Tesco and Morrisons 10 min walk away.
The camp was well laid out kept really clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The restaurants within the camp provided great food at good prices. The cornish pasties were the best we have ever had - I would love to know who makes them, so I can look out for them elsewhere, or even buy them on line.
There was lots to do in both good and bad weather and the evening entertainment was excellent all within the price so did not cost us anything once there..
Any thing we did have to pay for was reasonable and no dearer than what you would normally pay including drinks - soft / alcoholic. All the bars sold REAL ALE and that was great as I do not drink anything else in the alcoholic department.
We were all so pleased with the experience that we booked a week next year whilst we were there and got a very good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Porter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just got back from 1 week at this resort. I will break down each section to make it easier to follow.

Check in.
Very good excellent service, due to us staying in Silver accommodation we were told that the key card wouldn't activate until 1600. This gave us enough to familiarise ourselves with the layout of everything in the resort.

Accommodation.
As I said we stayed in the silver chalet it was pleasant enough I would not have wanted to have gone standard as the silver was basic enough. The tv had really bad reception so didn't bother with it.

Dining.
We stayed half board and was allocated ocean drive. The breakfast was excellent the serving staff mostly eastern Europeans were excellent and helpful. The dinner was just ok I say this bacause one of the nights I had roast beef, but unfortunately it didn't taste of anything very bland and can only imagine that it was a very cheap cut of beef. The good thing was that there was such a selection of other foods that I simply went up and got something different.

Extra activities.
This is where the holiday can cost a small fortune if you decide to do them that is. Go karts and bumper boats were £5 a kart/boat the adventure golf was £2.50 an adult and £2 a child. To hire a family bike for four was £7.50 per half hour. To do all the hanging activities the extreme package was £20 although you could do other activities for set prices ie; freefall where you climb the post an throw yourself off for £6. Also there is the driving school for little ones which was £1 a time we spent a lot of money here as our boy wanted to keep going on them. As I said these are optional and dependant on how much willpower you have to not do them.

Entertainment.
Second to none this is really where Butlins delivers state of the art stages and sets and sound studio equipment. I saw the best panto adaptation of Aladdin at centre stage. There were also acts from britains got talent which was very good.

For kids.
We have a seven year old boy and there was plenty to do for him and they were included in the holiday price(shock horror). These included the funfair which was ok if dated there was the soft play area in the pavilion and the play areas outside.

Splashwater world.
Excellent the slides are brilliant the lazy river is excellent and the wave machine. Lots of lifeguards on show with annoying whistles and when we were there very quick to act to anyone struggling in deep water. My only gripe is the changing rooms afterwards were to hot found ourselves coming out all sweaty.

Overall impressions.
We booked because I used to come to Butlins as a kid and I have fond memories plus this year is the 75th anniversary, you wouldn't have guessed that though unless you went into the gift shop or went to the anniversary show. The redcoats in modern Butlins looked bored most of the time they seem to have taken a back step to accommodate the entertainments team I certainly don't think this is what Billy wanted when he was alive. I would just warn people to take lots of extra spending money as you will need it for all the additional extras should you choose to do them. Minehead town is worth venturing out to if even just foe a break from the mayhem of the resort. Also minehead has a very special early morning wake up call which is is out of Butlins control and that is the seagulls. Kids will love it but adults will feel exhausted by the time to go home.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank London09Watford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We came back from our brilliant holiday yesterday! We really enjoyed our overall stay! When we went into our apartment we found it very average, it was clean but not deap cleaned!! The duvet covers did not fit on the duvets properly. It was a silver apartment, we went half board and the day we arrived I asked if we would be having cleaner, she said yes but we didn't have one. Went to office they said we were not down for one but we had no toilet roll, I found the lady very reasonable as she said if you want a cleaner you can have one and so we did!!! That's all for the apartment! Onto the splash waterworld, overall it was great, clean etc. We did find that there were no slides that my son could go on, he is nearly 3 and was just slightly under the line so it would of been much better if there were some slides for him.. Outdoor pool, my son and daughter absolutely loved it but I found it should of been deaper so me and my partner could of swam in it, it was only really for walking in!!! Tight now the food, we ate in coral beach restaurant! The food was very average, it was a buffet where you helped yourself which I thought was a very good idea but the food was not fantastic, the Sunday dinner was very dissapointing, they did not do stuffing and Yorkshire together it was one or the other! I did not find that there was a very good selection to be honest but you can upgrade once you are there if you wanted to and if we go again we will upgrade to the yacht club as we have been told the food in there is outstanding!! We were disappointed that my son could not go on the go karts as he was very slightly under the line and did not see any reason for him not to be able to go on with his dad! Also the quad bikes my son was only aloud to go on with the man that ran it and one of the men actually told us he had only been on a quad bike once in his life and he expected to be able to take my 3 year old son on, and my sons dad who has rode quads all his life was not able to go on with him... Huuummm no sense to me but there ya go!! We loved the bumper boats they were great and bob land! Reds was great especially the Michael Jackson tribute but get in there early or you won't get a seat as there was over 1500 people went to watch that!! Our last day we found we had to be out of our room to early 10am, this would be fine if we went self catering but we didn't we were half board and breakfast didn't finish till half 10 and we had bags to pack and 2 kids to get ready! 12 would have been more reasonable! You also cannot stay on site all day you have to leave by 12, you should be able to stay all day in my opinion! But anyway apart from all that lol, we would go again it was a nice break it was nice not to have to cook. My son loved the park at the sun and moon pub and it was nice environment to sit outside, except I do feel there should be a no smoking area outside near the park as like many parents I don't like smoke near my kids! I also think that none of the kids areas should be smoked in and also where I had to put my pushchair when i went swimming the staff were smoking next to my pushchair, not happy about that at all!! Also we went in the Irish bar and found that all the smoke came inside as people stood right outside the open doors smoking with no consideration to kids, but that's my opinion on smoking tho! If you are really indecisive on going to butlins then you can email me and I'll try and help you honestly as I can from my experience, email me at leanne121188@hotmail.co.uk. If you go I hope you have a fantastic time xxx

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great place to take the kids if a trip abroad is off the cards, kids wanted to come back next year which is alwasys a good sign. Food was mass produced but very edible and plenty of it for the growing kids. The camp we were sited at was out slightly from the main entertainment complex but the walking didnt do us any harm after the large portions of food available. Plenty of entertainment either laid on by the staff or made up yourself. Camp was clean and well maintained although hard to disguise its orginal use but our rooms themselves were excellent with plenty of room and beds were very comfy.
All in all an excellent week and well worth the money in my opinion.

Room Tip: very clean well maintained rooms in the apartment, beds very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texpef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We went in July for a 4 day mid week family entertainment package. We went during term time to cut down on cost and the crowds i would imagine flock there during school holidays. We have 2 children aged 2 & 3 years old and stayed in a privately owned caravan on Butlins site. Our package included the caravan & entry into Butlins for the whole time we were there.
When checking in you go directly into Butlins and they give you an envelope with the details of the caravan and how to get onto the site etc. VERY easy.
We turned up with only one pram so rented a second one from the Butlins hire shop at 5 pounds a day with a 20 pound deposit. This was adequate but not very clean.
The caravan company also informed us that we could rent bedding from the Butlins hire shop but this wasn't the case so we spent a very stressfull hour upon arrival dashing around Minhead trying to buy bedding before the shops closed. They did provide duvets & very thin pillows. I would suggest you take you own pillows.
The caravan was a bit dated but VERY clean and parking was directly next to the caravan but we didn't use the car when there as walking into the Butlins entertainment area took 5 minutes.
The caravan slept 8 so was VERY comfortable with 4 people. There is a small lake on the caravan park which was far enough away from us not to worry about the kids falling in, but if you stay here you may want to check the location of where your caravan is before hand as it's not fenced.
The kids loved it here as every morning the ducks from the lake would show up at our caravan door to be fed.
We found all the toilets on the Butlins site to be VERY clean apart from the ones in the pool area. There were employees' walking around picking up litter and emptying bins all the time and the tables in the pavillion were regulary cleaned.
We got take away pizza at "Pizza hut" where the food was good but the service "TERRIBLE". We also ate at burger king, the bakery and the "Sun & Moon" pub where the service was a bit slow but the food was GOOD. They allow kids in here.
One night we walked into Minehead town--10 mins with the prams and ate at the "Shaggy dog" pub. The menu was vast, service good, prices reasonable and they have a MASSIVE outdoor play area with a FAB climbing structure for the kids.
The entertainment on Butlins site for under 5's was VERY good. Something happening all the time. Although some of the shows went on a bit too long--even though you could walk away & come back later. I would have prefered short, sharp slots of shows even if they had to play the show twice. One Thomas the Tank show went on for almost 2 hours. The kids & adults were well and truely over it by then.
We saw the pantomine Aladin which was EXCELLENT. The puppet show was great as it only lasted 20 mins with lot's of audience participation.
All the big show's are at "Center stage" which is a beautiful theatre but they only have one lift which caused LONG lines as almost everyone there has a pram and several people in wheelchairs.
We were lucky with the weather so only used the outdoor pool which was GREAT for the little ones. Very shallow but hard to find the toilet at short notice--you have to go to the indoor pool.
We went to the fairground everyday and never had to wait to get on a ride--always good with little kids.
The indoor playground was also very good and well supervised by Butlins staff.
I was a bit surprised at how many activities you had to pay extra for...crazy golf, bouncy castle and jumping pillow. I thought these should have been included in the cost. We tried to avoid these but did get the kids faces painted which lasted several days...2 for 5 pounds. You really DON'T need to pay for the extra stuff as there is plenty to do.
There are several shops which sell all the basics and a laundry which we didn't use, although i saw a wash was 4 pounds and dryer extra.
I would recommed staying in the caravans and Butlins is an ideal holiday spot for small children. We enjoyed out 4 days there but think a week would be too long.

Room Tip: We booked our caravan over the internet on www.caravanbutlins.co.uk The communication back and forth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liverpoolsue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our first family trip to Butlins, the welcoming staff were lovely BUT our accommodation (Silver rated) was extremely poor and needed a make over -tatty furnishings, water damaged ceiling, lights that didn't work, damaged and badly filled walls.

Being half board we ate within the resort but we were not overly impressed with the 'healthy eating' salad bar which was rather limited, ok if you want grease day in day out and don't mind putting on a stone during your stay; roast or fish and chips seemed to be the daily choice. We struggled for lunch as fast food was really the only option, more carbs!!!!aahhh I asked a Rep whether there was any healthier eating establishments but she said there wasn't any. If we ever go back we would definately go self catering!

The management of the free sporting activities on offer needs a serious overhaul. The amount of queuing we did was completely unacceptable. The sporting activities were a big part of our decision to come to butlins but the brochure did not state clearly enough how long customers would have to wait (and how early we would have awake to join said ques). The queuing system was also extremely disorganised, with no clear start or finish - and when the reps arrived three queuing 'points' for different activities were identified at the last minute leading to further chaos. I was extremely embarrassed to witness tensions almost leading to a fight between two men arguing about where the real queue started!

On a positive note...the evening entertainment was fab and our daughter loved the children's shows and Britain's Got Talent contestants! Centre Stage is really warm so wear light clothes! The Red coats were great too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbcBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
265 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#6 of 21 in Minehead
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 37 in Minehead
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachside Suites
Beachside Suites
#19 of 37 in Minehead
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alcombe House Hotel
Alcombe House Hotel
#5 of 37 in Minehead
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: $79 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort
Butlin's Minehead Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing